We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if freeway noise doesn't bother you....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only if freeway noise doesn't bother you....”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was the ONLY hotel available in San Luis and looking back, we should have pushed ahead and found lodging somewhere else along our route. Paid $227. for a sad little motel. I will admit to it looking clean and the bed was comfortable. That is the only plus we could find. Freeway noise. Guest noise. Bathroom door (101) would not stay closed and the bathroom desperately needs a remodel. It all added up to a lousy and restless night. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olyhulagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    19
    14
    31
See reviews for
21
27
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in late for the night. Skeptical since the reviews were not the best but I really enjoyed it. The room was big and clean. Beds were comfortable and the bedding was new. Bathroom was small but that was no big deal. I would definitely consider trying another Inn in another city based on our nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiffeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

we booked this because we had stayed at others in the chain and been very pleased with them. Made the booking by telephone and booked a handicap accessible room. On arrival we were given a room next door to the accessible one and told that this was suitable - it wasn't! The room was quite shabby, no plug in the sink or bath. It was clean enough but quite noisy with car alarm going off and shouting in the car park. I complained to the desk clerk about the lack of accessible room but as we had paid in advance she wasn't really bothered. This was our only bad experience during a long road trip. Lots of hotels in the area so pick somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dah296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Horrible. This has been a nightmare. Dirty. No fresh air. No breakfast! NOTHING!! First the one room was no finished. Then the second room was not done and then we had to ask the cleaning woman to come back cleaning cause there were grass and crumble on the carpet floor and hair in the bathroom. In the night noisy. We could here people showering, talking, walking, flushing the toilet. Near the road so noisy and light from it. It was s nightmare. There is no fresh air!! No breakfast. Actually there is one but we cant not call breakfast. One table at the reception with some kellogs and warm drinks and the guy left s basket to drop our keys. As he knows its horrible and does not want to face the customer. NEVER GO THERE!! NEVER!! Its a nightmare!! And the price asked 130€. In thailand for 5€/ night u can have better!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PenelopeNoyelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We rent a room there last May 18th 2013. A little kid (about15) was doing the check-inn. They asked us 108$ for a room very dirty: soiled carpet we didn't want to walk bare feet on this. The sink faucet was loose we had to use our two hands to make it working. The skirt of the bed was discusting. The table and the chairs in the room were falling appart: we had to hold the table with one hand while eating. The breakfast was in a small area with only one table and the counter was all dirty: nobody clean up between customer. We just had this waffle mix and a bit of milk to put in an undrinkable coffee, no more bread and nobody there to give us some. The ''free'' Internet WiFi did not work in our room no115. Don't go there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The title sums it up. Lady at the front desk was very rude when we checked in. Got to the room, was nice. Still had a regular TV and not a flat screen. Shower would be hot, ice cold, scalding, ice cold, and back to hot. Our second day we left the room at 10:30am and came back at 3:30pm. Maid never showed during that time. Went down to the office..same lady came out and when I explained what had happened...she told me she'd get the maid to come to the room. She then proceeded to go into room off of the office. She slammed the door and I could hear her complaining loudly to whoever was back there. Maid finally came about an hour later. I just asked for towels and some toilet paper. Will probably never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed one night and couldn't wait to leave! TV reception on ABC & HBO channels was lousy, plus TV set must've been at least 10 or more years old. WiFi was horrible, only 1-2 bars most of the time. Pillows were paper thin and mattress was so-so. Heater only blew cool air and so was cold as heck in the morning. Microwave was old and had some kind of orange stuff on the viewing window. Management was unfriendly. Waffle iron was busted which left you with 2 types of cereal or piece of bread for breakfast. Other guests were noisy, had to listen to TV from one room and music from another. On the plus side, bathroom was clean and there was plenty of hot water. Lodge here at your own risk!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvi805, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you Mr. Bruce J for your review, as a matter of fact we were expecting it because after using a room for few hours and comparing the rates of other area hotels you wanted to get a refund and upon not getting it so there comes all these problems and a review BUT you forget that before checking in you saw the room and you liked it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.7 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#23 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
352 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Inn & Suites
San Luis Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in San Luis Obispo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 950 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2360 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling through or staying for a relaxing getaway, Americas Best Value Inn San Luis Obispo offers clean comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access in our public areas and free high-speed Internet access in our guest rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, clock radio, free local calls (restrictions apply), and wake-up service. Children age 18 and younger stay free in their parent's room. At Americas Best Value Inn San Luis Obispo, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Hotel San Luis Obispo
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
Econo Lodge San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing