We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated Plus Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice king room, big flat screen, micro, not so big mini fridge, balcony. Good location near shopping area and restaurants. VERY expensive. Not sure why this is a PLUS hotel. I hate adjoining rooms, the sound insulation in the walls is useless when there is a door in between. I had to put headphones on to drown out the noise next door. During my entire stay there was a bus parking, loading, and unloading outside my balcony. Idling the whole time! Could not keep my window on the balcony open or enjoy the balcony at all during all this. They don't recycle.

Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the wing furthest to the left from the office. That's where the buses park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 907 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here on the trip from LA to SF.
The hotel is just across the road from a small shopping area so choice of dinning out.
We only stayed for 1 night arrived early evening and left the next morning we found there wasn't much near this location but this could have been due to our short stay.
This was the cheapest of the 3 BW we stayed in but provided the most extras.
Breakfast was included we expected a Danish and a coffee, there was waffles you could make fresh, fruit, yoghurts, hot breakfast sandwiches, toast, cereal you could ask for more.
The sea mist rolled in( which was quite spooky )after our arrival but before that we had a lovely view to the mountains.
Recommended as a stop off.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jomam2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Great value...but the employees go above and beyond..dan, chase and carol were fantastic....knowledgeable about wineries..beaches and shopping...the happy hour was great..carol was the ultimate hostess...lots of cheese...crackers..and snacks...and wine or beer....I'd recommend this hotel ...and san luis obispo in general!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamabear247365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Upon arriving the staff gave us information about the city the farmers market on thursday evenings is fun! Our room was very large and overlooked the pool, they have a patio area with two chairs so you can enjoy fresh air. Lots of choices to dine around the hotel plus a delivery service if you just want to relax after a long day. One of the workers brought us a cart for luggage and even got us ice. Oh did I mention an area for dogs that is enclosed with dog bags and a trash can for disposal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were just stopping over for one night on the way through but were a little disappointed with the hotel.

First the good points:
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel location was about 10 mins drive to the centre of San Luis Obispo. The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable.

SLO was a nice town and we were lucky to be visiting when they had a farmer's market on.

So why only 3 out of 5?

The room we had was a bit tired and from the outside was the cross between a prison and a multi-storey car park. I understand that this is relatively normal for these style of hotel in California but I think we expected something a bit better. The view from the room was basically the roof of the main building, just to rub it in there was a balcony and chairs so we could soak up the "view" :-)

Finally the housekeeping was not spotless as there were some hairs in the bath and the room was a little shabby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great deal with breakfast included.
Bonus: wine with snack all on the house.
Staff friendly and knowledgeable.
Excellent location just off the freeway on Madonna Road.
Shopping available across the street in the mall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel rocks!! I accidentally left a hi-end bike helmet on their premises and their employees not only found it, they put it it in the "lost and found". So, when i called the front desk, they had it. And they sent it to me. Saved me $300. Their staff is honest and honerable. And, their rooms? Good sized rooms, clean and quiet. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthiajr r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,262 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,458 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $104 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing