We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel needs updating all the way around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed December 2, 2010

The desk clerk was very nice. However, this is an old, dumpy hotel. Bathroom needs to be redone. Caked paint on mopboards. Sink faucet didn't work. Breakfast was marginal.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandmaGoldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 361 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2010

We were informed on check in that dogs were not allowed in the rooms but it is OK for the dogs to stay in the car. We followed the rules and the dogs never got near the room. The desk clerk inspected the room and found 7 (yes 7!) hairs in the room and charged us the pet charge. The manager told us that if a SINGLE hair is found, the user is charged whether the dog entered the room or not.

These people are thieves don't stay here.

The room was OK at best, the walls were so thin i could tell what show the neighbors were watching on TV.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbnorth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

If only I could go back in time and take a room on the second floor. I don't know what the floor/ceiling is made of (very thin sheets of paper?), but we could hear every word of the conversation above us, every movement and this went on ALL night. I called the office and complained twice, but of course you can't keep people from talking, so it was a sleepless night for me. The tub/shower drained so slow that I was standing up to my ankle's in water during my shower. The walls in the bathroom could be cleaned more often. The room was a nice size and the beds were decent.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Rooms were dingy and bathroom was a slapped together, patched up fixer. Kids got rashes from pool and hot tub. Breakfast was not good and they didn't have cream for coffee. Night shift guy was excellent and friendly, but day staff were crabby and unfriendly. Absolutely go elsewhere, we would camp before staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

As a father staying with a teenage daughter entering Cal Poly, I had a reservation for MONTHS specifying two queen beds. Upon arrival, check-in was fine with no mention that the only rooms available have only one king bed. Only after unloading all luggage and going to the room did we discover the single bed. When I went back to the front desk to inform the staff, the clerk mentioned that she had known about it since she came on duty, but the only thing she could do was cancel the reservation or I could just take the room as is since room types aren't guaranteed. It's the last thing someone wants to hear at 8:30 at night after traveling for hours to get there. To her credit, the clerk did make some phone calls to other hotels, but I would have to pay their going rate that night with no compensation for the price difference. I told her I would sleep on the floor, but would like a discounted rate for doing so, but that fell on deaf ears. When I asked to speak with the manager, I was told I could only do so the next morning.

Minutes after I got back to the room to discuss the situation--and options--with my daughter, I got a phone call stating that I had ten minutes to make up my mind because they have walk-ups that want a room. UNBELIEVABLE! The situation was not my mistake, and now they're pressuring me to take an unsatisfactory room or get out.

The management needs to 1) have the room type available as reserved and 2) empower their employees to compensate the customer fairly if situations like this accidentally occur.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Service
1  Thank NorCalTravelAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

About an hour or so after we checked in, the front office staff called us to see how we were doing and if we needed anything. That was a first. Everyone we met there was very nice. Also appreciated the size of the room. I've stayed in hotel rooms where the door barely cleared the bed upon opening. This room seemed to have an extra yard of width. Nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWestcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We should have stayed in the Walmart parking lot. The lobby was filthy, there was something sticky on the floor. The bathroom paint was peeling off down to the drywall, and there was mold around the windows. I could not
Breathe. At $200 night definitely not worth it.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superdeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwslo, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2010

We are sorry that your stay was not to your standards. We were just recently remodeled and refurnished. We feel that maybe you happened to walk into the lobby just as the floors were just mopped.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
746 reviews
0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
281 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
922 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at San Luis Obispo

Address: 1895 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2613 (Formerly Somerset Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $83 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between San Francisco and Los Angeles along the breathtaking Central Coast, the Inn at San Luis Obispo is the ideal lodging option for families, business travelers, and couples. Our 3-Diamond, AAA-approved hotel invites you to experience well-appointed accommodations with ample amenities, such as refrigerators, microwaves, and free Wi-Fi. While you're here, you'll also enjoy a daily complimentary continental breakfast, outdoor heated pool, and hot tub. And our location couldn't be more convenient. We're just a few blocks from the shops and restaurants of downtown San Luis Obispo and just a short drive from beaches, wineries, and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Somerset Hotel San Luis Obispo
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing