We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and an elevator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice room and an elevator”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Having a gimpy knee, it was wonderful to find that there was an elevator to get to the third floor. Odd layout of the place, tho...the hallways that were Inside opened directly onto the Outside...no doors at the ends of the halls, just step right out to the outside balcony. Carpeting went right up to the outside balcony where the cement started for the walkway to the outside rooms...no door! I guess the weather is never that bad there. We were upgraded upon a somewhat late arrival, from a standard room to a larger deluxe one. We wondered what made it "deluxe," however. Only one of the amenities, the microwave OR the refrigerator, could be plugged in at one time. So, filled the fridge, unplugged it when we used the microwave, then plugged the fridge back in. Odd! And beware the toilet...it flushes like toilets in jet planes, with a MIGHTY Wooosh that tends to wake the dead in the middle of the night and scare your socks off the first time you use it. Most disconcerting if you tend to flush while still sitting on the pot. There were plenty of wall sockets to plug miscellaneous electronics in to charge, which was nice. The coffeepot had a little problem: the basket in which the coffee was to be placed fell off the machine so had to be held in place while using it. Odd! The room was stuffy, but no matter how far down we turned the air (or up...never sure about that), it never seemed to get any cooler in the room. It was clean, however, and that was wonderful. There was a nice breakfast, scrambled eggs (from a carton, I'm sure), tasty sausages, fruit, yogurt, cereals, waffle-maker, pastries...the full gamut. The stuffed chair sort of swallows the one seated in it and you almost sit on the floor. Since I'm no spring chicken, I had to sit on a folded over bed pillow to be able to use it. Sort of like getting into a little sports car where your bum is almost on the ground. The TV was nice, the refrig worked quite well. All in all, I'd stay there again when we return to SLO.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puttermutt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    58
    53
    29
    17
See reviews for
68
45
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
369 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the super 8 across the street the night before and moved based on the review I wrote. This hotel was very different, nice room, comfortable bed, large bathroom. They had a decent breakfast with eggs, bacon and the normal cold items. Spend a few extra bucks and stay here, don't think about the cheapest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
511 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I feel bad about criticising this place, as where we had booked was the Embassy Suites and they had overbooked and dumped us out here, so we were helped by them that night.

However, I would not stay there again, as the rooms were small and somewhat spartan, and the breakfast was non-existent compared with what we were expecting elsewhere.

It is also not close to anywhere but the shuttle bus stop

At the price I know that they were recharging us at, it was daylight robbery.

Sorry, but thank you anyway

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cwyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Newark
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Good location only about 5 minute drive or about 15 minute walk to downtown area for shopping and eating. , rooms are clean and tidy, front desk is efficient and helpful. We would stay here again. Other reviews made us a little concerned but we have nothing good to say.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amorekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

All that you expect from this chain until I saw my room (3103). Walls have been spackled but not painted. Power plugs are broken so the clock/radio and light don't work. The one usuable plug was in the bathroom by the sink - not a great place for a lap top or phone to charge. Carpet is about 20 years past prime. If you stay here, avoid the rooms "across the street" perhaps the rooms in the central area of the hotel are OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ratherbetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It's in a convenient location to get to downtown. After the first night we walked outside our room in the morning and saw empty beer cans right outside. The hotel advertised a complimentary hot breakfast, but it was pretty sparse. Most mornings they had "run out" of several of the items, like yogurt and fresh strawberries. Even the vending machines were out of several options so we couldn't even get a bottle of water. The utensils were plastic (which is not a problem in itself), but they were very small and so flimsy that I ended up eating my waffle with my hands.
We will try to find a better place next time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a king size bedroom. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Everything was in working conditions. The swimming pool is smallish and not very attrative but again looked clean and neat with plenty of direct sun light in the afternoons. The breakfast was pretty decent (fresh strawberries!) and the staff worked very hard to ensure nothing ran out. The front desk staff were professional and friendly. All in all this is a very decent mid-range hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank br00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lexington Inn
Lexington Inn
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites

Property: Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Address: 1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2930 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter Hotel San Luis Obispo
Comfort Inn And Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn Lamplighter
Comfort Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing