We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Alamo, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Large enough room, friendly staff. Good location. Breakfast was better than most places like this. Breakfast sandwiches, make your own waffles. Weekday wine and cheese hour. Rooms are cheery compared to that big famous place a few doors away.

Room Tip: Easy place to keep your pet! Room has some ventilation issues, it can get hot, even when it's c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    364
    127
    32
    13
See reviews for
312
300
36
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Staying here tonight. So far so good. Exceptionally great service, good value and pretty convinient. I will definitely be back, worth recommending to business travelers. The rooms are a pretty decent size and restaurants pretty close by. Good deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillySteak88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here on a road trip from San Fran to LA, we had just left Carmel and were looking for accomodation for the night...what a find.
Huge room, beautiful toiletries in the bathroom (Crabtree and Evelyn).
Continental breakfast part of our tariff, which was fabulous, unlimited everything!!! Located across the road from many chain restaurants which could be helpful for a family. As we arrived really late at night we were glad to find places close by!! Very friendly staff and a warm welcome, thoroughly recommend. Also across the road are many department stores/shops. Great to have fantastic laundry facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Not in the downtown core, but a one minute drive there. Busy road, but the benefit to that is you are surrounded by a shopping centre with department stores, groceries & restaurants. Rooms are clean and the pool area is stellar. This is a pool you will want to hang around as the landscaping is lovely. Choose a room that looks into the pool deck, otherwise you get the parking lot. We did have to close the balcony door entirely to block out the road noise. It was hot, so had to use the A/C or else put up with noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinpaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having stayed in Best Westerns during our month in California we thought this would be OK how wrong we were. Firstly (My own fault but as we were not used to this I never checked) all rooms are able to have dogs in them. The carpets are stained and there is a smell about them. One of our group got bitten by a flea we suspect. Brekky is boarderline, nearly just gave it a miss. but as we were planning a big day of travel decided to go with it., Must say the pool and spa were very good as a saving grace for our stay. We were walking distance to Modonna Hotel which was where we had dinner which was a good experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whangarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itumbiara, GO
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were trabeling from San Francisco to Los Angeles and we spent the night in this hotel. The rooms are huge but ours was smelly (cigarettes). The furniture is very outdated and the matress was too soft. The breakfast is complimentary and very good. Parking is free. There is an Applebees restaurant nearby, where we dine and which I recommend. The bathroom was ok, but the shower was not very good. We payed around $ 115, expensive considering what the hotel offers. I recommend just to spend the night. For a longer stay, look for another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vcgabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good clean,well appointed motel--a little outdated but adequate for a short stay. No complaints except for slippery ramps and pool area in rain. Modest but adequate complimentary breakfast.
A number of restaurants nearby but avoid the IHOP next door as service is attrocious.

Room Tip: Be careful walking on slippery tiles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing