We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, dark and old room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small, dark and old room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Best Western has the best booking system online. The reason We selected them when we planned our trip across US.

Reception was also polite and professional, But this hotel didn't live up to our expectations.
The room was small and dark with wet spots on the carpet floor (dogs of previous guest?!!).
Too simplified breakfast was served in a very small room where people couldn't move around.
And price was just too high compared to what you get.
It is very unlikely that we will come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room facing parking on 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niikdoost N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    342
    123
    30
    12
See reviews for
292
283
35
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

this hotel had everything to make the perfect stay. the rooms are laid out well and everything was current-new. bathroom had a fan and hairdryer. tv was flat screen and big. wi fi was free. breakfast was plentiful fast and free. roomy balcony. lots of shops across street-Dollar Tree, Ralph's, Forever 21, etc. would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: west side has balconies that catch the nite air-no running the ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debPasadena_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Easy off the freeway. Stayed just one night with our small service dog. Was delighted to see the completely fenced-in, shaded, designated dog run where she could stretch her legs. Our check-in and check-out was very smooth and the staff very friendly. The room was very clean and comfortably decorated. Sheets were used to cover both sides of the duvets, which I always think is nicer in a hotel. We had asked for a "quiet room" and were upgraded to a pool view room. We could see all the way to the hills. The king-bed room was spacious and quiet--some bumping noises from the folks upstairs, but that is fairly normal in any motel/hotel. Loved sitting on the balcony watching families play in the pool and just breathing in the view. We went on a warm weekend, and the air conditioning worked well.

Down sides: The bathtub was small, the shower water a tiny bit unpredictable, and we did not see an elevator--though, we may have just missed it as we did not need it.

The free breakfast includes make-your-own waffles, breakfast sandwiches, hard-boiled eggs, bananas, pastries, juices, cereals, and coffee. The breakfast area appeared to be staffed with someone who kept the area clean and assisted if asked. Should you not like the breakfast at the motel, there is an IHOP right next door on one side, for lunch and dinner options, there is a Chinese restaurant on the other side. The motel is across the street from a shopping center with several other dining choices. Half-a-block down, there is a park. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms up on the hill are quieter. All rooms require a bit of walking to get to from the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boo-Bears_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel over memorial day weekend to attend their annual blues festival. Hotel was clean, nice room.

This hotel allows pets and the first night there a dog was left alone in a room into the late night hours and barked incessantly. When calling the front desk, they said there was nothing they could do about it. The barking lasted past 11 PM. Very frustrating.

Room Tip: be sure to check surrounding rooms when booking if they have pets in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneLangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights between driving pch from San Francisco to Los Angeles. Very warm welcome, room very comfortable overlooking pool area. Walked into slo nice walk about 2 miles.Farmers market on a Thursday great fun ,found good pub with entertainment Frog and Peach . MacDonalds across road for late night munchies.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank feederfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

A very friendly welcome from Chase on reception set the tone, which was followed by tokens for complimentary wine/beer and nibbles! The room was spacious and very clean with crisp bed linen. The only slight downside was the slightly lumpy pillow, but it didn't stop me falling asleep. Breakfast is included in the rate too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrynDHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORENO VALLEY
Level Contributor
562 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice king room, big flat screen, micro, not so big mini fridge, balcony. Good location near shopping area and restaurants. VERY expensive. Not sure why this is a PLUS hotel. I hate adjoining rooms, the sound insulation in the walls is useless when there is a door in between. I had to put headphones on to drown out the noise next door. During my entire stay there was a bus parking, loading, and unloading outside my balcony. Idling the whole time! Could not keep my window on the balcony open or enjoy the balcony at all during all this. They don't recycle.

Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the wing furthest to the left from the office. That's where the buses park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing