We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Lexington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lexington Inn
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Nevada City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Lexington Inn is located a bit of a walk from town but is very doable, it was a clean spacious room, small walk in closet!, lots of cupboards, very friendly staff, good parking out side or in carport. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sand-stone0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    82
    65
    21
    29
See reviews for
81
84
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The room is great, the location is fine, on motel row on the edge of town. Coffee pot, microwave, refrigerator in the room.

However: The television reception is ridiculous. Only one or two stations come in clearly. CNN is almost completely snow. When I complained, they said, yeah, that's the way it is. They said that they need to get a new provider. This is inexcusable. Why have big, flat screen TVs and no reception? I haven't seen this bad of reception since the pre-cable days. They have nice amenities, like an iron and ironing board. But which are you likely to use more, an iron or a TV? And if you have, say, kids, and really want to be able to use the TV – this is definitely not the place for you.

Wi-Fi is not actually free. The "free" Wi-Fi is so slow that I could not post this review from there. For normal Wi-Fi, you have to pay an extra $10 a night.

My room smelled so strongly that I had to leave the door open for a while to clear it out. It smelled like someone had gone overboard with either cleaning supplies or air freshener. It was a pleasant smell, but way, way too strong, especially in the bathroom.

Also, do check the rates online. I walked in, having checked the rates, and they wanted to charge me considerably more, and seemed not to believe me when I told them what their own website showed. I had to get them to look at their own website to see what rates they were advertising.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank berkeley1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Only 15 minutes walk from town centre makes the Lexington a very convenient yet affordable choice of accommodation in SLO. The hotel rooms are surprisingly comfortable - nicely furnished with a big flat screen TV and neat bathroom. A simple continental breakfast was provided as part of the price. Would recommend for travellers on a medium budget or those looking for good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've now stayed at the Lexington Inn two separate times. The main thing to realize before staying here is that it is the only 3 star hotel in SLO that has reasonable prices at a short notice. That is really what keeps me coming back here. There is also a pretty convenient tram that picks you up and takes you to downtown. The main drawbacks that I have noticed are the noise levels from other occupants. The rooms are not amazing and could use better lighting, but they are very clean and the beds are pretty comfortable. Based solely on price I would stay there again, there is really not a better option for an affordable hotel in San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnerMDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

After our trip to Mexico, staying at Rosarito Beach Hotel, we were kind of worried of what we would find at the Lexington Inn. Will say we were pleasantly surprised. Room was clean, nice atmosphere, great patio. Quiet and relaxing. Love the place. Would definitely stay here again if ever in San Luis Obispo. Great Hotel and Affordable.

Room Tip: All around nice place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

close enough to downtown and very close to Cal Poly. I always ask for a room away from the freeway. Have found the counter staff to be very helpful and gracious. Rooms are clean, not fancy but good enough for the price we paid recently.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The reviews of this "Inn" were so extremely varied (Trip Advisor, Yelp, Booking) my wife and I decided to take the chance for a one night stay. The higher price of hotels/motels in the area unfortunately made us focus on the positive review (we later found out that many posters said were made up). Big mistake.

With our fingers crossed we checked in. Packed lobby and average clerk checked us in. Room was fine for the class of accommodation, even with old school TV, stained carpets, paper thin walls, etc. We weren't expecting the Kimpton or Mandarian Oriental.

After entering room, while I was frustrated that internet signal was nearly non-existent and unusable, my wife noticed and became alarmed by (pubic?) hair on bed sheets and on sink vanity. When I called the front desk person to explain the gross situation, I was amazed that she had to come up to inspect and validate my claim. She nonchalantly asked if we wanted to change rooms. We said we did and waited for her to call us back with new room number and keys. Finally we tracked her down. She told us that there was no other room available (yeah, right, like she didn't know from the beginning) but if we wanted she would send in A housekeeper to change the sheets and sponge down the vanity. Since it was so late we agreed. (see photos).

At checkout I asked the unkempt, nasty, counter clerk to speak to the manager. I almost fell over when this guy me told me that he was the owner. I explained the situation and he blew me off by taking my phone number and telling me with a nasty grin, when he finally looked up from his desk, that he would call me back once he "looks into the situation". He reluctantly gave me his name, Robert Mueller. I later found that his wife Pragna Patel-Mueller was manager and apparently owns other properties.

We were super uncomfortable with our stay because of (pubic) hair, unusable wifi, crappy "breakfast", lack of adequate parking and above all the unprofessional, uncaring and hustle feel of the workers and management.

While loading luggage in our car we took little comfort in other people bitterly complaining about one thing or another

Stay Away from this place at All Cost!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lexington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Inn

Property: Lexington Inn
Address: 2050 Garfield St, Garfield & Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2636
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lexington Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo. A complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Recreational amenities at Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo include a spa tub and a seasonal outdoor pool. Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo also offers wireless Internet access, high-speed Internet access. The property has a 24-hour front desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lexington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing