We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Room For Cal Poly”
Review of Lexington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lexington Inn
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Simi Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Budget Room For Cal Poly”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We normally stay at another hotel but this was half the price. The staff was very helpful and
the breakfast was just fine for a quick start. The room was clean and it was nice to have a
mini kitchen with microwave. This is not a glamorous motel but it certainly was worth paying
the same for 2 nights as I would have paid for one. Call direct to book and tell them you have
a Cal Poly student.

Room Tip: The back rooms are larger but they are closer to the freeway. Did not bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jammyjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    81
    65
    20
    29
See reviews for
76
84
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a one night stop over at the Lexington on our way back to Vegas. I was a little apprehensive about staying in a motel rather than a hotel but have to say was pleasantly surprised at the comfort and cleanliness of the Lexington Inn. Plenty of parking,check in was a breeze and our two double bedded room on the third floor was more than adequate for our one night stay. It was clean,quiet, the beds were very comfy, the bathroom was loaded with clean towels, there were coffee making facities and even a fridge. We had the pool and hot tub to ourselves and were even given pool towels. The complimentary breakfast the following mornng was exceptional, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, oatmeal, cereals, tea, coffee, fruit tea and juice what more can you ask for. We drove into the centre of San Luis Obispo parking was easy by the mission and what we saw of the town looked very nice, plenty of shops and restaurants. We tried Luna Red a spanish tapas restaurant which had indoor and outdoor seating. The food was excellent, very tasty and there was plenty of it. What I thought was going to a tough night turned out to be a really good night. We would definitely recommend the Lexington Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

They have go to rethink their pet friendly rooms. The beds were terrible and my dog left with fleas, we didn't bring in I am sure of that. I asked if they had grass and were nice and told yes to both question and I was terribly mislead. The continental breakfast was also petiful. We would have been better of at a motel 6, they were less than honest about their accomodations.
Sharalynn Culy

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharalynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I was referred to this place since I was staying in the area for the weekend. Once I walked in the lobby I was greeted by Diana and another staff member. She was very friendly and helpful accommodating my stay despite not having a reservation. I didn't get to partake in the breakfast, but I will be back to have a bagel on my next visit.
The room was very clean and spacious. There was also a little balcony that overhangs some plants and you can also hear the birds chirping in the morning.
The entire staff was helpful and there was plenty of parking.
I'll definitely be staying again on my next visit to SLO.
Guest at Room 222

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blrhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at the Lexington Inn for a one night stop over in San Luis Obispo. It has fairly basic amenities, and is not centrally located, but this is adequately reflected in the price. Seemed to be a problem finding our booking for two rooms made through Expedia, so check in took longer than expected.

Rooms were clean, had complimentary wifi, and came well provisioned with refreshments and toiletries. However the included continental breakfast wasn't particularly appetising, so we went elsewhere.

The pool looked nice, although we didn't get time to check it out properly. Location-wise it's fine and it seemed popular with truckers as is close to the turn off to the freeway, while downtown San Luis Obispo is a leisurely 15-20 minute down hill walk away.

But if we were staying longer in SLO, we would have definitely wanted to book somewhere more central.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepydisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I made my reservation in San Luis Obispo by the Expedia site. Unfortunately, when I got in the hotel, the attendant didn't find it easy.
The hotel is ok, but I' ve found a little bit of dust. I think the bathroom was clean, but it seems to be old. Needs refurbishment.
A couple of friends could listen footsteps from the room upstairs...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

So many things wrong with this hotel. Dirty, small, expensive. Paid $145/night and put into old building. Room very old and dated, Was supposed to be a "suite" but very small and less room than in an average 2 queen bed hotel room. 2nd room had 1 queen bed, small closet, desk, no TV and could barely walk around bed to get to other side because the room was only about 6 inches larger than the bed. Only closet was in 2nd bedroom, no closet in main room. "Kitchenette" was just a free-standing sink at end of room with no soap or towels, and mini-fridge with microwave on top. Looked odd. No walk-in closet as previous reviewer had. Bathroom did not have a fan and did not have a separate sink area outside bathroom as another review stated. Very small sink with little counter space. Towel rack positioned above toilet and towels kept falling off rack and into toilet. Phone did not work. Coffee maker in room did not work. Very dark, had a few lamps in room but no plugs so were not plugged in. 2 alarm clocks in room but no plugs available to plug them in. Extremely slow internet. Ironing board had iron holder screwed to it on top so couldn't iron. Iron cracked and water leaked. One of the beds dirty with lots of long black hairs on sheets and pillows, were definitely not changed prior to our arrival. Pillows lumpy and hard, mattresses old and uncomfortable. Fridge too cold and all our drinks froze overnight. Pool dirty, full of leaves and debris, spa water green. Sounds like the newer building in back is much better, and for the premium price we paid we should have been put into a much nicer room. Our room was small, musty, dirty, dated, and only worth about 1/3 what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PACSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
350 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#22 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
173 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lexington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Inn

Property: Lexington Inn
Address: 2050 Garfield St, Garfield & Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2636
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lexington Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo. A complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Recreational amenities at Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo include a spa tub and a seasonal outdoor pool. Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo also offers wireless Internet access, high-speed Internet access. The property has a 24-hour front desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lexington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing