We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely stop-over. A must see!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely stop-over. A must see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stopped over at La Cuesta Inn for a couple of nights en route from Las Vegas to our final destination in San Francisco. San Louis Obispo (SLO) is situated about half way between Los Angeles and San Francisco. The hotel was perfectly situated and handy for food and shopping. The room we had was lovely and clean and well equipped, If you have to take your laptop with you, there is free wifi to stay in touch with your loved ones. The facilities are excellent with a pool and hot tub available, coffee making facilities and vending machines, if required. The breakfast was hot and tasty and the staff were friendly and helpful. If you are driving, parking is free on site.

Do not miss the street markets, they have so much to offer. The scenery is exceptional and the people are so friendly. The street(s) are closed off for a few hours in the evening, so that you can wonder the full length of the market without the hassle of traffic, listening to the street musicians as you saunter along without a care in the world. It is such a relaxing place to unwind. Give it a try, we will certainly go back there.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed with any room, I am sure. We had a standard Queen size room as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Mike S,

Thank you very much for your review! It sounds like you stayed with us on a Thursday night, every Thursday is the famous SLO Farmers' market downtown. We're extremely happy that you enjoyed our hotel and the festivities that San Luis Obispo has to offer. We look forward to your next trip!

Thanks again,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    126
    50
    13
    6
See reviews for
116
102
27
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was late booking a room at the host hotel for a business trip. Found La Cuesta Inn online for less than the discounted host rate elsewhere. The guest ratings were good so I booked. Couldn't happier. Very friendly staff, very convenient, and a wonderful room. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were on the freeway side of the hotel but frankly didn't notice any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snobalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Snobalz,
Thanks for the 5 star review! La Cuesta Inn's motto is "A place of comfort and convenience" and it sounded like you were able to enjoy both of those things while you were here. It's true that we have something for everybody, whether you're traveling on business or leisure. We hope that you come back next time you pass through town! Thank you so much again for the review, we really appreciate our valued guests' feedback.

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good, clean, roomy, convenient hotel. Right off the freeway and a 5 min drive to downtown SLO, and about an hour drive to Hearst Castle. We did not have a balcony and the room seemed a bit larger then our friend's who had a balcony. Our room faced Monterey Street and was pretty quiet. The bed was very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucko51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Bucko51,
Thanks for the good write-up!
We do have many rooms in many sizes, and we're glad you enjoyed yours!

Thanks again for taking the time to review us here,

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This is our go to place when visiting our son at Cal Poly. About a mile from downtown and the campus. Affordable - we get the AAA rate and usually pay around 100 for a room with 2 queens. Pretty views, back side rooms have balconies over a creek and the front looks out to the hills. Rooms are updated and clean with attention to detail. Very decent cont. breakfast, or walk to Apple Farm right across the street. The staff are young people and are friendly. Im picky and this meets all my standards. Anywhere else would be a disappointment after staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Temmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Temom,
Thanks for the 5 out of 5. We love accommodating our Poly Parents! I'm sure we will see you again soon for your next poly visit, and we're looking forward to it!

Best Regards, and Thanks again!

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and we are very pleased with the hotel - service, cleanliness, breakfast, comfort etc...

It is locally owned, not a chain. I think they have renovated the place. It's very clean and bright.

One thing unique is that they have a bunch of DVDs at the lobby and DVD player in the room. So you can come back from dinner, pick up a DVD from the lobby and watch it in your room. A little thought but well appreciated, especially there isn't much to do at night in SLO.

They also Tazo tea bags at the lobby so if you want a cup of chamomile before bed time, help yourself.

The room we stayed had a king size bed. And the WiFi works well.

Compared to other hotels on the same stretch, this one is a lot nicer. I would stay here again when I come back to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank codebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Codebeans,
Thanks for the great review. We strive to be the best on the stretch!
We hope you come back to see us soon!

Thanks Again,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed two nights at La Cuesta recently and found it quite acceptable for our purpose. It is of somewhat more modern construction than some of the older motels in the area, and our room was clean and comfortable. It is right by the freeway, so many of the little balconies aren't really that useful due to noise. Soundproofing was reasonably good, but we left the fan on to give some white noise at night. Breakfast was about average for the included continental style; the second day we made a run down to Splash bakery to supplement the breakfast with some fresh pastries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curmudgeon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
curmudgeon99,
Thank you for the review! We're glad that you found La Cuesta Inn to be a good value. Looking forward to your next stay!

Thanks again!
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great little hotel! This is our favorite hotel in San Luis Obispo. The rooms are modern, spacious and always spotless when we arrive. The additional counter with sink just outside of the bathroom is also another convenience. The balconies are nice too. We have always found the staff to be friendly and very helpful if we ever needed anything. They serve a nice breakfast and have cookies and coffee in the afternoons as well. They even have free movies in the lobby that you can borrow and take to your room. It's walking distance to some great local restaurants as well. The price is great for this very cute hotel. We have already stayed here several times and plan to return soon! This is our favorite hotel in San Luis Obispo! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you Leila525 for your positive feedback, We look forward to seeing you again here at La Cuesta Inn!

Best Regards,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Central Coast
Quality Suites Central Coast
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
2.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Property: La Cuesta Inn
Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing