We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT.........................AGAIN!! And it was better than excellent if there is such a thing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT.........................AGAIN!! And it was better than excellent if there is such a thing”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Beautiful, romantic, cleaner than clean, elegant, no charge all inclusive breakfast buffet, lovely flowered grounds, happy hour w/no chg wine and beer niightly , family bbq nightly for the lazy nights, hamburgers,hot dogs, steak sandwiches, Taco Tues all under $3.00 , high tech gym, really nice pool and jacuzzi surrounded by lovely garden furniture, firepits, and on and on and on. We have never seen a hotel so beautiful, staff so kind and attentive for the room rates they offer. Whenever we come with our twin grandaughters we feel like we are on vacation in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastrltor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Great to see your comments that we were "Perfect Again and better than Excellent !!!". We continue to work at improving our hotel so it was nice to see you remark that you found our hotel to be "Beautiful".

We look forward to seeing you and your granddaughters again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    223
    53
    14
    6
See reviews for
305
199
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

If you use all this hotel has to offer it can be a good deal. In addition to an expansive breakfast, there is free beer and wine in the evening, plus an inexpensive poolside BBQ. Parents often have a drink while watching the kids in the pool. The pool gets lots of use by children; at night there is a poolside fire pit. The hotel is more than 30 years old, but well maintained. The suites are a front and back room connected by a sliding door. One downside is that the bathroom door opens into the back bedroom. Anyone sleeping in the front room has to go through the bedroom to use the toilet. Also, anyone in the bedroom hears most of what goes on in the bathroom. In choosing a room, the rooms looking down on the pool will get pool noise and those on the ground floor around the pool have lot's of foot traffic in front of them. Every room opens onto an outside corridor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southwind3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It was good to see that you found our hotel to be a good deal. Our goal here is to provide a mix of amenities that gives couples, parents and children the opportunity to relax and enjoy their time together. It was great to see that what we provide worked well for you and your family.

We look forward seeing you again.

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

There's nothing wrong with the Quality Suites, but there's nothing that really stands out about it. The courtesy ride into the town centre was good and I was tempted by the free drinks in the evening but as it happened we were out so I can't comment on them.

Breakfast was a bit hectic - nice to have a free cooked breakfast but we found ourselves having to wait to find a free table.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishtraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments. Good feedback from our guests helps us make improvements to our hotel.

We look forward seeing you again.

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

i really liked the facilities available at this hotel which proved to be great value for money. Included in the suite price, in addition to the accommodation you get wifi, use of the pool, tea/coffee in lobby, free evening drinks (until 7.30pm I think) and a very good breakfast (bread/passtries, yougurt, fruit, cereals, cooked eggs, bacon, sausage etc.) Staff were helpful and informative. We had a two double bed suite with bathroom, bedroom and living area as well as a small balcony. There are two TVs (DVD player in the living room - you can borrow DVDs from the lobby shop) , storage, fridge. coffee maker, sofas desk, storage, The hotel also has a small shop selling drinks, ice cream, sweets etc. and there are laundry facilities available to wash and dry your clothes for a small fee if you need to do that (we found that very handy having been on the road for a week). There pool area is popular both during the day and during the evening. You can sit on the terrace and have drinks and the hotel does a barbeque in the evening until 8pm (nice basic food - hotdogs, hamburgers etc. and very reasonably priced). in the evening you can sit and chat on the terrace with the gas heaters going to keep you warm - it was very cool in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poliwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. You provided a very nice description of all the things we have to offer our guests. We are about 1 mile from the center of town and we do provide a shuttle to downtown for those that would like a ride rather than drive themselves or walk. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to try many of our amenities.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had a perfectly nice stay here, but given the ratings, I think I expected more. Staff was very nice, room was clean and breakfast was a nice bonus. But having stayed at 2 other true suites hotels on our way up and down the California coast, I have to say, these aren't really fully functioning suites. The rooms are a little cramped, and although there is a fridge, there isn't a real cooking set up. In order to make room for our son's pack n' play, we needed to move a heavy glass table under the desk. Light in the bathroom made a very strange buzzing sound. And we had 2 phones and a laptop, but the only free plug we could find was right next to the sink (not good from an electrocution or electronics preservation perspective)--we moved the heavy nightstand and unplugged a clock to recharge, but would have preferred not to. And the whole room (other than the flat screen tvs) felt a tad dated, like from the 80's. Again, nothing was really wrong here--just expected more from the ratings.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gottabetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I was sorry to hear that we were not exactly what you were looking for. Our hotel opened in 1986 and we have had several remodels since opening. We continue to invest to keep our suites as contemporary as possible. Our latest remodel was about 6 months ago. We now have all new furniture, carpets, drapes and Flat Panel TVs. We also installed new table lamps that have an electrical outlet at the base. This helps our guests with an easily accessible outlet for their electronic equipment.

We hope to see you again when you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Chose this hotel due to the great ratings on Trip Advisor, and it lived up to its reputation. The price was great for the amenities and when compared to hotels in the area. The full breakfast and evening happy hour felt like a backyard barbeque with friends. Everyone was so nice and friendly. Free DVD use was also a plus. I also loved the layout of the room. Although bit small, and not new, the room had everything we needed, and it also had a door between the King bed and the living area, which gave me and my husband, and my daughter, some privacy. We will be back and we will recommend it to all our friends. San Luis Obispo is a great town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodyody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are glad that you found our hotel. We have a good staff and a nice property. I enjoyed reading that we "lived up to our reputation" for good service and a great selection of amenities.

Great to hear that you will be back.

Thank you for recommending us to all of your friends.

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Excellent service and amenities plus the location make this a must stay. I have stayed here many times when I am in the area and I try to make sure to be there on a Thursday night when the farmer's market runs the length of the downtown! It is not like other farmer's markets ans well worth a look. The breakfasts at the hotel are hearty and there is plenty to choose from. They do BBQs around the pool and have manager receptions in the evenings giving guests chance to meet each other and share travel notes. If you are traveling alone, or have trouble putting yourself forward, this place will make your travel stories much more interesting. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlynnsterSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I appreciate what you said about our Farmer's Market. The Thursday night Farmer's Market is more of an "event" with many things to do and see. Your comments help guest visiting us understand that it is worth making special arrangements to come visit on a Thursday night.

Nice to see that you think of us as a hotel that is "must stay" while in San Luis Obispo.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,601 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing