We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel in San Luis Obispo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Caxias Do Sul, RS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great hotel in San Luis Obispo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived late at night, very tired from a long trip. The hotel staff immediately found our reservation and directed us to our suite. Everything was in order and we slept peacefully. Breakfast was spectacular, with a variety that made everyone want to stay on for lunch. But we managed to leave for our next destination, with great memories of the hotel in San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATravelerGaucho44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciated hearing that our Associates did a good job in handling your late-night arrival. We are fortunate to have a very good group of Associates that do everything they can to help our guests during their stay. It was nice to read that you found our breakfast amazing. Providing great memories for our guests is very important to us. We are pleased to see that your visit provided you with great memories of our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    211
    51
    13
    6
See reviews for
288
193
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed at Quality Suites, SLO CALIF, while celebrating new year from NOCAL. Took 7 hr AMTRAK rail (more on that elsewhere). Great place to stay. Spacious, ultra clean, great full buffet breakfast, great pool,shuttle to train station and town center, efficient/friendly staff. Would stay again!
Train ride, SLO, Ciopinot's, AND Quality Suites... HURRAY!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmo7760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review our hotel on tripadvisor. We are delighted to that you decided to celebrate the New Year at our hotel. Over the last several years we have been providing our complimentary shuttle to downtown on New Years Eve. This allows our guests to celebrate the many New Year festivities that go on in town without the need to drive their cars. This has been very well received by our guests. Taking the train here was a great idea. With our ability to shuttle guests to the train station as well as to the downtown festivities makes a car unnecessary for many of our guests.

It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is the best hotel in SLO for visiting your student at Cal Poly or Questa. They give you so much for the $$--a hot breakfast w/eggs your style, bacon or sausage, fried potatoes, waffles, and in addition all the things you'd get with continental breakfast. Then 5:30-7:30pm is wine/beer hours--free Salmon Creek wine poured, all you want, with pretzel mix for a snack. Don't miss the hot cookies at the front desk that come out around 6 (you'll smell them!). And if you come with a group, there are places all around the pool and outside and inside to congregate with your group: 2 great couch firepits, many heatlamps, the inside library and bar area, and lobby.
Each clean room has a king or 2 double beds, and a hide a bed couch, and an private outside deck. The staff is professional and knowledgeable, and if you want a ride into town, they have a shuttle to fit 4 people--so no car if you don't want. And if you want a good margarita, just step next door to Pepe Delgados for some good cheap Mexican food.
This is the best place to stay in SLO!!

Room Tip: Be near the pool on the inner courtyard on the 1st or 2nd floor, as you'll be going into the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. I was good to see that you “got a lot for the money”. Providing a great value is as important to us as it is to our guests. We want our guest to come away feeling that they got more than their monies worth when they visit our hotel. From what I read it looks like you were able to experience our many amenities. Our whole package is what provides the greatest value.

Thank you for providing such a through review. We look forward to seeing you again.

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Quality Suites in San Luis Obispo is an outstanding hotel with customer satisfaction first in mind. Clean Rooms! Free hot breakfast, the real deal. Eggs, Bacon, waffles and more. Free open bar in the evening with good local wines and beer. Very Inexpensive Great fresh food cooked outside at the patio. Great shuttle service to downtown SLO.
Free DVD rentals. 24 hour shop to buy drinks, popcorn and pick up a free video. Staff is super friendly.
I could go on and on but to put it in a nutshell, "one of the most pleasant hotel stays I have had in 35 years of traveling"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was nice to read that you thought we were an “outstanding” hotel. We liked seeing that you have been traveling for 35 years and this was one of your top experiences. We have a great associates and a good property. Everyone does their best every day to make it as enjoyable as possible for our guest. It was great to see that you enjoyed the amenities that our hotel provides.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay here. Everything was clean, modern, and spacious. The complimentary breakfast included a egg cook, so you could get whatever you wanted. We like the two patios, one with the pool and the other called the 'quiet patio' that had a nice fountain. And it is nicely located only a mile from all the fun places downtown and a mile or so from Poly.

We both highly recommend the Quality Suites. They have all the charm of their nearby competitors at a fraction of the price. Definitely a 'best value'!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PalosVerdesGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. We are pleased that you thought we were a great value. We do our best to provide a great value for our guests. We want our guest to come and stay with us repeatedly. Since we provide our guest a great value they usually visit us many times. When we see guests continue to come back we feel like we are doing a good job and that is a great endorsement for the hotel and the services we provide.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Don't get me wrong, this is a good hotel with many perks. I like their happy-hour, their breakfast, but when it comes to checking special requests, and more importantly, correcting their mistakes, this hotel is sub-par. I was traveling with my elderly parents so we requested a quiet room. So where did they put us? - right under a staircase close to the laundry unit which was blowing out steam the whole time. Basically I think we got one of the worst rooms in the entire complex. And if the manager is reading this, go back to March 3, 2012 and you will recall our front desk conversations.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RobinLocksley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel and posting it on Tripadvisor. Yes, I do read all the reviews that are posted. I apologize that your request was not honored. I will cover this with our assocaites so that we do a better job in the future. I would like to let all our customers know if there is anything we can do to make their stay better to please let us know as soon as possible. We want to do our best to make sure all of our guest enjoy their stay at our hotel.

Thank you for alerting us to our mistake. We will take corrective action so that it does not happen again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family travels to San Luis Obispo a couple of times of year. This is a great choice, especially for families who want some extra space. Bedroom and seperate living area. Great hot breakfast and complimentary DVD rentals. Convenient location and many extra conveniences provided by hotel. Good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frugalguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate hearing that you found us to be an “excellent choice” as place to stay while in San Luis Obispo. It was good to see that you travel to San Luis Obispo several times a year and choose our hotel to enjoy time with your family.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing