We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so cheap motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Located about 20 minute walk from Downtown - in the midst of hundreds of motels and hotels. We were on a budget so shopped around for a cheap deal and got this for about $70. Have stayed in other travelodges and found them to be clean and generally ok. This was a bit worse than we expected - room was shabby and sparse and not very well looked after.
Breakfast was horrendous, and the lobby was smelly. It did have a pool although it looked a bit dirty so we didnt go in, and there was WIFI - so one good point!! Not a lot else to say really!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emzypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 372 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2009

Needed a place to stay for one night on our way home from a week of traveing. It was inexpensive ($80) and clean(ish). It was freeway close, had a pool my kids could enjoy upon our arrival and was within walking distance of our favorite restaurant in SLO, Apple Farm Inn. If you can get it for WELL under $100 during the busy summer months and don't need to stay for more than a night or two, you probably won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

Can't say anything specifically bad nor good about the property. The two nights I stayed, the same clerk worked all the open hours so the staffing is quite thin. He didn't open till well after 7 am each morning so I missed the so-called breakfast. Like so many motels this age, the outside is in slow decline and most renovations or improvements are to the inside. The room was in good shape for the star level, the bed comfortable and everything worked - all you can really expect for the price I paid. It's convenient to US 101 and there are many food choices nearby.

By the way, this is a much better operation than the "Downtown SLO Travelodge" and consider that if you call or reserve.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank curtismapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Sad but True.
Reveiw: room 20 first floor. The room smelled like a cat had sprayed. yuk. The fan wobbled and and mad a loud noise. The shower had a loud water leak. The soup holder in the shower was chipped (large) which resulted in a large gash in my hand. I complained about the price, cut hand and cat spray. The manager was smoking smelled of cigarette told me *>%#@& and don't ever come back again. I have no intentions. The fee was reduced from 75.00 to 55.00. Should have been 35.00. What a dump. I will notify the county health department. Yuk eee du du.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
1  Thank sonoma2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Give me a break..........OK, I should have known it was an old outdated motel that had a facelift, but for some reason I was expecting a little more for the money ($115) - at half the price it would have been OK. Think 1960's vintage motel with a coat of paint. Sure everything was clean enough, but the bathroom had a tiny counter, the decor was tacky, and we had two of the same exact motel type prints side by side on the same wall. Beds were just OK. Needed to lug our luggage up the stairs, and if you are thinking great breakfast room in the lobby, think again - not much of a lobby for more than a few people. And, although the reservation was for 4, we were given towels for two. Sure we got more, but they could have done their homework. So, if you want a low end, 2 star motel experience, this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Swissatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Needed to stay in the area for one night. I was a little disappointed when I saw that they had outside doors (versus inside corridors). But that was my fault for not checking. Some guy was talking loudly on his cell phone till 11:30pm on the balcony just outside my door (rude). Could hear lots of street noise since it is right off of the main street. Pipes made weird noises most of the night. Room was decent size and so was bathroom. There was no remote control for the tv and had to keep getting up to change the channel or turn it on or off. When I told them about the remote the next day, I had to explain it three times because he was having trouble understanding English. Little high on the price for a motel ($170/night). Don’t think I’ll be staying here again (but I’ve seen worse).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank monkeytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Just an basic motel type. Benefit was you could walk to town. Great Thursday night street fair/farmer's market in SLO.
Easy to get to and easy to get away from!
No real issues no real wows.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank KathleenI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
178 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Luis Obispo

Address: 1825 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $71 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge
San Luis Obispo Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing