We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The staff rocked!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The staff rocked!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel rocks!! I accidentally left a hi-end bike helmet on their premises and their employees not only found it, they put it it in the "lost and found". So, when i called the front desk, they had it. And they sent it to me. Saved me $300. Their staff is honest and honerable. And, their rooms? Good sized rooms, clean and quiet. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthiajr r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    316
    109
    27
    8
See reviews for
267
259
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This motel is across the street from a nice commercial mall and just a few doors down from the kitchy but eye-catching Madonna Inn. It's one freeway exit from SLO's beautiful downtown and just a few miles from the CalPoly campus.

The front desk service was excellent, but there was a bit of a strange smell in the lobby which bothered me more than my wife and kids. Our room was comfortable for the four of us with real queen beds, not doubles being sold as queens.

We sprung for a pool view room, and we were placed on the second floor. This was fine after our first night when we got up and out early. However, after our second night, we hoped to sleep in. It was difficult because of the noise from the floor above. While the ceiling seemed fairly well insulated, there was an annoying and random "clicking" noise from the ceiling anytime the people above us walked around—the equivalent of squeaking floors. If you want to sleep in a bit, I'd suggest requesting a third floor room so you have no one above you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjwcassard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We recently stayed here while on a visit to tour Cal Poly. The hotel was located close to the college, but also close to many conveniences. There is a shopping center directly across the street that has restaurants, groceries and clothing. The hotel was clean. The rooms are on the small side. Our reservation came with an afternoon wine and cheese bar. However, apparently some reservations don't include it, so the attendant would turn those people away, which I found to be a bit on the side of poor service. They should give those other guest an option to be part of the wine and cheese service instead of just turning them away by saying "You don't qualify". Our reservation also included a hot breakfast. We didn't take advantage of this deal since the hot part of the breakfast was taking a prepackaged sausage sandwich (maybe even Jimmy Dean) and putting it in the microwave. Located next door is an IHOP that will give you 20% off if you show them your room key. We are not big IHOP fans but it was a step above a microwaved breakfast. They have a nice heated pool, but a ridiculously small hot tub (that was out of service while we were there). Overall, an acceptable place for one night.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade for a pool view otherwise you will be facing a parking lot which would give the plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripLover40_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
213 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Our room was large, quiet and clean. It overlooked the pool and the balcony was nice in the evening. We had a king bed and it had good linen on it and several pillows. The mattress was firm but not so hard that you have to roll over all night long. The breakfast was OK. Not a large variety of items but all the usual ones the only hot item are waffles. This all being said the next time I'm in town I will stay again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GuyWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The rooms are a good size, clean and quiet. We stayed here two nights. Our room was located on the fourth floor rear overlooking the swimming pool area. The breakfast included was good as well. The only downside is that there are no elevators to our level. But, given the slope of the site we only had to walk up two floors. I just note this point for those who have difficulty with stairs!

Room Tip: The 4th floor rooms have the best view overlooking the pool area, and are very quiet as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Room was a great size, even had a balcony. IHOP next door, and multiple restaurants all around. Nature reserve behind the hotel has chirping frogs. Pool was great, perfect temp for kids to play. Breakfast was fantastic for "continental." Front desk was very kind to my daughters, and even held the movies one of them left behind! (Thanks, Chase!) The only (very tiny!) complaint I had was that the spa wasn't full enough of water, so the only way I could cover my shoulders (and I'm very short) was to be in the middle. If we need a place to stay in this area again, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Back end of hotel was perfect for access to pool and parking and is away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Three of us stayed the night before a scheduled tour of the campus at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. The hotel was perfect. Room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was good too. Our son just got accepted so we will be back in SLO often and plan to stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were put in the back on the 3rd floor. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbaccash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Groupon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing