We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It served a purpose.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Quality Suites in San Luis Obispo on the way from San Francisco to LA in November 2013.

The hotel was reasonably-priced, and located close to Route 1. It's on another fairly busy main road, as most of the hotels/motels along here are.

Check in was easy and polite, and I was offered my choice of floor for my room (I chose top floor to avoid noise from above). The room itself was very spacious and had a lounge area with a TV and bar/fridge etc, and a large king-sized bedroom with another TV! The bathroom was also fine. The whole room was clean, comfortable and difficult to find fault with. We had a small balcony, though this only overlooked the main road and other motels, so we weren't ever going to use it.

There is a "manager's reception" with free beer & wine between 5.30pm and 7.30pm, and an outdoor BBQ. We didn't actually use these as we fancied going into town for a drink/food, but it's a nice extra.

There's a pool and hot tub which was under renovation (not a negative as it was November, we'd not have used it anyway), this was in the centre of the complex so overlooked by every room.

The room wasn't particularly quiet - pipe and shower noise from other rooms could be heard and the main road in front could be heard all night - the windows do not do a particularly good job of keeping the sound out.

We got a free newspaper on our door handle, which was a nice touch - annoyingly I found this out when the maid woke us up by repeatedly hammering on our door at 8am to see if we'd left yet.

There is a complimentary breakfast, which we didn't really enjoy much. The cooked stuff wasn't great, and the cold food was very sweet - even cereal tasted a bit funny.

We weren't really sure what to make of this hotel - it had some parts budget hotel (cheap breakfast, noise from pipes/road/other rooms) and some parts really quite nice hotel (large, spacious rooms, friendly staff and the small touches such as the morning paper and drinks reception). I also don't think you'll find a much better hotel along that road in SLO, certainly for the price.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms will be on the top floor, at the back of the complex. Towards the front, road noise w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PippaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide and post a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was good to see that you visited our hotel coming all the way from the UK in November. It was unfortunate timing that our pool was closed during your visit. The pool courtyard will be completed this week on 11/21/13. The weather is usually good enough to swim year-round in San Luis Obispo. This made it hard for us to pick a time to renovate the pool area. We are looking forward to having the project completed. We think it will really enhance the experience of our pool/patio area.

I apologize for the early knock on the door. That was a mistake on our part and it should not have happened during your visit. I also like to take this opportunity to encourage all of our guests to use their do not disturb sign to ensure additional privacy.

It was great to read that you found our Associates friendly and polite. Our Associates as a group are good people and like to see our guests enjoying the hotel and San Luis Obispo.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels include the Central Coast.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 746 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Thanks to TA reviews we booked this location for one night during a long weekend trip down the coast. We loved everything about this motel and can't wait to return for another stay someday. The front desk staff were very welcoming and pleasant. They explained the hours of all the events at the hotel and answered our questions about the area as we planned our evening. Here are other positives of the motel:
-Wonderful location- short walking distance to restaurants and downtown. We were lucky that we were there on the evening of the Farmer's Market which was awesome. There is a free shuttle if needed.
-Clean and large rooms. Very quaint. Pocket doors to the bedroom and bathroom areas.
-Fabulous cook to order breakfast….all included in room rate. Evening reception of wine/beer and snacks was great, too.
-Ambience of the outdoor pool/patio area. True California style with comfy chairs/couches and outdoor gas fire pit. Such a relaxing place.
-All staff were extremely friendly and provided great service.
Don't miss a stay here…very charming!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank momof2inva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and posting a review on tripadvisor. From your description it sounds like you had an enjoyable visit. It was nice to see that you were able to stay on a Thursday night and have the opportunity to go to the Farmers Market downtown. It is a favorite among many of our guests and some come specifically on Thursday to make sure they are able to include it during their stays with us.

It was good to read that you want to come and visit us again. We look forward to seeing you in the next time you are in San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I were recently on a three week road trip of USA and at the last minute decided to stay in San Louis Obispo on our way to San Diego. We had checked online the night before when we were leaving our previous hotel and I really wanted to stay at Apple Farm. Many of the rooms there were out of our price bracket but we had seen some of the cheaper rooms available. When we got to apple farm inn late on a saturday afternoon/evening the room we were looking at was already sold out. The town seemed super busy and we were worried we were not going to find somewhere to stay. We tried a couple of other hotels and they were booked out but one of them told us to try the Quality Suites. When we got there though we were glad the others were sold out. The rooms were pretty large, the staff friendly and they also had a wine reception and bar snacks complimentary until 7:30. They had a BBQ on in courtyard that was super value with hamburgers, sausages and chicken burgers. The breakfast was more than adequate with hot food like eggs, breakfast burritos and potatoes as well as cereal and yoghurt. The location is also pretty good, a 10 minute walk from the Main Street which is lined with shops, bars and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again and would certainly recommend the hotel to someone wanting to stay in lovely San Louis Obispo. It may not have the charm of Apple Farm but it was certainly great value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for telling us about your visit and posting a review on tripadvisor. It was good to see that you found our property through a recommendation in the area. From your review, it looks like you had the opportunity to enjoy many of our amenities. Now that you are aware of the value we provide our guests, we hope to see you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Previous reviews hit it on the mark. Free wine and Beer at night with a modestly priced outdoor grill offering burgers and grilled chicken sandwiches for $5! Staff exceeding expectations in friendliness and energy. All at a great price. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. It was great to hear that our “staff exceeded your expectations in friendliness and energy”. The way our hotel is arranged it lends itself to a lot of interaction between our guests and Associates. I hope you had the opportunity to interact with several of our Associates during your stay
We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fab rooms, free full breakfast, free wine & beer, evening bar b que! Free transportation to local spots. Friendly staff. We came for a 2 day getaway from Monterey.
We stumbled on this gem after having booked another property nearby that looked like a prison!
What's not to like? We will definitely be back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. It was great to see that you choose our hotel for your weekend getaway from Monterey. We appreciated hearing that you found our hotel to be a “great deal”. Monterey is considered a getaway location by many people in California. I appreciated hearing that residents of Monterey enjoy coming to San Luis Obispo when they want to get away for a weekend.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel has everything I want in a place I stay on business trips - so nice, that I'd stay here on vacation. As other reviewers have noted, the staff are warm, friendly and efficient. They make me feel at home (which is really important to us business travelers). The same goes for the wine/beer tasting (daily!), where unlike other hotels that have managers wine/beer socials on a couple of weekdays, the atmosphere is friendly and really social! You can actually make friends here! Other hotel amenities - the pool, hot tub, fitness room, guest laundry - are as promised, but the surprise is that there are unexpected nice little touches: a courtyard with a pleasant fountain, a gazebo, just nice quiet places to sit comfortably alone or with a few friends, there's even a little bench overlooking the creek behind the hotel that offers a mini-nature experience in keeping with SLO's location. The front courtyard includes seating with heaters, group seating around a fireplace, bistro tables - creates a fun atmosphere. The suites themselves are set up so that you really can get work done, relax, and get a good night's sleep. Located on a main street within walking distance of downtown but far enough out that it's quiet, the hotel is also jogging/walking distance from the Cal Poly campus. Really, everything about this hotel (including the rates) is attractive. Finally, on my most recent stay, I had forgotten a small pouch of electronic accessories on the table. I realized it at the airport, on the other side of security, and called the hotel. The housekeeping staff offered to get in a taxi to bring it to me (!), but I asked them to send it to me instead. A couple of days later, I gratefully received them in a UPS package. It was this small but very meaningful act of kindness that prompted me to submit this review. I can't wait to stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: note: entered room service, but I don't know whether they have room service -the site didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We always appreciate hearing what our business travelers think about our hotel and their stay. It was great to see that we made you feel at home. It is important to us that you feel comfortable and well taken care of when you with us and away from family and friends. We are fortunate to have great Associates that do everything they can to make our guests feel comfortable when they stay with us. Thank you for letting us know about the UPS package. Our housekeeping Associates know how important items left behind at the hotel can be for our guests. It was nice to see they went the extra mile to get you reunited with your electronic accessories.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo on business or pleasure.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Found this place to be very clean, comfortable, and the staff most attentive. The free breakfast was more than enough, and the wine/beer tasting was an unexpected treat. We used the hotel shuttle with ease.
It seemed to be a very family friendly hotel which more than met our needs. TV and Wi-Fi connections were great. I would definitely return.
Even though the bathroom was small and the sink was in the room, this did not cause any problem. The beds were quite comfortable with plenty of pillows. Good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beanie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It was good to see that you had the opportunity to experience our complimentary breakfast, wine/beer tasting reception and a chance to use the hotel shuttle. We provide these amenities to enhance the experience our guests receive when staying with us in San Luis Obispo. We are very proud of our town and we provide our complimentary shuttle service to make it easy for our guests to experience all our town has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,466 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
922 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $143 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing