We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable and Comfortable”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
SoCal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reasonable and Comfortable”
Reviewed July 27, 2007

We stayed in a two queen room for 2 nights. The room was upstairs and had enough space for our short time there. There was a small refrigerator and microwave available and an extra large (recently remodled?) bathroom. No complaints from my wife or 2 teenage sons. The wi-fi worked great (no desk if you have work to do-just a small table) and no one complained of any street noise. The pool was judged acceptable by my sons, but don't expect much of the Bear Bites breakfast-juice, coffee, tea, and packaged pastries (although they were locally produced and tasty). There are plenty of choices on this stretch of Monterey street and if the Travel Lodge is available at the lowest price, you can't go wrong.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed and clean room
  • Disliked — Lack of storage and work space
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank APAlSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    121
    97
    58
    36
See reviews for
143
72
36
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

I didn't really expect much when booking a room here, but I were in for a really welcome surprise. Rooms are large and clean, with comfortable beds, microwave, and all you would expect to find in a hotel room. The hotel is placed on the "motel strip" on the outskirts of SLO, but is far enough removed from the 101 so that traffic noise is not a problem. It takes about fifteen minutes to walk from the hotel to downtown SLO, one of the loveliest small towns in California. The area is safe and we enjoyed walking to and from town even at late hours. This is a real bargain with service and amenities far beyond what you would expect for the price.
The only letdown was the advertised "continental breakfast" that turned out to be only a pastry, coffee and orange juice. But all in all, I would definetly stay there again

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KRSSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2006

We stayed here a couple weeks ago on our way up to San Francisco. The room we had was really clean as well as nice and big. They even had it decorated with the Travelodge Bear bedcovers, lamps, wallpaper border etc. Our only complaint is the people upstairs had small kids or baby elephants running around until 11:30 pm. After 2 calls to the office it finally settled down only to start back up again at 6:00 in the morning. It always amazes me that parents seem to have no clue how much noise it makes for the room below them when their kids are jumping off the beds and tearing across the floor like wild banshees.
All in all it is a nice, clean Travelodge. I would recommend it just make sure you don't have kids or baby elephants staying in the room above yours.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank TheWanderingVFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2006

Stopped off for one night while driving PCH.Phoned them up the morning we left Santa Barbara very polite.Checked in room ok ,only problem was a cackling hag in the adjoining room making lots of noise and a "romantic" couple on the other side.Didnt really bother me though.Could nt get wifi to work in the room but seemed ok in reception(this closes at 11.00.)
Its about a twenty minute walk to the "action" in SLO which was good fun ,had a chinese buffet and a bucket of beer,what more could you want!!
Motel very handy for getting back on the road next day quite happy with the price for what we needed that night.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Drdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2006

With the adult children driving, we've decided to see how "winging it" will work for us. On Friday night, coming from the north, just passed the Apple Farm and stopped to look for a budget place to sleep. Motel 6 was $99, but both the receptionist and 2 customers didn't look trustworthy. Best Western was $159 the cheapest, ouch!

Travelodge's pleasant-looking lady first said $129, but seeing my face, and learning we don't have AAA membership, she said "manager's discount is $109". Sure, we'd jumped on it! And our stay was pleasant.

The room on the 2nd floor had 2 queens, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, safe, hairdryer, remote TV. Outside balcony overlooking the pool and parking (free). The room was clean, and NOT worn-out! Large counter in the bathroom - important for us ladies :)

I've heard some bikes maybe coming in or passing by, other then that - no noise. I really appreciated this quiet area after a day of sightseeing!

The only thing we didn't enjoy was breakfast - OJ, coffee, and some muffins or pastries - don't plan on having breakfast, it's just a coffee break. But for this low price on a busy July weekend I don't complain at all!

Location-wise not sure if this is the best area to stay, can't say anything negative, we had a car, this gave us easy access to everything, but there is a trolley stop by the Travelodge and a local bus was passing by.

I would definitely stay there again and recommend to everybody on a budget.
faina22@hotmail.com

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FainaAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2006

We wanted to not spend a ton of money on this short trip because we have other places we want to go later in the year. If you want a cheap, clean place then this works.

The bed was small (queen) but comfortable. Room was clean. Noise level was high - we could hear anyone who walked by and one of the nights, the guy above us was throwing something loud around his room all night. The light next to my side of the bed wasnt working so I called the first morning and let them know. They said they'd send someone to fix it. They never did. I like to read before bed so it was annoying.

They advertise free wifi but I wasnt able to get a signal from my room. So I went to the lobby and couldnt get a signal there. The hotel staff said the box is by the pool, so I went there. Still too weak of a signal to log on and one of the other guests said he had given up too.

Continental breakfast was what I expected. Actually coffee wasnt too bad but the muffins were just gross.
ve.

Overall I coulda stayed in a Motel 6.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MelindaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Sunnyvale, Ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2006

We sometimes stay overnight in SLO when driving south on 101. We arrive late and leave early the next morning, so we primarily want a clean, quiet place to spend the night and then be on our way.

In the past we've stayed at the Motel 6 (next to what used to be Hobees). This time we decided to try the Travelodge for about $20 more. While that represents nearly a 50% premium over the Motel 6, I'd say the extra money was well worth it. The Motel 6 isn't a BAD place, but it's right on the highway and pretty bare bones.

This (SLO) Travelodge, however, was in town, on Monterey Street, just about a block from the Apple Farm Restaurant. No road or highway noise whatsoever, and the surrounding area (hills, trees, etc.) was very beautiful to look at in the morning (much nicer than the freeway).

The room was in excellent condition. I was told all rooms were remodeled about two years ago. The bathrooms were spotless and in great shape, with stone tile around the tub and nice fixtures all around (including the shower head). The room included both a microwave and a fridge which was great for keeping our snacks cold and re-freezing the ice packs from our cooler. The deciding factors causing us to try the Travelodge were the fridge, free in-room wireless Internet access, and free continental breakfast. The continental breakfast was pretty bare (Coffee, OJ, and packaged muffins and rolls) but it got the kids something to eat first thing in the morning, and saved us from having to make a separate time-consuming restaurant stop on our way back to the highway.

Our next stop was a Holiday Inn for twice the price of the Travelodge, with no in-room fridge or microwave, but otherwise not much different. I really hate having to replace ice in our cooler every day.

I was told that the Travelodge's rates vary greatly throughout the year, but we'll definitely try stay there again the next time we're passing through town.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Lemketron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
384 reviews
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#22 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
446 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Luis Obispo

Property: Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Address: 1825 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge
San Luis Obispo Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing