We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel over 5 times in the last year and planned on returning many more. That was until last weekend when they tried to sell us a room for WAY too much money. Apparently EVERYONE and their mothers wanted to stay in SLO for the weekend (not sure what was going on). We were in town for business and have always enjoyed staying here (average place but for the low rate they gave with the corporate discount it was worth it). They explained that they had rooms available but would have to charge double what we were used to since it was a busy weekend. They didn't care whatsoever about our loyalty as customers, only that they could make the extra money. Well great, now we won't return\. It just makes you have a bad feeling when you get treated like second class citizens because they are having a busy weekend. Even if we weren't regulars I think it's horrible business practices to charge way too much for a 2 star hotel. People will always leave with a bad feeling if they feel they have been taken advantage of.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellikecrazy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. I can understand your frustration regarding the rate for the weekend you reference. We do not want to come off as disloyal to our regular customers. This particular weekend was for a special event that is structured differently than the rest of the time of the year. The special event going on that weekend was Cal Poly University graduation. Most of our guests make reservations a year in advance. We felt it is important to be consistent with the rate we provide our guests on that weekend. This does not allow us much flexibility with the rate when the day arrives and we have guest’s that cancel on short notice. I apologize that you felt we were being inconsiderate and not understanding your loyalty to our hotel. We hope that this will help you better understand our position and that you will continue to visit our hotel throughout the year based on your experiences prior to this past weekend.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    223
    53
    14
    6
See reviews for
305
199
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

When we arrived and saw the suite we could not believe it. We had a large, beautifully appointed sitting room, an equally large bedroom , granite covered kitchen work surfaces, microwave, fridge and a glass coffee table complete with pot plant! In addition, everything was immaculate. Rates included, a full cooked breakfast which offered a wide selection of excellent quality The room overlooked the courtyard and pool, around which was served, every evening, a very reasonably priced BBQ.As if that wasn't enough , from 5.00 till 7.30 each evening complementary wine and beer was served.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. It is good to see that you appreciate the value we provide our customers. My experience in traveling is that a lot of add-on expenses adds stress to a vacation and takes away the enjoyment. That is why we provide so many complementary and inexpensive amenities at our hotel. We want our guests to focus on the enjoyable aspects of their visit rather than feeling stressed about the sum total of what it is going to cost them. We hope to see you again so we can provide you another “amazing value for your money”.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

6/13 - There are many hotels available but none are big name hotels - but dont be afraid Quality Suits should be your go to. I stayed here with a friend in a king bed suite for 2 nights - although the rooms could use a facelift they are clean and comfortable. They have a living room area with a mini kitchen (microwave, refrigerator, sink) and then there is a bedroom with a bath. The services the hotel offer are amazing and the people working are so friendly and kind. We attended happy hour at the hotel from 5:30 - 7:30 each day, we used the free shuttle into town multiple times (great so we dont have to find parking) and we used the free wifi. There is also a free breakfast and parking. The pool is really well kept up and there are multiple courtyards you can lounge in and relax. Great place! I would highly recommend it! For more information on this hotel and slo see my blog: http://goshrooney.blogspot.com/2013/06/san-luis-obispo-california.html

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate that you recognized our “amazing services and amenities”. It was great to see that you included us in your blog. I took the opportunity to see what you posted on your blog and it looks like you and your family had a great time. It is nice to know that we contributed in providing your family an enjoy time together.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The king bed suite was clean and comfortable. Flat screen TV in both the bedroom and living room. Refrigerator and microwave in living area. Quiet on the third floor- only heard the plumbing from a nearby shower. Free wifi and parking. Pleasant outdoor seating, trees, and sun in courtyard around the pool area. Hearty complimentary breakfast choices with selection of bananas, oranges, and sweet local strawberries. Available whipped cream and strawberries to add to small breakfast waffle! Also complimentary happy hour in the evenings with large glasses of local Firestone Walker beer choices, wine and sodas- and crunchy nibbles. About 10 min walk to the Thursday night farmer's market- good exercise before and after all the food options! No need for room service or restaurant on site as many food options nearby.

Room Tip: Third floor building 3 for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It is great to see everyone enjoying the summer weather and the many outdoor amenities we provide here at the hotel. I agree with you, I think it is a very enjoyable and pleasant walk downtown to farmers market. It is nice to read that you enjoyed the Firestone Walker beer that we provide at our evening complementary beer and wine tasting reception. The Firestone 805 that we pour is also becoming more popular. You might want to give it a try the next time you are here visiting our hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in a king suite for one night in late May 2013. The room itself was a great size, and while sorely in need of an update (furniture was definitely from the 80s), it was all clean and well maintained.

Our bathroom wasn't great; the shower took a solid 5 minutes before warm water would come out, and bathroom door was broken and we got "trapped" in it several times.

That being said, this place has some fun perks- a bar with free wine and beer tastings daily, a gym, pool, fire pits, a convenience store, a good breakfast spread- that made it feel more like a condo complex than a hotel.

It was noisy and crowded, especially around the pool during the day, but the whole place was surprisingly quiet at night.

But the real positive of this place was the customer service. I left my personal pillows behind and left a voicemail about recovering them. They promptly returned my call, found my pillows, and mailed them back right away. Got it only 2 days later! Great customer service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cait D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at our hotel on tripadvisor. It was great to read that you found our customer service to be a “real positive”. I know all our Associates want to provide our guests with the best experience possible.

I would like to address the reference to the “80’s style furniture”. All of our carpets, chairs, sofas, beds, drapes and soft goods have been purchased within the last five years. Our intent with the furniture is to provide a more residential feel to our suites. We want our suites to feel more homelike to our guests when staying with us. We are in the process of making some furniture upgrades. We hope to have them in place by next year.

I hope you let one of our Associates know about the problems you are experiencing with your bathroom door. If not, please let us know so that we can get that door fixed.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had planned a romantic get-a-way for our anniversary. A drive through Big Sur in her new car (go BIG or go home). We rode the train from San Diego to SLO where we were picked up by hotel staff in the shuttle. The property is quite large and as requested we had a quiet location on the inside of the property. We arrived in time for the free Happy Hour and in time to see the BBQ. We sat with two other couples and enjoyed a glass of wine while they ate sandwiches and salad for $6. It looked fantastic but we had reservations for dinner. The drive to and from the restaturant was also furnished by the hotel staff which allowed us to have an extra glass of wine. The king size bed was very comfortable, made up with a very fluffy down comforter (if only I could make a bed like the maid). The next morning we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and I really can't see what Marina I. was talking about. Yes, they had a made to order omelet of fresh spinach, onions, cheese and mushrooms with bacon but they also had fresh strawberries, bananas, yogurt, toast, bagels and cereals. It just can't be any heathier with those choices. Our stay ended when we checked out at the front desk and asked for a ride to the airport. The desk clerk Christina said she would meet us out front and when she did she handed my wife the keys to the new car. Quite a surprise, thanks.

Room Tip: Our room was 321, a king inside courtyard. No traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill and Dana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel on tripadvisor. I have to say, in the 20 plus years that I have been the managing partner, your anniversary gift stands out as one of the most memorable experiences!

I appreciate your response to the complimentary breakfast items we provide. We provide a variety of selections that include some of the healthier choices that you mention. Thank you for letting us be a part of your anniversary experience.

We look forward to seeing you again. I can't wait to see what next year's anniversary gift is going to be.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend with our 9 and 12 year old children. They slept on the sofa bed which was fairly comfortable. We really enjoyed the complimentary happy hour and the outdoor reasonably-priced barbecue dinner. The courtyard where you can eat is nice with lots of plants, furniture and space heaters. We especially liked the complimentary breakfast buffet. Lots of choices including made to order eggs, yummy fresh waffles, warm syrup, strawberries and whipped cream (to the delight of my daughter!). We were impressed by the quality of the food. We also swam in the outdoor pool and sat in the hot tub; both were kept at a nice temperature. We will stay here again the next time we visit SLO!

Room Tip: If anyone's planning to sleep on the sofa bed it's right in front of the door. Folded out d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. We always enjoy hearing about the experiences that families have while visiting our hotel. We feel we are uniquely set up to provide both parents and children an opportunity to enjoy their time together. In the late afternoon and early evenings when the barbecue and complementary beer and wine reception are in full swing we regularly see our guests enjoying a great family experience.

It is nice to see that you had the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and that you were delighted by the quality of food.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you have the opportunity to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,600 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing