We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to rest on hwy 101 goin northorsouth”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Redwood City
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to rest on hwy 101 goin northorsouth”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice secure room with small balcony overlooking road, mall and mountains . Great short walk to Madonna inn famous coffee shop. Frig and microwave and tiny coffee maker in room great for leftovers and drinks.

Room 253 had two comfy queen beds and large flat screen tv; channel guide does not match the tv channels.

Grocery store across the street. Pool and spa area is huge, but spa is small. The breakfast included is enough food for the day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bubblebutt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    364
    127
    32
    13
See reviews for
312
300
36
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The San Luis Obispo Best Western Royal Oak is a very pleasant hotel that is well-located to the center of town, shopping and restaurants. Despite being close to the freeway, the rooms were quiet and clean. There is a "pet area" located in the park of the hotel's lot perfect for those traveling with pets and pet friendly rooms near the "relief" area. The staff is helpful, friendly, and ensure you have a enjoyable stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ARFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel feels BRAND NEW!! FREE WIFI :) FREE BREAKFAST :) clean modern rooms :) great pool area but best off its close to a mall and all amenities.

Would definitely stay again if passing thru the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CANADIANOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We picked this hotel after reading several positive reviews online while looking for affordable lodging options for one night in San Luis Obispo. We were not disappointed! Location was very central, close to the Madonna Inn and downtown. It was a perfect spot to spend one night while exploring SLO and Hearst Castle, after driving up from LA. We opted to stay here over the Apple Farm and Madonna Inn due to better prices and more modern accommodations. But we felt we got the best of all worlds by spending our one SLO evening with dinner at the Apple Farm (good comfort food), dessert and drinks at the Madonna Inn (kitschy but fun, check out both the restaurant AND bar) before heading back to the Best Western to hit the hay.

Staff were friendly upon check-in, room was clean with a comfortable bed, and breakfast was good. There was a waffle maker the morning we were there (not sure if food options rotate, as we only stayed one night), along with yogurt, fruit, and cereal options. Nice, quick, and most importantly, FREE continental breakfast in a bright, sunny space. We paid the extra $10 for a room with a pool view, though it was too cold to swim. Slept well, nice and quiet. Met our needs for a brief weekend getaway to SLO before heading up Highway 1 to Big Sur!

Room Tip: Our pool-facing room was nice. Worth the extra $10/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

San Luis is a town that requires some time to enjoy and unfortunately my mom and I were just passing through and road weary by this point. All we wanted was a reasonably priced stay as we were driving through Big Sur and up to the Monterey Aquarium and didn't want to spend the budget to stay in the five city's or Morro Bay. So The Royal Oak in San Luis was a PERFECT choice! Beautiful hotel, deceptively large without seeming like a monstrous resort, it actually has a somewhat classic feel depending on where your room is. Plenty of parking.(We were able to park in front of our room.) Upon check in we were given a ticket for a complementary glass of wine or beer. to be redeemed in the breakfast room adjacent to the lobby. Beautiful rooms with a balcony. Overall I really enjoyed this hotel. Do yourself a favor, come to S.L.O. enjoy this pearl of the central coast. And stay at the Royal Oak.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I loved everything about it during my stay: comfortable room, comfortable bed, great shower. It was very quick to check in and out. I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area. Quick access to Highway and local attractions. If I would ever return to the area, I would definitely try to stay there again. I am sorry I did not get to use the pool, that looked great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were approaching the end of our road trip by the time we got here and had stayed in a good many hotels. The Royal Oak lived up to expectations with good size rooms, clean and comfortable amenities. The staff were very friendly and overall we would definiitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyW20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,599 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing