We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, but rooms are terribly rundown, peeling...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice staff, but rooms are terribly rundown, peeling, chipped paints, lights not working, dirty bed spreads

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 374 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here last year for 2 nights (am just now posting review because the camera with the photos was misplaced). From what I can see we got a decent rate ($65) and I don't think this hotel is worth more--however, it's my understanding that in San Luis Obispo, as in most places, they take advantage of excess demand to raise the rates, this being the case during the summer and around the university's graduation dates. We had no complaints about the room--it was clean and came with everything you could need. Didn't use the pool. Have to agree that the breakfast was very minimal and my biggest complaint would be that the "dining area" is actually just a little corner of the check-in area, as though it was added as an afterthought, probably around the time all of the competing hotels started including breakfast in the rate. Would stay here again only if, pricewise, the other hotels were simply too expensive or completely booked.

Room Tip: Had a room towards the back where we could hear frogs at night if we had the door open, but nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greta65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Traveled across the country for a wedding, reserved 2 rooms, after almost 12 hours of travel I try to check in and I'm told I have only 1 room reserved. After questioning the managers customer services skills I was told 'now you have NO rooms!'. The soup nazi of the hotel world. I was able to final secure two rooms, but it gets better. Another party in our group had the same problem and was also threatened with total cancellation. But wait, it gets better, after the wedding another couple in our group had to leave at 3am because of BED BUGS, the management offered a refund but said it wasn't their responsibility to find them a new room. Suffice to say this is perhaps the worst 'lodge' on the planet, stay away.

Room Tip: Don' do it, stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Ha to stay here last minute and feel I got a bit ripped off price wise. yet I would not say anything against the place. It wont blow you away but like most Travelodges it does the job.

Staff were helpful the little I dealt with them and the Breakfast beats getting nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is an older property but the rooms were clean and well kept. Bed comfortable.
The free wifi only required a passcode which was written on the room card sleeve.
The room had a window air conditioner of the older type without a 'constant fan' setting. This kind cycles on and off when it runs.

Did not use the pool but it was clean and well cared for, if a bit small like all the Travelodge pools I've seen. The pool was built by taking some of the parking spaces, and is a later addition. Parking lot entrance is one lane and might be difficult for larger vehicles to park.

The pool has handicap access in the form of a swivel chair. I've seen this at other Travelodges and is a nice feature.

Front desk service was average, they recommended that we eat breakfast at the Apple Farm a couple doors away - this was good advice because their own breakfast was poor, and consisted of stale cereal and toast. There were only two small tables in the lobby. We did not eat here, but I snacked on some of the cereal from the dispenser that evening and it was stale.

I call this "no free breakfast", if you expect a free breakfast look further for a hotel.

The downtown area is walking distance close, some nice food places nearby, but also several other hotels you could choose from before landing here. Our rate was $75 and I would not pay more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xybek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#26 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
404 reviews
3.7 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
#25 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lexington Inn
Lexington Inn
#20 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Luis Obispo

Address: 1825 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $67 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge
San Luis Obispo Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing