We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for college visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great for college visit”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed one night when visiting Cal Poly with our son. This turned out to be a fine place to stay and they offered a breakfast as well. We drove the short distance to town and had dinner and finished our night off in the hot tub. Close to the Cal Poly campus, clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    152
    78
    32
    9
See reviews for
160
106
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Expensive for the kind of hotel service and location.
It is just a place to spend a night, no kitchen / even restaurants closeby. We had to drive for 10 mins to get water for the night. Best if you stay near the main street (near the mission) at SLO.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarunKJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXSLOGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear TarunkJain,

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your last trip to San Luis Obispo. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly because we actually do have many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We also vending machines with various snacks and drinks. The hotel is located only minutes away from downtown with many more shops, restaurants, and local entertainment for our guests to enjoy. I look forward to sharing this information with you.

Thank you,

Joel Koper
General Manager
805-544-8600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My friend and I had a great time in SLO. The hotel was just what we needed. Great location (close to airport, the main town and wineries), clean rooms and friendly staff. They have a good breakfast each morning (even eggs and bacon:) would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DistrictMRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napa, ca
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My kids and I needed a place to stay for the night since we were traveling home from So Cal and wanted to go to the Market. Holiday Inn is known for having nice hotels so this was a safe bet. It's a small hotel but it had everything we needed for the night. The rooms were clean and the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hudds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I love this hotel- I come from Nor Cal every month and I stay at HIExpress every time. The rooms are clean, the staff is always GREAT- and it's quiet and really comfortable especially the beds! I would recommend this hotel to business travelers as well as families as they have kitchenettes in some of the rooms, a pool for the kids and a hot tub for the parents! Thanks for always making me feel welcome-
Martha Pearl

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express allowed me to plan a surprise party for my husband using their huge dining area. They were very friendly and helpful for the many days leading up to the event. They even moved some furniture to allow the band I'd hired to have an area to set up, and they moved tables to allow for a dance floor. They were supportive and offered to even make coffee although I had the event catered. They set up tables with skirts for the catering company to place the food, and when I asked for two additional tables for the cake and for presents, they were not only accommodating, but friendly and quick. I found the staff to be amazingly attentive to our needs and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight nor did we rent any rooms, but the staff was fabulous, and the lobby, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwerdja29111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palos verdes estates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Once again Joel and his staff at the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo were there to help me out when my college son was hospitalized. An unexpected hospitalization took me to SLO late on Friday evening and Joel was there for me. The friendly staff was such a comfort after driving for 4 hours. My room was clean and very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning - yum-
got me started on a very long day at the hospital. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the kindness you give to your traveling clients. It is a beautiful service you provide to people away from their home but it sure is my home away from home. You are the BEST!!

Room Tip: I have stayed in the back and side rooms and have experienced an equally good stay in both locations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,401 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Address: 1800 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing