We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable but needs updating”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Check in was efficient and staff were nice. They gave me a quieter room which I had asked for. They did not acknowledge my loyalty club membership, but there was an extra amenity - bottled water - 3 out of the 5 nights I stayed. The room was comfortable except for the bed, which was worn into a curve. The decorations were very basic and bathroom was clean. Housekeeping staff was always done by the time I returned for the day. Breakfast was excellent and well-staffed. The pool was out of order until the last night, unfortunately. I did not have the problems that others have had with the wrong room or rate. Check out was seamless. Overall would stay here again but wished they would replace the mattress and upgrade the decor.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are supposedly on the back side but be aware that this is were the bus parking is, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BicoastalCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    151
    76
    32
    9
See reviews for
157
103
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stay at Holiday Inn A LOT. I've been loyal to the company for a very long time! I dont stay at any other brand hotel and I received the worst customer service ever!! I booked my room maybe over a week in advance! I checked in last 5th of May and I requested a 2 beds. I've been expecting a 2 beds since like I said, I booked my room early. When I checked in, the lady was very rude. I asked her for a 2 beds since thats what Im expecting and she told me that they are sold out and that she cant put me in 2 beds in a very rude tone of voice. She didnt even try and see what they have!!! I asked if they have roll-away beds since I am travelling with 2 kids plus my husband. She said they dont have roll-away beds and they cant put a roll-away in the room. So they can't put a roll away bed but they can put 4 people in that room? The breakfast was good. Another thing was she was in a hurry checking me in. She just ask for my card, and handed me the keys and never say a word after that. Horrible Customer Service!! The pancake machine keep on messing up but the lady at the breakfast was very helpful. Also, when I checked out the next day, the gentleman named Ian was very helpful and really nice. He actually took time with me and was very welcoming. The spa and the pool was nice but the spa was a little too hot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AppreciateHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear AppreciateHope,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stayed here recently after booking a five day stay so i could attend a training class in my chosen profession. after being given the price of my lodging at the sate government rate I was shocked to discover that they had billed me for three of the five days at the standard rate for there "Busy" season ????. I spoke with management who informed me that this was already in my original lodging when I signed in. This however is not true as I was told that they had sent me an email stating this would occur for three of the five nights I had booked. So if you plan on staying at this hotel to attend any government training I suggest the Quality Suites down the road instead. I know they are an honest and much cleaner facility.

Room Tip: Quality Suites Hotel down the road much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Tim M,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of a road trip in March 2012. The hotel is exactly what I would expect from an HEI, they are generally very similar. The staff were exceptionally nice at this location though. The hotel itself is a bit older, could use some touch-ups. The furniture was also a little dated and the bed was a little stiff but I still slept quite comfortably. The bathrooms were a little older but were fine.

The front elevator seemed to have some smell of fumigation or something but there was not notice about it. They should communicate something like that to guests, at least in the form of a note. Anyway, we took the elevator in the back which was fine.

The hotel provided a check-in gift for Priority Club members which was really nice (snacks/drinks). The location isnt bad. There's some restaurants across the street but there's more a short drive away. The breakfast was good, standard at every HEI. The breakfast area was large and more comfortable than many HEI's that I have been to. There was also a pool/spa outside which looked nice although I didnt get to use it. The wifi worked good.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for short stays, business travelers, visiting family/friends, and road trippers. It's not a resort, but it's not resort pricing either. It's simple and inexpensive and includes everything you need, including comfortable rest.

Cheers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aevegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Visiting Cal Poly we needed an overnight stay. Holiday Inn Express has a lovely new foyer and dining area. Updated and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast is typical Holiday Inn Express fare - which means it is just fine, but I wish they'd offer more fruit and some whole wheat products instead of only white white white everything. But, the rooms are dated: low light, old linens and carpet, and although the bathroom was clean, the tile was dingy the cabinets were old and painted. For the price of the room, it would be nice to see a more updated and modern space. Nothing wrong per se, just kind of blah. Won't stay there again unless they do a remodel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardeninginColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear GardeninginColorado,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel and had a pleasant experience with our friendly staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry our room furnishings fell below your expectations. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I travel alot for work and am very particular as to the places I stay. This past weekend we brought 21 students and 10 chaperones to this hotel for the Central coast jazz festival. We had booked this several months ago, and everything about the visit was perfect. The rooms were clean, the furniture up to date, hot breakfast buffet was perfect, but was pleased us the most was the 5 star service we received. Sandy Wyrick, sales manager was magnificent! Our rooms were on the same floor, and they were so accomodating. One morning we had to leave early, and they opened the buffet early for us. The front desk staff, and kitchen staff were amazing as well! We plan to stay here again! This is great for anyone!

Room Tip: They are sooo happy to please, a great price for 5 star service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socalmom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel is a rehab of an older property and is very convenient to downtown SLO. I have stayed at 4 or 5 other Holiday Express properties, all of which had a very pulled together look. The staff is very friendly and amazingly engaged. Too bad the rooms do not compare favorably with sister properties or Hampton. Certainly nothing was bad, dirty or flea-baggy. The bathroom vanity was very low. The curtains and lamps brought back memories of 1970s Holiday Inns and the mattress sagged. The bottom line is that the hotel is satisfactory for an overnight stay, but nothing to be enthused about. Too bad because the staff and location were great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom2592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Address: 1800 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing