We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems on this stay - 2 weeks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Kingman, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“No problems on this stay - 2 weeks”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was in town for business and stayed for 2 weeks, the price was good (averaged $84/day with taxes). The breakfast in the morning was as expected, nothing fancy but they always had cereal, eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles, fruit, pastries, and coffee. The room was very comfortable and quiet (except for the noisy people that tend to come in during the weekend).
I enjoyed the hot tub but did not get in the pool as it's not heated and with the weather barely getting to the low 70s it wasn't worth the chill factor.
The property is located near the top of Monterey Street, with a number of restaurants close by and more within walking distance or a short drive to the center of town.
No real complaints, I'll be back here again next month as it saves money and get's me free rooms with the Choice Hotels club I joined for free.

Room Tip: There is a section off the pool "in the back" that I stayed in...so you aren't near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaAz-JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    58
    53
    30
    18
See reviews for
69
45
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sierra foothills CA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The bottom line: $96 bucks on thursday and $126 on friday . Breakfast: Got in at the tail end friday morn so eggs left were rubbery but basically it's the standard fare. Didn't make it in time saturday, c'mon man friday night in SLO town ain't nobody up by 9:30! Nice clean room, list of T.V. channels didn't jive with the actual stations which keeps the record of 100% of motels in the world have the list wrong.

Room Tip: We were "upgraded" to the main building as there is a wing across the street. 2 rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawdust444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Most of our stays were pleasant, rooms were clean and quiet. Our last stay proved to be our worst! The reservations were made in January for June and we were given a run down room in disrepair, room #2108. The front desk clerk mentioned he saw our name and tried to upgrade our room, but wasn't able too. This was a reservation for 4 nights! After a few calls, about missing towels, soap, broken shower door, missing fridge, things were handled within an hour. What was needed was paint and new carpet! The free breakfast is ok for 1 day. Bottom line is it's been clean and quiet most stays, front desk was prompt in correcting situations. Management needs to recognize the importance of thicker towels, enough for Each occupant, new sheets, 2 bars of soap, etc. Little things are noticed.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, newer building, please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Tiny shaded pool and lobby is across the street.
First morning received a 6:30 wake up call that we did NOT request.
Second night, people checking in and slamming doors from midnight -4am.
A building alarm went off for about 12 minutes at 3am.
I'm ready to check out. Even though the beds are comfy and the room is clean,
We'll never stay at this MOTEL again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank healeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Super clean room, great price and a friendly staff. Would stay there again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our room was on the smallish side, and the safe did not work, the toilet flush also had a wicked recoil, but those were the only faults for our stay here. The maintenance guy tried to fix the safe and when that was not possible they offered to switch our room. However, we were settled in by then, so instead they said they would take 10% off the bill. The next morning they had to be reminded of this, but that was not really a problem.
Overall, a motel stay that was on the plus side of moderately good and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEandCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I just stayed here and I was upgraded upon arrival. The was maintenance problem with the first room that the night clerk was unaware of so I reported it and she immediately changed my room and apologized for the inconvience of the situation. She was pleasant both nights and very helpful with all my questions, my flight was cancelled and I needed a taxi at 4 am to make the earlier flight. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the wifi was free and very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonderers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lexington Inn
Lexington Inn
#20 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites

Property: Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Address: 1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2930 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter Hotel San Luis Obispo
Comfort Inn And Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn Lamplighter
Comfort Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing