We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Low budget at premium price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Low budget at premium price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here on our way to San Francisco. We were given a handicapped room because that's all that was available, so the room was spacious. The hairdryer did not work and we had to ask two different lethargic managers three times to get some shampoo. The elevators and hallways were dingy and smelled strongly and mysteriously of mustard. This place is LOUD. doors slamming all night long and a lot of noise from the street, even with windows closed and the air blasting. There was vomit and empty bottles of Jack Daniels in the sidewalk below our room in the morning...cheers! Continenal breakfast was some stale danishes, cereal and the like. Coffee pot was empty. Lack of tables, no seating and they wouldn't let you take your stale roll back to the room (??). The $209 we spent on one room for one night for this place was ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HWY1CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    50
    28
    14
See reviews for
61
41
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights in July 2013. After having spent the previous 2 nights at another Comfort Inn in Ventura, I was expecting one of comparable quality. That was not the case. The room had holes in the wall. The air conditioning was noisy. And the cleaning staff aren't too thorough since I found a cracker on the floor in plain sight when I checked in. It was also advertised as having flat screen TV's but they appeared to have my old CRT TV from the early 90s. The breakfast provided was so-so. It seemed like powdered eggs but cant say for sure. The only nice thing I have to say is how helpful the young man working the front desk was when I needed to print an email. Within walking distance of downtown SLO and the train station. At least for someone in average shape. Will stay elsewhere the next time I'm in SLO.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
190 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have stayed at several in SLO and this is the worse, I think it cost the least but not the value and only stayed there because of a friend. Stayed across the street, hotel is split by a street. Found the room to smell and only hotel in my memory where paint was peeling from both ceiling ad walls. Wall repairs also incomplete, what looked like black mold around small shower. No Iron! Coffee packets not replaced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
169 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Nice place, clean, great breakfast, good staff. I'm very happy about this place, especially given the small price! I paid about 1/3 with respect to other places in the same street. That's not a lux hotel, but you know it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pece_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed overnight in a room with 2 queen beds. Spencer checked us in and was very speedy and helpful with all the questions we had about the area. The room was pretty spacious for the price you pay and the free continental breakfast in the morning was great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 900Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My guess is that most people who read TripAdvisor fall into one of two major categories. One is the new trailer who does not have any real experience on the road and then the second group is the road warrior who spends too darn much time on the highways and byways. I am in fact a road warrior! For this review I will address both groups. Now the experienced among us know that the Choice Hotel Chain and in this case the Comfort Inn and Suites Lamplighter in San Luis Obispo CA are good mid level hotels. They are not the Hyatt and they are not the local roach motel. In truth they are pretty good for a decent nights sleep and so it was with the Comfort Inn in SLO. The difference in his case was a young woman name Britney who worked the front desk. I had not taken time off of work for several years and finally took a break to visit wine country up in Paso Robles. For wine lovers a GREAT thing to do by the way. She was simply incredible. She made recommendations far beyond what one would expect and literally stayed on top of all the needs of my son and daughter in law plus yours truly during our two day stay. She became part of the great expericne we had. So...a great visit, a good hotel, and a fantastic guide at the front desk to all things cool in the area. She deserves a raise for sure and for one, this old man appreciates the care she showed us!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfessorACB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Encouraged by positive reviews at TripAdvisor.com and at Hotels.com, we reserved a room at the Comfort Inn and Suites for two nights. Upon arrival, we were booked into a room with convenient access without stairs or hallways. But as soon as we opened the door we were met by a strong "off" odor that we couldn't quite identify. The room itself was small and dark, the bathroom was old, looking like something from the 1950s or 1960s.

I immediately spoke to the front desk clerk, who may have been the manager. He gave me a key card for another room that he said might be better, but it was not any better.

If we had planned to stay in SLO for only one night I might have stuck it out. But we decided to cut our losses and we found a better room elsewhere in town.

Room Tip: If you go, make sure you ask for the newest, nicest rooms they have. Better yet, stay elsewhere, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 44Boppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#17 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#21 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#19 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
Address: 1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter Hotel San Luis Obispo
Comfort Inn Lamplighter
Comfort Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing