We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was what I expected. It was a place to stay at night while we traveled around during the day. The rooms are good. They have a balcony and indoor corridors. There is a free breakfast included in the lobby every morning with hot and cold selections. The beds and other fixtures in the room are acceptable.

There are numerous food choices near the hotel, all within walking distance. There is also a sizable shopping center across the street with many different types of stores, including a grocery store and a BestBuy.

This is a nice average priced hotel and it meets all of those expectations.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Jsaxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 930 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've never thought of Best Western as upscale, but this location definitely was. The quest rooms were beautifully decorated and appointed. Fridge and Microwave are always appreciated. Beds super comfy. Great breakfast with lots of options and a really nice pool and spa. We would defintely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank 678pamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a month this past January and February. The people who work here are incredible, quality people. They are very knowledgeable about the area. So kind and helpful. Helped with recommendations for restaurants and all kinds of services we needed being there so long. I especially needed help with computer questions. The work room was private and very accessible. All the employees went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and right at home. The breakfast was great! The evening reception was our dinner most nights. Anything we needed or any questions, were taken care of very professionally. Spa area, pool and work out room were very clean and well taken care of. Housekeeping staff and maintenance were great! Front desk people are amazing!

Room Tip: Main building has great internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Royal Oak in San Luis Obispo is located across the street from a shopping mall, near a bus stop, and also near a freeway. The rooms are good size, well appointed, and very clean. There is a large swimming pool which we did not use yet it looked inviting. Parking in the hotel lot can be a bit tricky: available but perhaps not near your room. Nevertheless, we recommend the hotel; it is a great place to stay whether on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
5  Thank Vivian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed one night recently while visiting our son at Cal Poly. The hotel is not right in town so you cannot walk to town, it's only a few exits away. The price was very reasonable. The outside of the hotel is not particularly charming, but the rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfasts are decent and included fresh fruit, a nice touch. We had no complaints. It is dog friendly too, which is great for pet owners.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank swimmer283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was a great place to stay, convenient to downtown, beaches, etc. Nice staff, very clean, absolutely no complaints. Enjoyed the continental breakfast, the wine and cheese service in the evening, and the friendly staff. They knew the area well and were helpful with events; provided a map of the downtown area with sections highlighted.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Alton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed one night at this location with my husband. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were comfortable, well-maintained, and clean. I was a bit disappointed that the toiletries were not of better quality. The breakfast was amazing, with make your own waffles, hard-boiled egg, fresh grapefruit, yogurt, and more. Parking was free. Location is close to various restaurants and shopping. We had a very nice stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,294 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
651 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
409 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $115 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, bedfinder AG, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing