We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Newark
1 review
“We recommend this hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Good location only about 5 minute drive or about 15 minute walk to downtown area for shopping and eating. , rooms are clean and tidy, front desk is efficient and helpful. We would stay here again. Other reviews made us a little concerned but we have nothing good to say.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amorekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    57
    53
    29
    17
See reviews for
68
44
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

All that you expect from this chain until I saw my room (3103). Walls have been spackled but not painted. Power plugs are broken so the clock/radio and light don't work. The one usuable plug was in the bathroom by the sink - not a great place for a lap top or phone to charge. Carpet is about 20 years past prime. If you stay here, avoid the rooms "across the street" perhaps the rooms in the central area of the hotel are OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ratherbetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It's in a convenient location to get to downtown. After the first night we walked outside our room in the morning and saw empty beer cans right outside. The hotel advertised a complimentary hot breakfast, but it was pretty sparse. Most mornings they had "run out" of several of the items, like yogurt and fresh strawberries. Even the vending machines were out of several options so we couldn't even get a bottle of water. The utensils were plastic (which is not a problem in itself), but they were very small and so flimsy that I ended up eating my waffle with my hands.
We will try to find a better place next time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a king size bedroom. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Everything was in working conditions. The swimming pool is smallish and not very attrative but again looked clean and neat with plenty of direct sun light in the afternoons. The breakfast was pretty decent (fresh strawberries!) and the staff worked very hard to ensure nothing ran out. The front desk staff were professional and friendly. All in all this is a very decent mid-range hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank br00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovereto, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our room, the bathroom and the front lobby were all clean and decent. The towels were clean too. The room and bedding was modern, the AC worked. It isn't a fancy hotel but it was comfortable, clean, pretty quiet and perfect for our road trip. Breakfast was the normal Comfort Inn style. The staff was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chekedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights over the 4th of July and would recommend it. Our room was in the main building by the pool and, unlike the comment of one other reviewer, it was very clean and comfortable. It had a fridge and microwave and bathroom amenities as well. The pool and spa were clean - several families were swimming in the pool and we used the spa which was nice and warm. The breakfast included the usual fare of cereal, waffles, etc. but there were hot options of eggs and bacon also. The staff was very helpful and the parking was right outside the front door. We would definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Thank goodness we only had to stay 1 night. Our room was in the main building by the pool it had cobb webs hanging from the ceiling and hair stuck inside the wall mounted blow dryer. The pool was dark and dirty, my kids would not even swim in it and they will swim in lakes and rivers.Needless to say I did not sleep well and we left when the sun came up! Would not recommend staying here until they update the rooms and clean the pool!

Room Tip: We love SLO but WOULD never reccomend staying at the Comfort Inn. I would rather camp in a tent or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Familytrips535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lexington Inn
Lexington Inn
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#25 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites

Property: Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Address: 1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2930 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter Hotel San Luis Obispo
Comfort Inn And Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn Lamplighter
Comfort Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing