We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was late booking a room at the host hotel for a business trip. Found La Cuesta Inn online for less than the discounted host rate elsewhere. The guest ratings were good so I booked. Couldn't happier. Very friendly staff, very convenient, and a wonderful room. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were on the freeway side of the hotel but frankly didn't notice any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snobalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Snobalz,
Thanks for the 5 star review! La Cuesta Inn's motto is "A place of comfort and convenience" and it sounded like you were able to enjoy both of those things while you were here. It's true that we have something for everybody, whether you're traveling on business or leisure. We hope that you come back next time you pass through town! Thank you so much again for the review, we really appreciate our valued guests' feedback.

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 406 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good, clean, roomy, convenient hotel. Right off the freeway and a 5 min drive to downtown SLO, and about an hour drive to Hearst Castle. We did not have a balcony and the room seemed a bit larger then our friend's who had a balcony. Our room faced Monterey Street and was pretty quiet. The bed was very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bucko51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Bucko51,
Thanks for the good write-up!
We do have many rooms in many sizes, and we're glad you enjoyed yours!

Thanks again for taking the time to review us here,

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This is our go to place when visiting our son at Cal Poly. About a mile from downtown and the campus. Affordable - we get the AAA rate and usually pay around 100 for a room with 2 queens. Pretty views, back side rooms have balconies over a creek and the front looks out to the hills. Rooms are updated and clean with attention to detail. Very decent cont. breakfast, or walk to Apple Farm right across the street. The staff are young people and are friendly. Im picky and this meets all my standards. Anywhere else would be a disappointment after staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Temmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Temom,
Thanks for the 5 out of 5. We love accommodating our Poly Parents! I'm sure we will see you again soon for your next poly visit, and we're looking forward to it!

Best Regards, and Thanks again!

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and we are very pleased with the hotel - service, cleanliness, breakfast, comfort etc...

It is locally owned, not a chain. I think they have renovated the place. It's very clean and bright.

One thing unique is that they have a bunch of DVDs at the lobby and DVD player in the room. So you can come back from dinner, pick up a DVD from the lobby and watch it in your room. A little thought but well appreciated, especially there isn't much to do at night in SLO.

They also Tazo tea bags at the lobby so if you want a cup of chamomile before bed time, help yourself.

The room we stayed had a king size bed. And the WiFi works well.

Compared to other hotels on the same stretch, this one is a lot nicer. I would stay here again when I come back to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Codebeans,
Thanks for the great review. We strive to be the best on the stretch!
We hope you come back to see us soon!

Thanks Again,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed two nights at La Cuesta recently and found it quite acceptable for our purpose. It is of somewhat more modern construction than some of the older motels in the area, and our room was clean and comfortable. It is right by the freeway, so many of the little balconies aren't really that useful due to noise. Soundproofing was reasonably good, but we left the fan on to give some white noise at night. Breakfast was about average for the included continental style; the second day we made a run down to Splash bakery to supplement the breakfast with some fresh pastries.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curmudgeon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

curmudgeon99,
Thank you for the review! We're glad that you found La Cuesta Inn to be a good value. Looking forward to your next stay!

Thanks again!
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great little hotel! This is our favorite hotel in San Luis Obispo. The rooms are modern, spacious and always spotless when we arrive. The additional counter with sink just outside of the bathroom is also another convenience. The balconies are nice too. We have always found the staff to be friendly and very helpful if we ever needed anything. They serve a nice breakfast and have cookies and coffee in the afternoons as well. They even have free movies in the lobby that you can borrow and take to your room. It's walking distance to some great local restaurants as well. The price is great for this very cute hotel. We have already stayed here several times and plan to return soon! This is our favorite hotel in San Luis Obispo! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you Leila525 for your positive feedback, We look forward to seeing you again here at La Cuesta Inn!

Best Regards,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed here on a girls trip and were looking for something inexpensive for a single night. We were given keys to a dirty room with blankets and pillows all over, obviously completely untouched. We went down to complain and didn't receive a single apology, just moved us to a different room. We decided to stay because it was too late to find anything else and had a fine night. The continental breakfast is nothing special and then when we checked out, we were charged MORE than what we were told the night before and were given NO compensation for the dirty room. Very unprofessional and not a place I will stay again. Very unfriendly staff. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Taylor M,
Thank you for your sharing your experience and feedback. I am familiar with this situation. There was in fact a mix-up with the rooms, we were under the impression that you were satisfied after calling and speaking to you to ensure you were happy with your upgraded accommodations. I did reduce your room rate that evening, perhaps it was not apparent on the receipt. There has been an attempt to reach out to the email address left on your reservation however we're not sure you've received the message, I ask that you contact me at the hotel by phone or by email (andrew@altamonthotels.com) to ensure your billing is accurate, I will be more than happy to send you a copy of the receipt and fix anything you feel is incorrect!

Thank you again for expressing your concern in your review, we certainly hope to hear from you so we can make right any error.

Sincerely,
Andrew. A Fabula
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
644 reviews
0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
907 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,264 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $128 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing