We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Clean hotel; great location; walkable restaurants; easy drive/bike access to fun Downtown SLO. Also, easy freeway on/off to quickly travel to any of the close coastal towns. Staff at the hotel was great - friendly, helpful. Room was clean and worked well for us - family of four with small pooch. Breakfast was good. Only complaint, bed was too firm - ouch. Not sure if all mattresses alike; we were on the bottom floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    151
    78
    32
    9
See reviews for
159
105
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This Inn had everything we needed! It's in a great location within walking distance to the local farmer's market and good restaurants. The rooms were clean, and the double sinks were much-appreciated given there were 4 of us in one room. When I ran out of makeup remover pads, they provided. The staff was extremely helpful and nice, and the hot breakfasts were a bonus. When I come back to SLO, I am definitely open to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel was in the middle of our big American trip. One thing that stood out was the receptionist, Lauren. She really did stand out, she did everything she could to help us. Room was big, pool was great and secure, good car parking, downtown trolley stop outside hotel. Great reststop on our trip and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevielatphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night as a stop over on our Californian trip. The room was as expected basic, but it was clean. The pool was also a welcome addition. Not large, but adequate after a hot day's sightseeing. However, there were some fundamental mistakes. We were checked into someone else's room to start with - potentially very embarrassing - although we were saved from barging in on someone by the maid. We also asked about the farmer's market and how far it was since we had a small child and I'm heavily pregnant. We were told a ten minute walk, which is not true unless you walk fast (hardly likely given our situation) and they completely failed to mention there was a 50c pp bus that went from right outside the hotel, something which again considering our situation I was surprised they forgot to tell us about! The breakfast was also dire. It may be complementary, but the range was awful and what there was there was stale or past it's best. Unless you're desperate for free breakfast I would definitely give it a miss! Overall this place is fine if you just want a bed for the night in the area and a quick dip in the pool, but otherwise if you're after anything more I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatyaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear CatyaJ,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our staff and for the poor breakfast selection.We will look into this and assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Drove 4 hours. 5,families 5 separate rooms $246. a night. Pool closed at 8:00 but was posted open until 10:00 pm. Ian had no explaination. No compensation. He was horribly rude and unprofessional. Manager did not respond. Do not be deceived by the good review. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djn067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I spent five days here on business in early August. It felt really special to get upgraded to a suite, but it couldn't really make up for anything else. The in-room A/C was really loud and only runs at one speed. Channel selection was okay, but I really liked the large flat panel TV's. The hotel grounds are excellent, clean and I felt welcome here. The morning breakfast was fresh and with decent variety, except the dining area is clearly too small for the number of guests staying at this hotel. The front desk staff and house maids were all really, really nice and attentive.

Room Tip: Room 328 is a suite that overlooks an interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark-PalmBay-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stopped for the night on a drive up the PCH. Very clean and accomodating, seems to be a newer (or recently rehabed) property. Located easy on/off highway at the edge of town. Many restaurants to choose within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seawall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Address: 1800 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing