We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I were recently on a three week road trip of USA and at the last minute decided to stay in San Louis Obispo on our way to San Diego. We had checked online the night before when we were leaving our previous hotel and I really wanted to stay at Apple Farm. Many of the rooms there were out of our price bracket but we had seen some of the cheaper rooms available. When we got to apple farm inn late on a saturday afternoon/evening the room we were looking at was already sold out. The town seemed super busy and we were worried we were not going to find somewhere to stay. We tried a couple of other hotels and they were booked out but one of them told us to try the Quality Suites. When we got there though we were glad the others were sold out. The rooms were pretty large, the staff friendly and they also had a wine reception and bar snacks complimentary until 7:30. They had a BBQ on in courtyard that was super value with hamburgers, sausages and chicken burgers. The breakfast was more than adequate with hot food like eggs, breakfast burritos and potatoes as well as cereal and yoghurt. The location is also pretty good, a 10 minute walk from the Main Street which is lined with shops, bars and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again and would certainly recommend the hotel to someone wanting to stay in lovely San Louis Obispo. It may not have the charm of Apple Farm but it was certainly great value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for telling us about your visit and posting a review on tripadvisor. It was good to see that you found our property through a recommendation in the area. From your review, it looks like you had the opportunity to enjoy many of our amenities. Now that you are aware of the value we provide our guests, we hope to see you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 739 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

Previous reviews hit it on the mark. Free wine and Beer at night with a modestly priced outdoor grill offering burgers and grilled chicken sandwiches for $5! Staff exceeding expectations in friendliness and energy. All at a great price. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. It was great to hear that our “staff exceeded your expectations in friendliness and energy”. The way our hotel is arranged it lends itself to a lot of interaction between our guests and Associates. I hope you had the opportunity to interact with several of our Associates during your stay
We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fab rooms, free full breakfast, free wine & beer, evening bar b que! Free transportation to local spots. Friendly staff. We came for a 2 day getaway from Monterey.
We stumbled on this gem after having booked another property nearby that looked like a prison!
What's not to like? We will definitely be back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. It was great to see that you choose our hotel for your weekend getaway from Monterey. We appreciated hearing that you found our hotel to be a “great deal”. Monterey is considered a getaway location by many people in California. I appreciated hearing that residents of Monterey enjoy coming to San Luis Obispo when they want to get away for a weekend.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel has everything I want in a place I stay on business trips - so nice, that I'd stay here on vacation. As other reviewers have noted, the staff are warm, friendly and efficient. They make me feel at home (which is really important to us business travelers). The same goes for the wine/beer tasting (daily!), where unlike other hotels that have managers wine/beer socials on a couple of weekdays, the atmosphere is friendly and really social! You can actually make friends here! Other hotel amenities - the pool, hot tub, fitness room, guest laundry - are as promised, but the surprise is that there are unexpected nice little touches: a courtyard with a pleasant fountain, a gazebo, just nice quiet places to sit comfortably alone or with a few friends, there's even a little bench overlooking the creek behind the hotel that offers a mini-nature experience in keeping with SLO's location. The front courtyard includes seating with heaters, group seating around a fireplace, bistro tables - creates a fun atmosphere. The suites themselves are set up so that you really can get work done, relax, and get a good night's sleep. Located on a main street within walking distance of downtown but far enough out that it's quiet, the hotel is also jogging/walking distance from the Cal Poly campus. Really, everything about this hotel (including the rates) is attractive. Finally, on my most recent stay, I had forgotten a small pouch of electronic accessories on the table. I realized it at the airport, on the other side of security, and called the hotel. The housekeeping staff offered to get in a taxi to bring it to me (!), but I asked them to send it to me instead. A couple of days later, I gratefully received them in a UPS package. It was this small but very meaningful act of kindness that prompted me to submit this review. I can't wait to stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: note: entered room service, but I don't know whether they have room service -the site didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We always appreciate hearing what our business travelers think about our hotel and their stay. It was great to see that we made you feel at home. It is important to us that you feel comfortable and well taken care of when you with us and away from family and friends. We are fortunate to have great Associates that do everything they can to make our guests feel comfortable when they stay with us. Thank you for letting us know about the UPS package. Our housekeeping Associates know how important items left behind at the hotel can be for our guests. It was nice to see they went the extra mile to get you reunited with your electronic accessories.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo on business or pleasure.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Found this place to be very clean, comfortable, and the staff most attentive. The free breakfast was more than enough, and the wine/beer tasting was an unexpected treat. We used the hotel shuttle with ease.
It seemed to be a very family friendly hotel which more than met our needs. TV and Wi-Fi connections were great. I would definitely return.
Even though the bathroom was small and the sink was in the room, this did not cause any problem. The beds were quite comfortable with plenty of pillows. Good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beanie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It was good to see that you had the opportunity to experience our complimentary breakfast, wine/beer tasting reception and a chance to use the hotel shuttle. We provide these amenities to enhance the experience our guests receive when staying with us in San Luis Obispo. We are very proud of our town and we provide our complimentary shuttle service to make it easy for our guests to experience all our town has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Arrived to find our room had been cancelled by company we had booked through eventhough we had paid months before - from a comparison website!
Reception staff couldn't have been more understanding and the situation was resolved.
The rooms are a little outdated but very big and spotlessly clean.
The hotel is immaculate throughout and obviously very well managed.
Happy hour (or two) is brilliant with free beer and wine. The barbeque is excellent value with free salad when you purchase a main item - $6 for a steak sandwich with salad!
Breakfast is superb.
Definitely the best hotel we stayed in during our 16 days in California!

Room Tip: Asked for a quiet room and got 54 which was ground level by the pool and bedroom faced garden centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDDAVIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for telling us about your stay and posting a review on tripadvisor. We appreciated hearing that we were the best hotel you stayed at during your 16 days in California. I will pass along your kind words about our Associates that helped you during your stay. It makes us feel good to know that we were able to resolve a reservation concern for one of our guests and have them enjoy their stay. We know the opportunity to enjoy your vacation is important and all our Associates are here to help facilitate the enjoyment of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed for four nights.
This is a large Motel style property, just north of the centre of SLO which is easy to walk to in 15 min, parking is fairly easy in town or the hotel has a shuttle.
Staff were excellent, the free breakfast really set you up for the day and the evening drinks cannot be complained about!
The communal areas including the pool are also very well kept.

The one area that lets this the place down is suites themselves, they are very dated! Our suite and all suites throughout I think, look as if they were designed and completed in the late 80s/early 90s. Our suite was large and clean, but all the furniture/fittings (apart from the two brilliant flat screen TVs) looked like they were circa 90s and the sliding doors were a throwback to the 80s. The bathroom was small and clean and the shower had good power, but it is very small and is of the plastic all in one type, where even the tiles are 'faux' plastic tiles. I cannot fathom why a sink would be placed outside the bathroom in the bedroom! As a result of the age of the suites the plumbing is very noisy.

This suites in this hotel need to be completely renovated and redesigned, they are of a good size and it would be easy enough to sacrifice some space to put a decent bathroom in each, but of course this would be very expensive to update each suite.

I have to say the staff were excellent throughout, especially the cleaning crew, but the suites, the most important element, let this place down.

SLO is a fantastic place, incredibly friendly people and it is an excellent base for the central coast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for telling us about your visit and posting a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We agree that renovations and keeping our hotel updated is important. Renovation is a continual process at our hotel. Your comments and input help us to prioritize the direction and scope of our next renovation.

It was great to see you enjoyed our staff and the many amenities we provide to our guests. The ability to walk downtown is a convenience that is mentioned and appreciated by many of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,460 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
907 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $144 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing