We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location, the extra space and that huge breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Loved the location, the extra space and that huge breakfast!”
Reviewed May 3, 2009

As a travel writer, I'm all over the place, both domestically, and internationally. After staying at this charming property, the bar's been raised a bit on what I now expect from a hotel. The extra space within the suite made it so convenient for this early riser. I could make my in-room coffee, pound down some writing ideas, and then chow down with a full breakfast. I didn't get a chance to try the pool or jacuzzi, although one of my business associates just raved about it. It's convenient to downtown SLO, and not to far from the freeway. I'd suggest staying in the back though, so you can enjoy the creek which weaves lazily behind the property.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    222
    53
    13
    6
See reviews for
302
198
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

During our recent road trip to San Francisco, we stayed in San Luis Obispo as it was too late to keep going. We tried to find a hotel that would be close to the downtown restaurants but discovered that most of them are at least at a 15 min walk distance from downtown. It was late at night so we didn't want to walk. The quality suites looked cleaned from outside so we went in to see if they had availability. They not only had a nice suite for 4 of us that same evening, it was at a great price which included a fully cooked breakfast for 4 (not a limited continental breakfast like most others offer when breakfast is included), and to make it even better, they had a complimentary shuttle service to downtown. The entire staff was very pleasant and helpful and the room was big and clean. They even had free movies!!!
The shuttle service was on demand and they came to pick us up when we were ready. The driver was nice and even took us around town a couple of times until we found the type of food that we were looking for. Breakfast the next day was absolutely great!!
We're used to visiting 5 star hotels around the world and were a bit apprehensive about staying at this place because it wasn't rated as a five star hotel but we were very impressed, to say the least, with what we got for the price we paid. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anybody who may want to visit San Luis Obispo and I will definitely never underestimate the quality of this hotel chain again!!!

  • Liked — the service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We are a family of four (2 adults, 11 and 9 year olds) and we stayed in a suite in this hotel in mid August. The hotel facilities are lovely; large lobby with two free PC's for accessing the internet and printing, small pool, laundry room, fitness room and breakfast room and free, on-site parking. The suites have a living area, with fridge, microwave and sink, and a bedroom with ensuite. Our two boys shared the sofa-bed in the living area whilst we had the bedroom. They loved the free DVD library. The complimentary breakfast offered a variety of options though the hot breakfast of scarmbled eggs, sausage and waffles, remained the same every day. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the town centre yet close to the freeway. We used this hotel as a base to explore Avila Beach and Morro Bay and visit the Farmers Market on the Thursday evening. We loved this hotel!

  • Liked — Atmosphere and facilities
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claremont ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

This hotel is at first a very nice place. Somewhat outdated rooms but a good size room, friendly staff, okay breakfast and drinks/bbq at night. however, as I went to sleep (with my son in the "living room" area, I heard EVERYTHING going on in the room next door from a very amorous couple. Once that finally finished, I heard some people yelling in the parking lot outside my room for at least 30 minutes. Once that stopped, someone checked in upstairs and I could hear them click on their lights in the bedroom above mine! This continued for about 2 hours, waking my son up as well though he is a very sound sleeper. Finally fell asleep and then couple next door decided to talk for about an hour at 4 in the morning. I tried to cough, etc to let them know I could hear every word they said. Next night could hear the TV upstairs and every word they said. Put the fan on and put in earplugs to try and get some sleep. Do not stay here unless you can sleep through hurricanes. It is too bad because it is an nice location and has other nice features. Stay someplace else while in SLO!

  • Liked — nice breakfast and drinks/bbq at night
  • Disliked — too much noise! Impossible to sleep!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank teachrwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed over here for 1 night while travelling up highway 1 to san fran.We were on honeymoon, and had stayed in 4 or 5 star hotels in Hawaii, Beverly Hills, Vegas and San Fran, yet the night's accommodation in SLO cost more than any single night in all the other hotels we stayed in.

That said we were happy enough with it, as somewhere to stop for 1 night.The room was spacious and clean.The staff were friendly and the location was great as a halfway point between LA and SF

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DB440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We have stayed at this hotel for many years and always selected this property when we visit San Luis Obispo. It is a great place for families and the staff is always friendly. Our recent stay this past weekend was a huge disappointmnet.

The price for the weekend was outrageously high and the hotel was only one third occupied. The breakfast had less selections than in the past, and the quality was not the same. The manager's special was also minimal. When we asked the front desk about restaurants in the area, they had little knowledge, claiming that they did not live in San Luis Obsipo area. While the staff was nice and pleasant, they did not extend themselves to help us beyond handing us a book of local restauarnts. In addition, the pool needed cleaning.

After this weekend, I am not sure that we will return to the Quality Suites in San Luis Obispo. With such an increase in prices and a decrease in quality, it has lost a loyal customer.

  • Liked — The accessibility to the freeway and attractions.
  • Disliked — Overpriced and limited breakfast items at their included breakfast.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lovebird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, General Manager at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 2, 2008
I emailed the guest that wote this review and did not get a response.

We contiually try to make positive improvements to our breakfast and managers beer and wine tasting reception.

Any and all specific guest input is appreciated so that we can provide a better product.

The guest did stay over "Spring Break" when our rates are slightly higher.

George Newland
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

I'm not a fan of hotels with exterior corridors (sleazy motels come to mind) but I was impressed with this hotel.
The rooms were spacious and clean, the staff were friendly and very accomadating. The location was ideal, not too far from the freeway, beach and downntown San Luis and for the shoppers, about 15 mins from the Prime Outlets.
If you end up at this hotel, do not leave without trying the complimentary breakfast. The food is a real hearty treat.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Exterior Corridors
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank babycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,572 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing