We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We thought the room was clean and the beds comfortable. The AC worked just fine (see other review) and as a matter of fact, was really cold as my son froze us out! They have DVD's to "rent" for free - much better than buying a movie off the TV - so bring your own movie if you wish. They do have many to choose from although none are really current but there's a variety of titles. Will go there again. Easy access to the highway and to CalPoly and downtown SLO.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Fran S,

Thanks for leaving a review! I am glad you enjoyed our accommodations. It is our pleasure to offer comfortable amenities and a clean place to stay. Also, thanks for your comment about the DVD movies - we will look into adding some new titles! We hope to see you here again sometime, and thank you again for the review.

Sincerely,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    124
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
109
101
27
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and i have stayed at the La Cuesta Inn several times over the past few years and have not been disappointed. It is located right off the freeway, the rooms are clean, and the staff is friendly. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJohnson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
PJohnson10,

Thanks much for the review! Thank you also for your loyalty to our hotel. We're glad to get feedback from our guests, and even happier to get good feedback from our repeat guests like yourself! We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerman, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Major issue... I stayed here on the night of 4 July 2013 after enjoying the fireworks in Pismo. I had reservations so I knew there would be no issues obtaining a room. Arrived around 12:30am on the 5th of July and checked in with no problem. Went to room (410) for some much needed rest and it felt like a sauna. Attempted to adjust the AC and found the output on high barely moved and air, as if the AC was not operating properly or was throttled back mechanically. Promptly called front desk as was told maintenance was not onsite but would be back at 6:00am. Asked to be moved to another room and was told not going to happen as they were completely booked. Was told to open the window as there was a heat wave lately. Asked to speak to manager but was told he was not due in until 8:00am. Returned to room, opened window and still found it was at least 90 degrees in the room the entire morning. At 6:00am I personally spoke with Alice at the front desk requesting maintenance but this time was told they were not scheduled to work that day (5 July 2013). Frustrated, I again requested to speak with the manager (Andrew) but was told he would not be in until around 10:00am. Finally spoke with manager and explained my ordeal. He appeared sympathetic and adjusted my bill by 15%, however, this was not my intention as I wanted to problem fixed so the next person would not suffer as I did. I even offered to visit the room with him so he could experience my "sweat lodge" visit. He declined the offer and made no mention to address the problem. The room was clean and breakfast was decent but the entire experience was lost due to excessive heat in the room and the lack of customer. Consider other options if you decide to visit this area, especially in the summer months... Mike (aonforme@hotmail.com) if you would like more details.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 410 during the summer. It is a heat magnet with no little cooling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Mike F.

Thank you for your comments, I am very sorry to hear that you left with such displeasure. This is not what we strive for at La Cuesta Inn, and we're sorry that you have the impression that we did not want to address the issue. While I did not go to the room with you at the time you had mentioned the air conditioning, the Housekeeping manager and I both went to room 410 that afternoon and replaced that unit just several hours after our conversation. We too do not want any other guests to experience what you unfortunately had to experience, and we did in fact take steps to solve the problem with compensation to you and replacement of the air unit in question. I have reached out to you via the email address you provided and I hope that we can further solve this as it is both my personal goal and our management team's goal to ensure the highest satisfaction among our valued guests.

Thank you again for your input,

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Traveling from Australia and our first time to SLO we were impressed at the level of service this hotel offered and the extra little touches such as free DVD rentals, cookies and cool drink everyday and a great selection of choices in the complimentary continental breakfast. There is also free parking which is a bonus when you have a hire car!

We extended our stay for an extra night and this was not an issue. The front desk staff were welcoming and friendly. We drove to downtown because its quite a walk in the sun. From Thursday to over the weekend there is a 50c shuttle that picks you up along Monterey which dropped you into town. This ran until 9pm which was helpful.

Rooms were clean and spacious and we were treated to a balcony room overlooking the carpark and mountains - this was a nice surprise. The bed was very comfortable - the only nuisance was the aircon set on Eco, it shut off and on constantly and was rather loud.

Make sure you head to the Famers markets on Thursdays along Higuera St and Friday from 5pm there is a free concert near tr mission. SLO is a wonderful town, I really enjoyed my time here and would definitely recommend La Cuesta as it offered everything we needed. Thanks for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil_Traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Lil_Traveller123,

Thanks for the positive feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the town of San Luis Obispo. Please come and see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We attempted to stay at this hotel a few nights ago, but because we booked through Priceline, we were walked. In fact, I happened to glance at the list of people who were walked and it seems there were about 20 or more reservations that they overbooked (a page and a half or more). Maybe this is a Priceline issue, but we found that the hotel was aware of the problem for several days. I had originally tried to book through the hotel, but was put on hold for way too long so I booked through Priceline. When we arrived, we were told that if we booked through the hotel, we would've been guaranteed a room, but booking through a third-party site wouldn't guarantee anything. On top of that, the person working the front desk was the only person working the counter since the assistant manager left for the day and there was no one else to assist her. In fact, when we tried to check in, we had to wait several minutes while she was cleaning a room for another couple who was successfully able to check in, but their room wasn't ready yet (at 9 PM, really?). La Cuesta Inn is grossly understaffed and is quite slow at resolving booking issues.

If you want to be walked, book a stay here, otherwise suck it up and pay for one of the nicer hotels in town.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RinRin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
RinRin13,

Thank you for bringing your frustrations to our attention. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused you and I understand that it is extremely offsetting to be in this kind of situation as a paying hotel guest. While it is highly uncommon for our hotel to be in an overbooking situation, due to a technical glitch on the web we became short four rooms the night of your arrival. Upon learning of this issue at 6pm that very evening our staff diligently began searching for alternate accommodations. We were able to find alternate accommodations courtesy of our friendly neighbors at the Lexington Inn. If we may, we would like to take the opportunity to rectify the situation. I kindly ask that you contact me by email at "andrew@lacuestainn.com" or even call us toll-free at 800-543-2777. We look forward to hearing from you, and again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to fix this most unfortunate circumstance.

Sincerely,

Andrew A. Fabula
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean. Staff was friendly. Free DVDs to watch was a good perk. Downtown is fun, but the walk is about 20-25 minutes and not very well lit. Breakfast was plenty to start the day. Pool was heated and clean. Outside of that, it was all we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Molly S,

Thank you for leaving us a TripAdvisor review! It's good to hear that you were able to find everything that you needed here at the La Cuesta Inn. The downtown area is just 1 mile from us, however for some it is best accessed via car or even the Downtown Trolley that runs Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays during the summer. We look forward to seeing you here again, thanks again for the review!

Sincerely,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Lovely room, clean and quiet. Very comfy bed. Breakfast was limited, so we ate down the road. Very cute town. Loved the water feature at the entrance. Helpful staff - quickly fixed a phone and DVD player which did not work. Free wifi was intermittent and staff unable to fix.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello Catherine L,

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at La Cuesta Inn! I'm sorry that you had an issue with the WiFi, we do record all comments regarding the WiFi to pinpoint any problems that may occur to better serve our guests. We certainly hope that you choose to stay with us in the future, thanks again for leaving us a review!

Sincerely,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Central Coast
Quality Suites Central Coast
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Property: La Cuesta Inn
Address: 2074 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing