We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reading
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were a bit disappointed. We decided to stay here as the reviews were reasonably good and we got a very good deal on the room ($78 / night). The place was in dire need of redecoration and felt very dated. For the price it was good value but the room did not feel particularly clean. There was some dirt outside our door that did not get cleaned away during our stay. We also had to move the bed to plug in a light (the room was very dark) and it was quite dirty behind the bed. Having said this it wasn't a terrible stay. The staff were very friendly and it was a very good value option.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    137
    55
    14
    6
See reviews for
134
112
28
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We recently stayed here for 3 nights with a large group of family members for a wedding. The hotel is pretty old and just has a grungy feel about it. The staff was good, there was always juice, coffee and tea available, but the actual rooms are very dated. Our room was on the first floor and faced the highway- very noisy. There was a screen door to a small patio, the screen was all ripped up and with the patio door open it was loud. Also, the ceiling leaked everytime the toilet upstairs was flushed, though since the hotel was full, there were no rooms to change to. There are a lot of places to stay in SLO, if I ever go back I will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back to avoid highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is a good value. Close to downtown, it's clean, and it's good for an overnight stay. The only thing I want to point out to this hotel is a question: Why would you put the coffee machine in the bathroom installed on the wall and it's above the toilet! Ick! Really bad choice. Very unsanitary. Really unsanitary. And...................the drinking glasses and ice bucket are in there too! Please change this!

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies. You can get fresh air!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank info4victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

After staying in some mediocre hotels on our tour, this hotel was like a breath of fresh air. The rooms were very well appointed, spotlessly clean and of a reasonable size. There was an extra washbasin next to the bathroom, which was very useful. The breakfast was excellent, particularly the waffles, which you made yourself freshly in 2 minutes. There was a good choice of drinks too.
My only regret is that we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambidextrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax,VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

The Cuesta Inn in SLO is one of the most beautiful and relaxing hotels that I've ever stayed at. The service was excellent. The front desk area offered tea and coffee at all times with beautiful landscape painted bistro tables and chairs to sit on and enjoy. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The price was reasonable and we will definitely visit here again.........

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefKFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I arrived late at the hotel at 2:00AM for 1 day stay as I was traveling from Southern California and heading to Santa Cruz. I checked out at 7:30 AM and found out I was charged twice. I spoke to the employee who checked me out. She said her manager would be in at 8:30 and would correct the error. By the time I finished my business for the day, I checked my account, I was charged three times for one day stay. Very bad response from the staff and they were not willing to take approriate action. I had to call my bank and they help take care of the issue. Very Bad Customer service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ycole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

The hotel was good but maybe a little pricey , we were there on a Labor Day weekend
Breakfast was okay but I hate those waffle makers. The first thing I want to do while traveling is make my breakfast ? The staff was good and attentive

Room Tip: We had a balcony , nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dajwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Property: La Cuesta Inn
Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing