We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hazardous,threadbare,not as advertised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    110
    118
    51
    25
See reviews for
136
101
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Clearly a value inn that's due for a little TLC. Clean and easy to find. The pool has been filled in with cement to creat a creepy and fenced in patio in the parking lot. Free breakfast was worst on our trip down the PCH which is not an award to be proud of.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was visiting family on a weekend when SLO was crowded with accepted students for CalPoly, and stayed here. It was a great deal, and they were very nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very easy access from freeway 101. Very well maintained, clean, courteous and friendly staff. Good breakfast, coffee, orange juice, milk, cereal, bread, waffles, & most of the time there is fruit in the lobby. Very close to downtown as well close to University. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1MiniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Ewwww! Not the best impression of San Luis Obispo. Rooms are ugly yellow, old polyester bedspreads and the room stinks of cigarettes. Free breakfast was good. Free parking. No view. Wish we would've tried the local resteraunts...

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ladykeepsmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Goleta, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent a week at this hotel last January and was very pleased. Yes, the units are a little older, but they are well maintained and clean. The manager, Amul and his wife, were very pleasant. As a business traveler, this is important to me. It's nice to be treated kindly, as a person, and not as a bother or simple paycheck.

Amul and his wife were also very helpful and gracious. First, when one of my workers couldn't make it at the last minute, Amul let me cancel his room without the proper notice. Second, when my work got held over, he maintained my WEEKDAY rate over the weekend. And third, when I needed an extra late check out (3pm) because of a business situation - he obliged me.

It is important to note that none of these things did the manager have to do. Indeed, it could be argued that he shouldn't have. But, let me tell you, unknown to him, I reserve 2-3 hotel rooms in San Luis 2-4 times per year, each time for 3-7 days. My company has now found a permanent site for all our reservations.

Thank you, Amul, for being flexible and having a giving spirit - I look forward to doing business with you again.

Kevin Hanley, Owner
Custodial-Plus Services
Santa Barbara, CA

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.0 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Central Coast
Quality Suites Central Coast
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Property: Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Address: 1951 Monterey St, Hwy 101 exit Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Super Eight San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Super Eight
San Luis Obispo Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing