We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hazardous,threadbare,not as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 460 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Clearly a value inn that's due for a little TLC. Clean and easy to find. The pool has been filled in with cement to creat a creepy and fenced in patio in the parking lot. Free breakfast was worst on our trip down the PCH which is not an award to be proud of.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was visiting family on a weekend when SLO was crowded with accepted students for CalPoly, and stayed here. It was a great deal, and they were very nice!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very easy access from freeway 101. Very well maintained, clean, courteous and friendly staff. Good breakfast, coffee, orange juice, milk, cereal, bread, waffles, & most of the time there is fruit in the lobby. Very close to downtown as well close to University. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1MiniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ewwww! Not the best impression of San Luis Obispo. Rooms are ugly yellow, old polyester bedspreads and the room stinks of cigarettes. Free breakfast was good. Free parking. No view. Wish we would've tried the local resteraunts...

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ladykeepsmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent a week at this hotel last January and was very pleased. Yes, the units are a little older, but they are well maintained and clean. The manager, Amul and his wife, were very pleasant. As a business traveler, this is important to me. It's nice to be treated kindly, as a person, and not as a bother or simple paycheck.

Amul and his wife were also very helpful and gracious. First, when one of my workers couldn't make it at the last minute, Amul let me cancel his room without the proper notice. Second, when my work got held over, he maintained my WEEKDAY rate over the weekend. And third, when I needed an extra late check out (3pm) because of a business situation - he obliged me.

It is important to note that none of these things did the manager have to do. Indeed, it could be argued that he shouldn't have. But, let me tell you, unknown to him, I reserve 2-3 hotel rooms in San Luis 2-4 times per year, each time for 3-7 days. My company has now found a permanent site for all our reservations.

Thank you, Amul, for being flexible and having a giving spirit - I look forward to doing business with you again.

Kevin Hanley, Owner
Custodial-Plus Services
Santa Barbara, CA

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
178 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
#25 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#22 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Address: 1951 Monterey St, Hwy 101 exit Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $71 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Super Eight San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Super 8
San Luis Obispo Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing