We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book online unless you have to” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't book online unless you have to”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I booked a room online on Saturday for a stay on Sunday the charge was $81.07 pre-paid thinking it was a discounted rate. When I arrived to check in, they were going to charge me $59. I let them know I had booked online and asked why the price was different for the same room. He said there's fees associated with booking online. Ok, so I guess I paid $22 extra for doing the work for them. Lesson learned. Other than that the room was kinda ok it was more worth the $59.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    16
    14
    24
See reviews for
14
24
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
n/a
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Called Thursday @5pm for that night; got a single room, queen bed, 55 dollars. Right off US101 but surprisingly quiet and nice neighborhood. Shows its age a bit but an OK place. Nice bathroom and shower, good towels, lots of horizontal space (desk, dresser, table, two night stands) microwave and small fridge (I used neither). One chair seat was quite stained. A/C unit worked well; I put low fan on all night for air circulation and white noise. There was 'breakfast stuff' available but I did not try it since I was having breakfast with a friend.

Room Tip: The building is a tdwo-story"L" with all rooms facting the street. I had a 2nd floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cj02139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I took a road trip down the coast and stopped here along the way. The more recent reviews are correct-- the inn looks a little rough from the outside but everything has been remodeled on the inside. Our room had a fresh scent when we walked in and was clean and modern. The front desk clerk was really nice as well. For a quick trip, I would recommend this place for the price and convenience. It's about the same or better than a Holiday Inn.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachTravels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

On Wednesday night, I booked a room online for Friday night, then I canceled it online 6 minutes later. I called the hotel to make sure it was canceled and they told me they would still charge my credit card $139.99 because I canceled within 48 hours of the reservation. They said it was their policy and I should have known from their website. No amount of pleading would change their minds. These people are jerks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Mogi Das Cruzes, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The rate was excellent the room has 2 queen beds, Bathroom is clean and big enough, and it also has microwave, frigobar, clean towels. The breakfast was not so food, only cofre and some bread, but it was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Comfy beds, and we liked that the room has a mini fridge & microwave (both of which worked well). The room was simple but very clean. The shower had hot water, even after 45 minutes. The bed was very comfortable too! The continental breakfast had some very yummy waffles. The location was very convenient and even though it was next to the freeway, with the window closed you can barely hear it, Didn't affect my sleep whatsoever. Also very friendly staff! I'd recommend this place to family and friends visiting San Luis Obispo. The room was very nice for the price!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here because all of the hotels in the area were booked or over $350 for the night. I paid almost $200 for the Sat after 4th of July to attend a SLO camp. Service was fine at check in. The room smelled really bad when we walked in. Air conditioning system was very loud. The carpet was disgusting. I doubt they have tried to update this place at all. Not worth it at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beanandmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.9 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
#22 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#18 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 950 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling through or staying for a relaxing getaway, Americas Best Value Inn San Luis Obispo offers clean comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access in our public areas and free high-speed Internet access in our guest rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, clock radio, free local calls (restrictions apply), and wake-up service. Children age 18 and younger stay free in their parent's room. At Americas Best Value Inn San Luis Obispo, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Hotel San Luis Obispo
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
Econo Lodge San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing