We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great place to stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Bakersfield, California
1 review
“"Great place to stay"”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I constantly travel to the central coast for business and my number one choice is super 8 motel in San Luis Obispo. The staff is very friendly, excellent management, and the rooms are very clean. Great price for the rooms. I recommend it to anyone traveling through the coast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    135
    134
    67
    35
See reviews for
160
124
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Motel was OK. Nothing great about the rooms, but they were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was OK, with a good choice. Value for money was fair.
Office lady was unable to process my Wyndham rewards. She was very pleasant, but struggled with the check-in procedure.
We requested a quiet room and was given one.Had a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WTP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I've been to many Super 8's over the years, some great, and some blahhhh. This one is a solid "very good." It is near the highway and some restaurants, so convenience is not a problem. The room was clean and there were no bed bugs. The continental breakfast was nicely stocked, and clean. The only caution I have for this place is, avoid rooms near the stairwells if you want to sleep in late. But, I guess this is a "given".

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srarakawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I found Super 8 Motel Super have stayed couple nights and love to go back . The staff's are very friendly and the rooms very clean . It is close to the city and the rates are cheap . I would recomend my friends who would be travelling from LA to San Francisco to stop by and check out the stay .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohammed a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Very well run hotel. Staff helpful and polite. Large room, very clean, nice breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night in September 2011 as part of a vacation through California. I booked this hotel in part because of the price and good reviews on Trip Advisor, but also because they advertised high speed internet - I was on vacation but still needed to send a few emails every night for work. Also we were only staying for one night, arriving late at night and leaving early in the morning. The lady that greeted us at check-in was helpful, though not particularly cheerful. The room was about what you would expect from a Super 8 - it was certainly large enough, but it could have been cleaner. The carpets looked dirty and the drain in the bath tub was very slow (this always seems to be a problem in cheap hotels and is a sure sign that housekeeping really doesn't care as they should notice that kind of problem right away and report it to a plumber). My biggest complaint was with the internet. I could not connect to Super 8's wifi network, so I called the front desk - the fellow who answered abruptly told me to use the signal from the hotel next door and hung up. I tried that but it was so slow I almost gave up. It took me 5 minutes to log into my GMail. I had a few documents that I needed to send for work which would have taken under 2 minutes on a standard connection (we're talking less than 2MB here), but took almost half an hour. This was extremely frustrating. The breakfast was unappealing as well. The waffle maker was nice, but everything else looked like it was past its prime. My girlfriend poured a bit of the cereal milk into her coffee and it curdled. At that point we decided to just get breakfast on the road. Overall, we weren't too upset as we were really only there to sleep for the night and it was cheap, but I would have been pretty disappointed if I had to stay there any longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Philly1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Peninsula, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Based upon the prevalence of reasonably good reviews, I thought I'd give Super 8 a try as an option for decent, budget lodging in SLO. Wrong choice. Desk staff is apathetic and can barely speak English. Rooms and complex are loud, particularly when filled with college students. Had to take cold shower at 4am because hot water did not work. Otherwise, rooms were about what you'd expect to find at a Super 8. Never again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PolyCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.0 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
353 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#23 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
355 reviews
3.8 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
#25 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Property: Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Address: 1951 Monterey St, Hwy 101 exit Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Super Eight San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Super 8
San Luis Obispo Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing