We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dumpy; car access is tight” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dumpy; car access is tight”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Rooms are pretty run down, outdated, and cramped. It's a college town so presumably they feel they can get away with subpar everything.
Compared to other BWs this place is quite lacking, but at least it's not THE bottom of the barrel.
The narrow aperture through which your car must extrude into zippy, impatient traffic also makes this place less than hospitable. Do not attempt to exit around sunset.
Honestly, I'm only here because the HI was booked.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ifurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    112
    67
    39
    26
See reviews for
104
111
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Somerset Inn for one night during our tour of CA, we had initially booked 2 nights but with the smog coming in every afternoon at the beach we decided to head down south one day early and the hotel manager was very accepting and changed our booking without any hassle. The carpets had been shampooed that day so the room felt extra clean, the pool area was nice although the hot tube was very HOT. The shower could do with a renovation but overall it was a nice base, not far from town, lovely staff so would certainly go again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CA092011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

My mother and I stayed here while exploring beautiful SLO. Motel was clean and everything was in working order. They have a refrigerator. Their pool/hot tub area looked great, although we did not use it. The rooms were nicely decorated and had some amenities I was not expecting. Monterey St is one of the main streets but we were far enough away from the street that we heard no traffic noise (don't know what it would have been like nearer the street). Traveling from the motel to downtown is quick, and we were very near the Apple Farm Inn/Restaurant which we visited. Some other attractions are in walking distance, including the world's first motel (looks like someone is starting to restore it, which would be great for the city). The breakfast area was roomy and there was a variety of good food. My only significant complaint was the motel clerk (it seemed to be family owned, and she was there all the time) being a bit unfriendly and unhelpful. I asked her a few questions while staying there and she seemed bothered by me. One night, a group of middle-aged businessmen definitely not acting their age were very noisy above our room. My mother called the desk to complain and was treated rudely and the partying conventioneers above us did not quiet down for a long time. I guess their money was better than ours. When we checked out, the clerk acted like she was glad to see us gone! A really nice motel, but just don't bother the clerk.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humboldtus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I feel as though I'm being somewhat generous in giving this Best Western an "average" rating. My husband and I met up with another couple here for a weekend in SLO. Our queen room, which was on the north side of the parking lot on the first floor, was kind of dumpy. There were weird stains on the walls, the bed was uncomfortable, and the pillows were, oddly enough, about half the size of standard pillows. We slept terribly both nights, due to thin walls, the lumpy bed, and the fact that the bed was stationed awkwardly next to the wall with the parking lot. Our friends, however, had a king room on the other side of the lot on the second floor, and it was like night and day, especially given they had paid all of ten bucks a night more for the upgrade. They reported a great night's sleep, their room was nicely updated, and they felt like they got a great deal for the holiday weekend. I would probably not stay here again, but if you do, be sure to request a king room on the south side of the lot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayareatraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stopped here after a grueling trip from San Diego (being labor day weekend) and we were pleasantly surprised how updated the room was. How quite the hotel was and the continental breakfast was just perfect.
The price of the room was reasonable considering it was very last minute and a major holiday weekend. We could not match that price anywhere on the coast.
Another bonus was downtown San Luis Obispo. We had dinner down town. It was full of people walking the streets, art gallerys still open (some small shops too). A great place to walk off the fabulous meal we had at F Mc Clintocks.. Truly a nice place to stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capitolacath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I planned on staying at this hotel until I got the worst service from the front desk staff and the 1800 number. Serving customers and trying to help are not things this company values!!! I would stay anywhere in San Luis Obispo other than here!!!! They were so rude and offensive!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glowgirl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We checked in with a younge lady VERY helpful.nice rooms etc.... That night went down for dinner recomendations and steven tje joker was funny and gave us hisfavorite restutants they were great. Thanks for everything

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovingca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at San Luis Obispo

Property: Inn at San Luis Obispo
Address: 1895 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2613 (Formerly Somerset Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between San Francisco and Los Angeles along the breathtaking Central Coast, the Inn at San Luis Obispo is the ideal lodging option for families, business travelers, and couples. Our 3-Diamond, AAA-approved hotel invites you to experience well-appointed accommodations with ample amenities, such as refrigerators, microwaves, and free Wi-Fi. While you're here, you'll also enjoy a daily complimentary continental breakfast, outdoor heated pool, and hot tub. And our location couldn't be more convenient. We're just a few blocks from the shops and restaurants of downtown San Luis Obispo and just a short drive from beaches, wineries, and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Somerset Hotel San Luis Obispo
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing