We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged, unfriendly staff”
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overcharged, unfriendly staff”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed here on a girls trip and were looking for something inexpensive for a single night. We were given keys to a dirty room with blankets and pillows all over, obviously completely untouched. We went down to complain and didn't receive a single apology, just moved us to a different room. We decided to stay because it was too late to find anything else and had a fine night. The continental breakfast is nothing special and then when we checked out, we were charged MORE than what we were told the night before and were given NO compensation for the dirty room. Very unprofessional and not a place I will stay again. Very unfriendly staff. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Taylor M,
Thank you for your sharing your experience and feedback. I am familiar with this situation. There was in fact a mix-up with the rooms, we were under the impression that you were satisfied after calling and speaking to you to ensure you were happy with your upgraded accommodations. I did reduce your room rate that evening, perhaps it was not apparent on the receipt. There has been an attempt to reach out to the email address left on your reservation however we're not sure you've received the message, I ask that you contact me at the hotel by phone or by email (andrew@altamonthotels.com) to ensure your billing is accurate, I will be more than happy to send you a copy of the receipt and fix anything you feel is incorrect!

Thank you again for expressing your concern in your review, we certainly hope to hear from you so we can make right any error.

Sincerely,
Andrew. A Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    140
    56
    14
    6
See reviews for
138
113
28
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nothing special, noisy room due to plumbing an unknown buzzing. Needs to be renovated in public areas. No restaurant on premises, but Apple Farm across street. Not horrible for the money but will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
PVBuddy,

Thank you for your review! Your feedback is important to us and other travelers like yourself. We take comments and reviews seriously and investigate each individually to ensure it does not happen again. Our rooms are generally quiet with the double-pane windows & concrete walls, so we can generally narrow down and fix most noise related issues. As of right now, we have begun the renovation process starting with our pool and jacuzzi area, we hope to move on to other public areas very soon!

I'd like to get in contact with you regarding your comments so we can gather a little more information about the room you were in. Please contact me at andrew@altamonthotels.com, I'm eager to speak with you.

Thanks again for your review!

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Yes it's on a busy intersection and though the glazing stops a great deal of noise, there is still traffic noise - but that's about the only minus I can think of. The room was spotless, spacious and comfortable and the balcony a bonus - even on a December night! The bathroom has a separate sink outside which would be a boon for two or more guests and the toiletries lovely.

Breakfast was good though the small breakfast room was packed and couldn't really handle the volume of guests when I stayed. Another nice touch is the cookies, muffins and coffee offered - free - in the lobby in the afternoons.
SLO is a fab little town and this is a great little hotel. I just hope I'll be able to visit again; for a longer stay, sometime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardener01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Gardener01,
We wish you stayed with us longer as well! Thank you for your positive review, I do see as a top contributor you know your hotels and we're honored to earn your "5 out of 5"!
We hope you come and stay again too for a longer duration and enjoy La Cuesta Inn just as much next time! Thank you again for the review, we greatly appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

It isn't any one thing that makes La Cuesta Inn great, but the synergy of thoughtful touches. My wife and I stayed here on a post-Christmas get-away (our present to each other). We picked the Inn from its web site (really well done, by the way) and from what I remembered of SLO, back when I used to come up frequently on business. We had one of their deals (stay three nights, pay for two), so the price for our stay was really reasonable.

The staff is superb. Most are fairly young (20s), but are so professional and competent and such a joy to work with; they could give seminars to other hotels on how to treat guests. Our room was top floor, front; it had a private balcony, giving a superb view of the nearby mountains. Got to sip coffee while watching the clouds come in over the hills; also watched the hawks soaring. Peaceful.

The room was large, immaculate, and well laid out (looked like the picture on their home page); the bed was large and comfortable. Amenities included coffee mugs--the heavy, ceramic ones that you find sometimes in diners, and cork coasters. Glasses were--glass! Coffee maker was the full-pot kind, not the annoying (and probably energy inefficient) cup-at-a-time units some hotels are so fond of. The tea was Tazo, same brand Starbucks sells. The free breakfast was good.

The location might bother some people: it's right where Monterey Street joins Highway 101. The good news is, no through traffic past the hotel. The bad news might be the noise from the freeway; however, with the sliding door closed, you don't hear it. And, since it's on Monterey Street, there's an easy walk to downtown SLO and all the attractions there.

In sum, La Cuesta is visually appealing; the overall landscaping, including the metal sculptures and water sculptures offer a luxurious touch. The grounds are superbly maintained, as is the building itself.

It's not just a good deal for the money, it's a really good deal. It's comfortable, restful, and just a joy to stay in.

Room Tip: Talk with the desk people about your preferences; our room was superb for view and comfort. They wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMacMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
John,
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We're glad to know you enjoyed La Cuesta Inn. Satisfaction much like yours is what we strive to achieve every time here, and we really hope to see you back again soon. Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
441 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We decided to go to San Luis Obispo on the spur of the moment and picked La Cuesta because it was available and had good reviews from Trip Advisor. Let us add our own. The motel is right off Hwy. 101, the first exit heading south. Despite this location, our room was quiet, with a comfortable bed, desk, armchair, two sinks and enough space for two people to get around easily. The breakfast, which was included in the room price, was the usual motel fare but well done. We had waffles one morning and bagels the next. The staff were unfailingly helpful and gave good advice about where to eat, including the locally famous Apple Tree Restaurant, just across the street. It is necessary to drive to see almost everything, but that seems to be the case for just about all hosteleries in S.L.O. We got an excellent price, including a AAA discount, so you'll hear no complaints from us.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, so it may be that some rooms face the freeway and are to be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuNanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Runans,
Thank you so much for your positive review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found such value in what we have to offer. It is always a pleasure to serve our guests and make sure that they get the most out of their stay in San Luis Obispo. We look forward to your next stay, and thank you again!

Sincerely,

Andrew Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Moderately priced, modestly appointed, clean rooms just minutes from downtown SLO. Doesn't stand out from the pack but doesn't disappoint either. It met my expectations in terms of price and location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seemorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Seemorun,
Thank you very much for your review! While we are glad to know that your expectations have been met on a certain level, I am eager to get in touch with you to hear your input about what we could do better to earn a 5 out of 5. Satisfaction is what drives us and hearing firsthand about how we are doing is invaluable to our operation at La Cuesta Inn. Please feel free to contact me at andrew@altamonthotels.com, it would be my pleasure to hear more about your stay.

Thanks again for the review, and have a great New Year!

Sincerely,

Andrew Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

What a lovely welcome, nice atmosphere friendly helpful staff. Very nice large room fit for a king.. The room was cleaned every day and towels provided. I have beento some hotels but this one is towards the top of my list. Stay here again another time yes I will Thank you to all the staff a very friendly hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you ozman1,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We strive to offer warm and friendly service in a welcoming atmosphere to make your experience at La Cuesta Inn a memorable one. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations and we can't wait until you return to see us.

Thanks again,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
830 reviews
2.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Property: La Cuesta Inn
Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing