We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, immaculate and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We just booked last minute for a 2 night stay - got a lovely king suite- tv in each room, daily newspaper, kitchen facilities and nice bed /linen. Also, complimentary drinks each evening and breakfast daily, lots of choice and cooked to order section. Good pool outside, loungers and hot tub. Small fitness room plus laundry is needed. Nice outdoor seating with table top fire pits lit each night. Great reception staff, complimentary shuttle available too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tyneside37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate the way you described our suites so that other visitors coming the the area will understand the amenities and value we provide. We always like to find out what amenities our guests enjoy the most during their stay. You did a great job of telling us what you like about our hotel.

It was nice to see that you found our hotel to be a “great value for the money, immaculate and a good location”.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're able to visit San Luis of Obispo.

Thank you,

George New land
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 727 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Excellent facilities and breakfast. Very much reminds me of an Embassy Suites. Thoroughly pleased with our two-night stay. My only minor criticism is that room directions at check in should be more specific. The facility is large. and it took some doing to locate our rooms. Also more signs about the buildings to direct you to the dining area/front desk would be helpful.

Room Tip: We liked the back couryard which is quieter being away from the pool, cocktail service, etc.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoandJohn2041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. I was nice to read that you found us to have an “excellent facility and breakfast”. We appreciate you letting us know about needing more specific directions to locate your suite. We will work at doing a better job of providing direction to our guests at check in.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are able to visit SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have been working in the area the last few months and had been staying at the Comfort Inn across the street. This place has them beat. Yes it costs more, but you get what you pay for.
We had a pool-side room, but it was opposite the area near the lobby. Very quiet and peaceful.
I slept very well and was never bothered by noise.
The "Managers Reception" at the bar was nice, wine or beer from 5:30 - 7:30 every night for FREE. Don't waste your money on the BBQ, although basic it's very inexpensive. You'd be better served getting a sandwich down the street at Petra.
Everything here was first class, service was excellent and I was always treated with respect and kindness.
I really liked the FREE breakfast in the morning and using the FREE shuttle downtown was a great perk as well (why drive and search forever for a parking spot when they'll take you down there and pick you up).
I will be staying here again for my last few weeks in the area and am looking forward to it.

Room Tip: There is a 'quiet court' on the east side of the property if you really want a quiet area, b...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaAz-JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is great to hear from one of our long term guests. With the suite and the amenities we provide we have many guests that choose our hotel when they are going to be staying in SLO for an extended period. Nice to read that you got your monies worth when stay with us. We do our best to provide a great value to all our guests. Good to hear that you were able to take advantage of the shuttle for your trips downtown. The convenience of the shuttle is very popular with our guests.

Thank you for switching to our hotel and making the choice to stay with us.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

THis place had nice amenities, is in a nice location and a comfy bed but I couldn't sleep...

It was so noisy, I had to find an app on my phone that would block out noise. The housekeeping staff rattles around the inner courtyard with their carts, vibrating your room and making you think an earthquake is starting. You can hear everyone walking ABOVE you (don't get a lower floor) and I could hear the person above me walking and turning on water and bath. The bathroom is also located very inconveniently close to the bed, with only a pocket sliding door.

The property is in need of a remodel/update. There are big chunks of concrete missing in the pool . Our total for 2 nights was over $500 with tax for 2 nights and I expected a nicer place for that price. Next time I would definitely go somewhere else , like the Holiday Inn Express down the street for $140/night.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor for a quieter stay.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4DebsinCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for proving a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I was disappointed to read that you had trouble sleeping. We want all our guest to have an enjoyable stay during their visit. I apologize that your stay was not as restful as you would have preferred. I will review with our housekeeping department the need to keep the carts as quite as possible, particularly in the morning. Our pool is layered in fiberglass so I am not sure what is meant by the “chunks of concrete”. It was nice to read that you liked our amenities, location and comfy bed. We will work on making our suites as quite as possible.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were only stopping at San Luis Obispo on our way up to San Fran so got in late at night and left early in the morning. The hotel was perfect for that purpose. The room we had was great, spacious with a separate lounge room which was great to get ourselves organised. Breakfast was OK, not terrific but acceptable. From what we saw during the brief time we were there the rest of the facilities (pool etc.) looked great. And staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate reading that you found our suites to be “great” and the staff to be “very friendly and helpful”. We hope that the next time you visit that you are able to stay longer. We provide many amenities that we think you would enjoy. I addition, San Luis Obispo is a great town to check out and explore.

We look forward to seeing you again

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We are very frequent visitors to San Luis Obispo and this is our spot. My family and I have been staying here literally since the place was built, I'm guessing 20+ years ago.The property has been beautifully maintained the entire time. I love the layout with rooms arranged around a central courtyard. Now, let's get down to business. The staff is very friendly and got us settled right away into the room we requested. Even the housekeeping people are nice, but remember, you get what you give. You would never guess the age of the place from the rooms, they are very clean and well-maintained On my "would you walk around barefoot in this room" scale it's an 8 out of 10. The rooms are true suites with a sitting room with a pull-out couch if you need it and a bedroom with a real door in between. There are two TV's, one in each room. This is great for families. The sink area is part of the bedroom and is very roomy with the usual complimentary toiletries. The bath-toilet area is quite small, not for the claustrophobic, but it's navigable. The happy hour is generous and fun and you get a real breakfast in the morning, not the usual motel ready-made. Breakfast room seating is adequate but we prefer to sit outside. See the website for more. Any downsides? There always are. The staff really needs to control activity around the pool. This time we had to put up with three out of control kids and all we wanted was a cold beer and some peace and quiet after a long day's travel. In our room the air conditioning was pretty noisy but that can be fixed with a new unit - it's probably time. All things considered, I hope my long loyalty to this place will speak well for anyone wanting a very nice place to stay in San Luis Obispo.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room in the "quiet section" if you don't want courtyard and pool noi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your loyalty and for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests that visit us regularly. You did a good job of estimating when our hotel was built. Since opening over 20 years ago we have continued to invest in the property with regular updates, improvements and renovations. Many of our long time guests tell us that the hotel is better now than when it first opened. It was nice to hear that you found our associate to be friendly and the hotel to be “beautifully maintained”

We appreciate your loyalty and will continue the work hard to earn it every time you stay.

We look forward to seeing you again during you next visit to SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We were able to a room last minute for a weekend getaway. This was our second time staying here and once again, we were not disappointed. Lots of restaurants and nightlife within walking distance. Complimentary breakfast was very satisfying. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean. Happy hour around the pool and firepits at night are so relaxing. This hotel is a great steal!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicksChick08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I was nice to see that you had stayed here again and decided to come back and visit again. The opportunity to relax around the pool and fire pits during our complimentary beer and wine tasting reception is very popular with many of our guests. I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy it during your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit SLO.
Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,424 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
398 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
621 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $162 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing