We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very comfortable beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I thought the room was pretty average but the price was really reasonable. It is easy walking distance to downtown. It needs a little updating but I would recommend it to someone who didn't have a lot of money to spend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SukiJamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and thank you for your feedback. We are currently upgrading our room offerings and facilities and would love to serve you during your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    108
    64
    36
    26
See reviews for
99
101
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very nice rooms, updated, clean and good traveler breakfast. Good shower! We were in such a rush we left our pillows. We called and said we would be passing through on our return five days later and could they hold them. Very cheerfully they complied. Nice stay, nice people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
It was wonderful serving you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks very much for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I and my sister and her husband had reserved two rooms. We were in SLO for a wedding. When my sister arrived they had their dog with them. They were told that no dogs were allowed. Nicole was at the registration desk and immediately went to work. She called all the places that she knew were "pet friendly". There were no vacancies at those places. Nicole kept trying and finally found a place that was not pet friendly, but would make an exception and take their dog. Nicole really saved the day! Give her a raise!!!
Suggestion: The TV in our room was bad. You need to upgrade them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks very much for your feedback, we are happy to note that you found our staff helpful and attentive. We would like to inform you that we are upgrading our televisions within the next few weeks and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable stay. Our 2 queen room was clean and very spacious. Nice continental breakfast with waffle maker, hot eggs and hot sausage. Had a blast in the pool but the one negative on our stay was the broken hot tub, which we had been looking forward to on a cool night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cealbr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
While we are glad you had enjoyed your stay with us, we wish to extend our apologies on account of the broken hot tub. We are in the process of fixing and upgrading our current offerings. At Best Western Plus, we strive to exceed customer satisfaction and we hope you would give us another opportunity to serve us in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Customer Service was awesome! People you can actually joke with who laugh and talk to you. They don't treat you like another rented room!! The breakfast is great, the pool and spa are great. The carpet and TVs could be updated but my family and I would definitely go back. Great places to eat and close to downtown!!! Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are absolutely pleased to note that you found our staff friendly and made you felt quite at home. As for the carpet and TV, we wish to inform you that we are in the process of sprucing up our rooms with newer and upgraded interiors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Wonderful stay. Easy walk to restaurants and downtown destinations.
Super clean rooms, quiet, and comfy beds.
I stayed on my way down to southern CA and again a few days later on my way back to SF.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we would like to thank you for encouraging us with your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was checking in to the hotel when I was told don't stay here cause she (front desk clerk) very hostle and rude. When I walked in I was greeted with a smile and asked "How are you today? What can I do for you today Sir". Told Nicole I was checking in. (by the way her name was Nicole). Nicole checked me in with not once a rude attitude. SO other guest must just wanted something they wanted and Nicole was doing her job so they were not happy with that? I got my room found nothing wrong with it but, a SMALL sink in the bathroom. The whole room was clean and roomy. There was everything you needed for a over night stay. Coffee Maker, Iron and refrigrator. My daughter wanted her left over food from lunch warmed up. Just gave a friendly call to ask front desk they said they are apon request but, bring it down we will warm it for you. they did oh did I say I worked with Nicoel again. Still no rudeness from HER. More helpful then anything. Spa-pool area great expect becareful cause they have a wood deck and it is not sealed so might get splenders. Overall stay was great. There is no place in the world that is PREFECT. so I will rate next hightest. Guess who checked me out NICOLE. No problems again. When I was in there for breakfast heared her talking to others and same thing friendly nice never no rudeness or hostle. So I praise her that she was not just acting great with me since i was told that it was with everyone. All was great even spoke with her family when they were having dinner there in the lobby. In a whole all felt more family hotel and confortable then. Stricked, pushy,suited up snobes. Will be back here unless startes to get pushy, snobes, or upclass dress and attitude. We stayed upstaires non office side (cant remember room number) in middle July 13th...Nicole Well done....

Room Tip: upstaires rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We also thank you for taking the time to write an encouraging and appreciative feedback about our check in staff, their attitude and service. We would love to have you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Central Coast
Quality Suites Central Coast
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at San Luis Obispo

Property: Inn at San Luis Obispo
Address: 1895 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2613 (Formerly Somerset Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between San Francisco and Los Angeles along the breathtaking Central Coast, the Inn at San Luis Obispo is the ideal lodging option for families, business travelers, and couples. Our 3-Diamond, AAA-approved hotel invites you to experience well-appointed accommodations with ample amenities, such as refrigerators, microwaves, and free Wi-Fi. While you're here, you'll also enjoy a daily complimentary continental breakfast, outdoor heated pool, and hot tub. And our location couldn't be more convenient. We're just a few blocks from the shops and restaurants of downtown San Luis Obispo and just a short drive from beaches, wineries, and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Inn at San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Somerset Hotel San Luis Obispo
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing