We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our family of five--two adults and three kids ages 6 to 8--stayed here for four nights Thanksgiving week. It was a terrific deal for the price. The suite is not huge, but hey, its a suite, with two double beds, a sofa bed, and even another small sofa big enough for one of our kids to sleep on. The breakfasts are great (I loved the fact that I could get egg whites and veggies, or non-fat milk and cereal), and you can't beat the nightly barbecue. We fed our family of five on hotdogs, chicken sandwich, and garden burger for $13 (plus free drinks and cookies every night). Lots of nice outdoor tables and chairs with heaters and fires to relax in the evening The wireless works great (you only need to resign in every seven days), there's an onsite coin laundry, there's a fitness room, and free DVD checkout (we just watched Rapunzel with the kids). Oh, and did I say two TVs in the suite? The pool and hot tub are nice too. This is not a luxury hotel, but we found it very family friendly and enjoyable, and we'll definitely stay here again if we come to San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and posting it on Tripadvisor. It is nice for us to see families enjoying their time together at our hotel. Thank you for doing such a good job of describing all of our amenities. Many of the guests appreciate the value we provide with our BBQ. It was great to see that you were able to feed you family of five for $13. We are pleased to see that you found us to be “very family friendly and enjoyable”.
We hope to see you again the next time you are able to visit SLO.
Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    202
    51
    13
    6
See reviews for
276
188
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Convenient location. Simple and comfortable accommodations. The hotel has a pleasant and serene ambiance. No bellman to help with the luggage. Suite: large, comfortable, clean, very quiet. Bathroom: ok. Breakfast: cooked-to-order, good options (friendly guys). The hotel has a charming and peaceful central patio (Spanish style), excellent for relaxing, especially at night. Staff: polite. I recommend this hotel for families with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. It was great to see that you found our Hotel “excellent for relaxing”. We feel it is very important whether traveling on business or with your family to be able to relax during your visit. Your review provides a good description of what makes for a relaxing stay at the Quality Suites.

We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

A nice hotel,at first glance,freindly welcome stuff,free beer ,wine and soft drinkes at evening in the bar,nice young atmosphere but...small small room,we were 2 adults and 3 children,too croweded in one of their family rooms,very small bath and inside same room the w.c.,beds were not comfortable at all,and very very poor breakfast,so in total-you can consider to stay elsewhere if the room apperance,beds and breakfast are important to you!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I have a large family as well and I know that traveling with everyone poses some challenges. I have found that our suites worked better for our trips than a conventional hotel room. We do our best to accommodate all our guests. I apologize that you felt crowded when you stayed with us.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
263 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were spending the weekend in San Luis Obispo. We took the train from Santa Barbara to San Luis Obispo. Which I highly recommend because the train goes along the coast. The hotel has a free shuttle bus that picks you up a the train station. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and helpful. Our king bed suite had a living room and then separate bedroom with a bathroom. Very clean and comfortable. There is a manager's happy hour in the afternoon. There were a nice choice of beers and wine with some finger food. Even though you can walk to downtown in 15 minutes, we need to get downtown sooner, so the free hotel shuttle bus took us where we needed to go. We walked back to the hotel later in the evening and felt very safe. The next morning we had the made to order breakfast and it was pretty good....eggs, bacon & toast, coffee. There is juice, fruit & pastries also. We checked out of our room and had a few hours before taking the train back to Santa Barbara. The staff were so pleasant about storing our luggage. We had a great afternoon downtown and then took the free hotel shuttle back to the train station. This hotel offers the free shuttle bus, manager's happy hour, and breakfast. Along with a happy friendly staff certainly makes a lovely stay at the Quality Suites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. It was great to see that you came by train. We appreciate the guests that travel to our hotel by train because we feel it is a great way to visit SLO. By taking the train and using our shuttle service you save on the expense and carbon foot print of driving a car. We would like to see more of our guest visit by train. We hope that your review inspires them to give the train a try.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We hadn't booked and just arrived at the hotel. Very friendly service and were given a king suite - room was what you expect, nothing flash but very comfortable, clean and roomy. But what we were impressed with was the extra mile the staff went to and the free stuff - Internet, parking, happy hour, breakfast and even a couple of band aids! Would recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was nice to see that you came all the way from New Zealand to visit our hotel. We appreciate knowing that you were impressed with our "staff that went the extra mile" for you during your visit. We provide many complimentary amenities and it was great to see them listed in your review.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit SLO.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applegate, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is very well-run and while I have not stayed at any other Quality Suites before, would put this hotel in the running with a Marriott Fairfield or Hi Express. The staff is excellent, each night includes a complimentary reception, and food is served on the patio by the pool each night. Breakfast in included as well. The rooms are spacious with separate sleeping/living areas, which is a hug plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarkFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It was good to hear from another one of our business travelers. We have very attentive associates and they will appreciate that you found them to be “excellent”.
We hope to see you again the next time you travel to San Luis Obispo.
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a great hotel for a business trip! Nothing extravangant but everything is new, service is great and the room are very comfortable. Quality Suites thought of everything in anticipation of the traveler's needs and included them in their price:

Wine and Beer tasting
wifi access with free loaner equip
breakfast
2 flat panel TV's with cable
DVD player
DVD movies library
parking

Perfect setting to relax before the next day's meetings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5ZVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. It was great to see that you found us to be “a great hotel for a business trip”. We hope that the relaxation we provided you helped you be productive for your meeting the following day. Our associate feel they are doing a good job when they can help our guests relax and be more productive when they are here on business.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing