We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$200/Night for a Roadside Motel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I don't know where some of the reviewers got their $100/night prices, but the average going rate for this place is $200 a night for a basic roadside motel room. While this place is convenient because it's right across the street from two shopping centers, it is a worn out roadside motel on a very busy street. Seriously, I would expect MUCH more for $200 bucks a night. This place should be in the $80/night range.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nausica88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 877 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I have been travelling all over America on a fly drive and in this 3 week period I have stayed at several hotels / motels and best westerns. But I have to say this one made me register to vent my disgust. I have to say the location and rooms are as you would expect. The staff are courteous and rooms clean and well presented my horror came at the so called "breakfast". We had looked at the advisor prior to our stay and it said to go early. This is an understatement. I would say don't bother at all there are plenty of food establishments nearby to satisfy your hunger. On a morning I just want to sit and relax for the day ahead not be stood being brushed past as there is not enough room to move. The choice is dia as well. A microwave for cooking your own muffin which everybody stands around a waffle maker again which is qued for and I won't even mention the toaster. That's it apart from some yoghurts. It's a shame it is included in the price otherwise I would say stay away.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jri18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I stopped one night during a long holiday but wish I could have stayed longer. The check in was quick and friendly and the reception area very nice. The room was large and well equipped and over looked a lively pool area. The shower was hot and powerful and the bed lovely and comfortable. Top hotel for the price I would come back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLP1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We just rocked up with no booking and got a room for $100, deal!
Clean, cheap and spot on for an overnighter on Highway 1.
SLO is a great spot to stay for a day or so.
Watch out for the 'breakfast' its a wild ride.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moleandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were worried we'd have difficulty finding a relatively inexpensive place to stay for our one night stay getting set for our drive up the coastal highway. We booked it online in the car while just a few hours away and went with it based on the price ($130ish I think) and reviews. With no need for special amenities, just nice/clean, free breakfast, etc., it was a great choice. I didn't realize until we got there (wife booked it) that it's more of a motor lodge than a hotel, but that has its own charm in this instance. The view from the parking lot of the mountains right behind the hotel is rather impressive and a nice 'welcome'. The room was very large compared to any typical hotel room (Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn Express, ex.), maybe not as modern as we prefer but still suited our purposes perfectly. There was a tiny window in the bathroom (could open it for additional circulation) that really was a view to nothing much, but it was another 'charming' addition that you don't typically see. Sometimes it's nice to stay someplace different than the more modern, yet cookie-cutter hotel staples. And with very friendly folks working the desk (told us where to eat when asked, gave coupon) and a very reasonable price.....we simply have no complaints and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great stop on Highway one raod trip.
Nice clean hotel, room was great, fridge was definitely a plus. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Fitness centre adequate.
Internet was down during our stay- only downside.
Would say again.

The Thursday Farmers Market is a must do....amazing fresh fruit, veggies, nuts jams and so much more. Save your appitite because there mnay different foods available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deislandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The location for this hotel was perfect - close to downtown, Pismo/Avila & Morro Bay + the university. The amenities were even better. It included a 5-7 pm Happy Hour, breakfast, heated pool & jacuzzi, comfy beds and a helpful staff! I would stay here again on my next visit to SLO.
Only negative was the loud A/C unit - they need to update them for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room with pool view & balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nepite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
626 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,425 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $117 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing