We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice mid-range hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice mid-range hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a king size bedroom. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Everything was in working conditions. The swimming pool is smallish and not very attrative but again looked clean and neat with plenty of direct sun light in the afternoons. The breakfast was pretty decent (fresh strawberries!) and the staff worked very hard to ensure nothing ran out. The front desk staff were professional and friendly. All in all this is a very decent mid-range hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank br00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    50
    28
    14
See reviews for
61
41
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rovereto, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our room, the bathroom and the front lobby were all clean and decent. The towels were clean too. The room and bedding was modern, the AC worked. It isn't a fancy hotel but it was comfortable, clean, pretty quiet and perfect for our road trip. Breakfast was the normal Comfort Inn style. The staff was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chekedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights over the 4th of July and would recommend it. Our room was in the main building by the pool and, unlike the comment of one other reviewer, it was very clean and comfortable. It had a fridge and microwave and bathroom amenities as well. The pool and spa were clean - several families were swimming in the pool and we used the spa which was nice and warm. The breakfast included the usual fare of cereal, waffles, etc. but there were hot options of eggs and bacon also. The staff was very helpful and the parking was right outside the front door. We would definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Thank goodness we only had to stay 1 night. Our room was in the main building by the pool it had cobb webs hanging from the ceiling and hair stuck inside the wall mounted blow dryer. The pool was dark and dirty, my kids would not even swim in it and they will swim in lakes and rivers.Needless to say I did not sleep well and we left when the sun came up! Would not recommend staying here until they update the rooms and clean the pool!

Room Tip: We love SLO but WOULD never reccomend staying at the Comfort Inn. I would rather camp in a tent or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Familytrips535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
369 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was in town for business and stayed for 2 weeks, the price was good (averaged $84/day with taxes). The breakfast in the morning was as expected, nothing fancy but they always had cereal, eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles, fruit, pastries, and coffee. The room was very comfortable and quiet (except for the noisy people that tend to come in during the weekend).
I enjoyed the hot tub but did not get in the pool as it's not heated and with the weather barely getting to the low 70s it wasn't worth the chill factor.
The property is located near the top of Monterey Street, with a number of restaurants close by and more within walking distance or a short drive to the center of town.
No real complaints, I'll be back here again next month as it saves money and get's me free rooms with the Choice Hotels club I joined for free.

Room Tip: There is a section off the pool "in the back" that I stayed in...so you aren't near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaAz-JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierra foothills CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The bottom line: $96 bucks on thursday and $126 on friday . Breakfast: Got in at the tail end friday morn so eggs left were rubbery but basically it's the standard fare. Didn't make it in time saturday, c'mon man friday night in SLO town ain't nobody up by 9:30! Nice clean room, list of T.V. channels didn't jive with the actual stations which keeps the record of 100% of motels in the world have the list wrong.

Room Tip: We were "upgraded" to the main building as there is a wing across the street. 2 rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sawdust444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Most of our stays were pleasant, rooms were clean and quiet. Our last stay proved to be our worst! The reservations were made in January for June and we were given a run down room in disrepair, room #2108. The front desk clerk mentioned he saw our name and tried to upgrade our room, but wasn't able too. This was a reservation for 4 nights! After a few calls, about missing towels, soap, broken shower door, missing fridge, things were handled within an hour. What was needed was paint and new carpet! The free breakfast is ok for 1 day. Bottom line is it's been clean and quiet most stays, front desk was prompt in correcting situations. Management needs to recognize the importance of thicker towels, enough for Each occupant, new sheets, 2 bars of soap, etc. Little things are noticed.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, newer building, please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#18 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#25 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#19 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
Address: 1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2930
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter Hotel San Luis Obispo
Comfort Inn Lamplighter
Comfort Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing