We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as last time”
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at La Cuesta 3 years ago and enjoyed our stay. When planning our recent visit to California we again decided to stay at La Cuesta. The reservation was made some months in advance and I subsequently read some mediocre reviews on Trip Advisor. I did wonder if standards had fallen since our last visit. Fortunately this was not the case. The only thing that did seem to have changed was that an additional seating area had been provided for breakfast. We actually had our breakfast outside by the pool, basking in the early morning sun. We were able to benefit from a mid week, 3 nights for the price of 2, deal which made our stay very reasonably priced. Even without such a deal I would say that La Cuesta represent very good vaule for money. Should we ever return to the Central Coast then we will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank menstonsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 407 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

I ususally spend one or 2 nights in Santa Barbara when going from San Diego to San Francisco and vice-versa. And used to stop for lunch at San Luis Obispo. This year, I decided to spend a night in San Luis Obispo. Looked for a hotel and chose La Cuesta Inn. No regrets. Will easilly go back there. Nice room. Quiet. Well located hotel. Not far from down town Higuera Street where the restaurants, bars and shops are.
They have got every thing I need: Cable TV, free parking and room Wi Fi, air conditioning, good beds. It is clean and quiet.
Breakfast is continental. Simples but enough.

Room Tip: If you came back to the hotel very late at night, you might have trouble parking ... In this case yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nabil_Hanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Would recommend this place after staying her with our family (2a 2c). Great location - easy to find with our rental car. The hotel was wonderful - a great little breakfast offering, and the kids loved the swimming pool (the best in our 4 weeks of travel according to them). Nice clean spa, rooms and hotel. Good sized room and clean. Friendly, helpful service at front desk. Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4tuataras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great motel with many amenities - great beds, lovely pillows, and comfy comforter, a must have. Located right across the road from the famous Apple Farm Restaurant. The staff was delightful from the beginning of check-in to check-out. Clean, comfortable, with everything you could possibly need right there tucked away in special locations of the room. Liked the bathroom set-up, didn't have to wake anyone up to get ready for the day and especially enjoyed the convenience of an additional separate sink and mirror. Extra room to lay out all your toiletries. The set up of the room made it easy for one person to get ready while the other person slept.
Quaint, nice cozy room with balcony, would highly recommend this pleasurable motel.

Room Tip: Excellent location directly across the street from the famous Apple Farm Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinevalleyfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip and was surprised how comfortable the room was. Check in was super easy and the girl at the front desk was really nice. The bed is amazingly comfortable, I wanted to steal one of the down pillows. I didn't try the breakfast but I heard it was good. Close by are Pappy Mcgreggors which has great bloody Mary's and Splash Cafe has world famous clam chowder. I loved that the bathroom amenities were coconut lime verbena from Bath and Body Works and there was a rubber ducky in the bathtub. I highly recommend this hotel for an inexpensive, comfortable night's sleep.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Lindsey233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Pretty much one of the most painless stays I've had. Check in was a breeze thanks to friendly, efficient staff. The room was exceedingly clean. We were the only ones in the spa and the bubbles were so quiet, we knew we wouldn't disturb other guests and relaxed til closing. My son loved making his own waffles and the breakfast spread exceeded our expectations and allowed us to get back on the road quickly. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jancuisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is our 8th hotel on our USA roadtrip. We are now in San Luis Obispo at the La Cuesta Inn. Check in was ok but we didn't fancy a room right next to the pool so asked to be moved. This was done but seemed to be done begrudgingly by the receptionist. The rooms are ok, pretty big but with no safe and only mediocre safe facilities behind reception "put it in an envelope and I will drop it in our safe" is what we were told. We asked who had access to the safe and got a non-committal response. This was disappointing so we left our valuables in a locked case in our room which wasn't ideal. We went out for food and when we returned approx. 22.00 the car park was full and when we asked if we could use one of the disabled spaces were told that we would probably be clamped. Breakfast was ok but to be honest we were happy to leave and felt it was one of the poorer hotels we had used on any of our roadtrips.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveJacqM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
746 reviews
0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
922 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,280 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $118 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing