We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location...close to downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent location...close to downtown”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had read about the Avenue Inn and its reviews prior to my trip to SLO and was nervous to book as it was recently renovated, under new ownership and the older reviews were terrible. I needed a place for 2 nights so I decided to drop by and see it first hand. First, hotels in SLO are generally overpriced, especially on weekends, and even more so on Cal Poly event weekends. Secondly, I have yet to find a hotel in SLO that is a hotel I would return to due to many being outdated, overpriced for what you get and many not in great locations. The Avenue Inn met all my requirements and I will definitely return. Sol is just a delightful man and his gentle nature and commitment to the renovations convinced me before I even saw the room. My room was very clean and felt fresh and new with a contemporary style. Great bed, pillows and linens. Excellent shower of granite with a rainhead fixture. The AC worked great and the room also had in room coffee machine and hairdryer. There was a continental breakfast provided, but I did not attend as I like to hit up my favorite local coffee shops - all within walking distance. The location is the best as far as walking distance to downtown and the farmer's market. The majority of the hotels in SLO are at the other end of town on Monteray or further south off Los Osos...neither which are walking distance to downtown. I loved being able to easily walk to the coffee shops, retail shops and my favorite sushi restaurant! It is also easy to hop on the 101 right around the corner. This is a renovated motel, so you park in front of your room and the hallways are all exterior walkways of a two story building, so if stairs are difficult or you have a lot of luggage, you may want to request the 1st floor. The price we paid was great for being a hotel in SLO that was new/clean and in a great location. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Treetop_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    209
    57
    12
    3
See reviews for
127
233
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a great hotel, the location is excellent and management was very easy to deal with. I had only booked one night and needed to extend the reservation, he was very accommodating. The room was clean, and it was a great value (~$70/night inc. tax)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Location is great, short drive/walk to prime downtown activities. This used to be a Travelodge and in April 2014 was under major renovation. We paid $80/night. For the quality of the room, you would have to pay 2x elsewhere near downtown. It is a motel property, so you do hear a little outside traffic noise. Sal, the manager, was very nice and accommodating. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKchi17agirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Perfect place to stay in SLO!! Sol, the manager was wonderful to deal with, from making the reservation over the phone, to welcoming us, to providing me with a hair dryer when asked! The location is great, no parking meters to deal with, a very pleasant walk to downtown and the price was half of what I would have paid at other hotels, for a nicer room! All the rooms are recently remodeled, very nice and comfortable. This will be my new "go-to " place for SLO. My daughter will be attending Cal Poly in the fall, so we will be getting to know Sol even better!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bkienle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Convenient location, close to downtown & mountain biking trail. Sol made us feel at home and was always there to greet us! Housekeeping was great. Couldn't ask for more.
Only neg: bit of street noise.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street are noisier, but have a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The stay was great! The rooms were newly remodeled and clean. Also, the manager Sol Tailor was very helpful. Everything is in a walking distance and location is very convenient. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryjane134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Don't let the plain motel exterior fool you. The newly renovated rooms are top notch with granite and tile flooring in the bathroom and a rain shower head. Sol Taylor was very welcoming and helpful. After a long drive it was great to leave the car in the parking lot and walk downtown. Lots of restaurants, bars and shopping within a short walking distance. A fantastic value. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
691 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
596 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,333 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Property: Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Address: 345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3820 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge
San Luis Obispo Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing