We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't know about the renovations”
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed for one night and booked based on reviews. Made a mistake with our dates but hotel changed it with no problem. Hadn't known hotel was being renovated. Lobby was closes and had to get to room via garage. Nice to be able to park under cover so wasn't a problem. A bit noisy but didn't really affect us. Room comfortable and clean but a bit dark. Hotel close to freeway but not too noisy. Breakfast was delivered to our room as no lobby. Not ideal but at least we were given something. However not happy we weren't told about renovations as wouldn't have booked. Sure it will be fine once completed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros_Surrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hello Ros_Surrey, I would like to extend my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. Our reservation agents are instructed to notify guests at time of booking and all construction work is limited to regular business hours to minimize disruption to guests. We are on the home stretch with our improvements and hope any short term annoyance will far out-weigh the end result. Our lobby is nearing completion and our breakfast area will be much improved with a spacious dining area with outdoor balcony. As part of our improvements we are planning new window dressings that will brighten rooms. Please reach out to the hotel directly to better resolve your concerns at 805-543-2777 or email us at reservations@lacuestainn.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 406 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Room was very large and comfortable with the only negative highlight being the shower. Staff was friendly and parking space is quite generous. Breakfast was simple but nice. Location is fine, very close to 101 and 1 Freeways and next to restaurants in San Luis downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ca_Giovanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a really nice hotel with lots of little amenities for the money. The rooms are very clean and somewhat modern, free DVD movie rentals in the lobby, "small" breakfast buffet, ironing board in the room and to top it off excellent friendly service with a smile. I reserved two rooms and arrived at 11:30 a.m. thinking I would just have them hold my luggage until check in time, but they had two rooms available and I was able to check in without the normal hotel B.S. power trip nonsense. They also take AAA, so don't forget to get your discount. The location is awesome, just pull out of the parking lot and your on the freeway. Hotel is close to gas stations, restaurants,coffee shops and a great place to walk/run in the morning if your into that. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Don't forget to get your AAA card discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your review and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We happily accommodate any guest requests and when possible will make them happen! Our team believe it's important for travelers to get the most from their day and are more than happy to check you in early when rooms are available. We are also the turnaround point for the historical San Luis Trolley which is a convenient way to travel to and from downtown. You will be pleased to know our new breakfast area is in the works and we will be bringing "more to the table" while expanding our dining area. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stopped at many hotels coming down the coast and this was one of our favorites. The front desk employees were exceptionally friendly and the hotel is located about a mile from downtown. We were given a room right off the pool (which was close), but did not cause us any problems because it was not a very busy night. Almost seemed like our own private pool. Otherwise, that could have been an issue. It was a great place - the room was very clean and and had a refrigerator, microwave, a sink with the toilet and another outside the toilet area which proved to be a nice feature. The bed was very good for sleeping. Free cookies, coffee/tea are for the taking all day. Had a small room for the usual continental breakfast with cereals, pastries. hard boiled eggs and waffle machine. Worth the stop for the quality and price.

Room Tip: Room right on the small pool could be fun for kids to just open the door and run to the pool, but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

The La Cuesta team is delighted to read your comments and we appreciate your kind review. It's always pleasing to hear our guests are happy and that you enjoyed your time with us. We would love to see you again when you are back in California so you can enjoy our beautiful improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent one night at the La Cuesta while we were in town for a wedding. The hotel was super clean. Staff was very accommodating, helping us get three rooms close together. The bed was soooo comfortable. Nice amenities like cookies and tea in the afternoon. For breakfast there were waffles, muffins, yogurt, fruit, cereal. It was a great stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliebergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you Julie for your positive comments and taking the time to review us. I share all comments with our team and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay - we take pride in providing small touches that make a difference. We hope to see you again in sunny San Luis Obispo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Almost a perfect stay as far as rooms, locations, cleanliness and service, EXCEPT for the breakfast. I wouldn't categorize this as a breakfast. More like a morning snack bar. Other than that, the rooms are very big, bathrooms even bigger. Beds are very comfortable and everything is so clean. Great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank in2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your review in2travel. We are always looking at ways to improve our service and appreciate your comments. While we currently offer a well rounded continental breakfast selection along with hot waffles we do like to hear ways we could improve your experience. Perhaps a selection of local breads to increase the variety offered, to go along with our local SLO brewed coffee? I am currently working on implementing that! We will not settle for your stay to be almost perfect, we want it to be just perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Whenever traveling to Los Angeles, we always stay at La Cuesta Inn. Usually the price is reasonable (under $100). We have always found La Cuesta to be clean, nicely appointed, roomy and friendly. The tea and cookies in the afternoon are always appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms on the tree side are pleasant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LovelyLMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We love to host our returning guests LovelyLMP! Thank you for choosing us for your accommodations. We hope you like our new room artwork, and be pleased to hear our upper floor corridors are completed, with new lighting, ceilings and carpet. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Los Angeles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
901 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $129 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing