We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool building, really nice Inn Keeper, no problems”
Review of Garden Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

It has been 3 years since I have visited SLO. Since I have been back I have stayed at several hotels but this one is my favorite so far. As for rooms, I have stayed in three different rooms and I enjoyed them all for different reasons. I love the claw foot tubs and the water gets super hot. They are kind of tricky to understand at first so beware, I burned myself a few times. First I stayed in the Moon Valley, then Dollie McKeen then the Emerald Isle. I love how big Dollie McKeen is and the bathtub is luxurious. There is an interesting story about Dollie McKeen on the website too. I love how Emerald Isle has it's own rear entrance and patio. The Inn Keeper John is super nice and helped me with more than one project that came up during my stay. I bought a bike to cruise around on and he busted out the tools and tuned it up for me in about 10 minutes. I decided to stay in SLO a lot longer than originally anticipated because of the warm hospitality I received. I wish the price was just a little lower.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeviinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 200 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

I had previously written a very critical review of this Inn. I was then contacted by the Innkeeper with an apology and was informed all issues had been remedied. I wanted to let other readers know of this gesture.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

As everyone else has said, the Garden Street Inn has the best location in SLO. However, the service didn't even make that worthwhile. Here were our issues:
Day 1: the garbage wasn't emptied and the toilet hadn't been flushed when they cleaned the room (prior to our check in), 2 lights were burnt out, and the shower handle broke off
Day 2: Breakfast consisted of soggy eggs and barely cooked french toast. We also didn't receive clean towels until after 5pm (when we were literally begging for them because we were mean to meet some friends AT 5pm)
Day 3: We left at 6am
Prior to this review, I called Garden Street Inn and left two messages for th owner/manager to call me in an attempt to resolve these issues. He never returned my calls.
I understand the building is old, and that is part of the charm but it is no excuse for the inability to maintain the place to it's full potentional. Rates are good, but not good enough for this garbage.
I recommend you chose one of the other much better suited B&Bs in town - although you may have to walk an extra 4 blocks (just works off all the yummy food & wine available to you or justifies another glass ;o)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TaTa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Suprised to read some of the negative reviews here....... I will try to redress the balance.

We had no idea what to expect in SLO - was one of the few places on our list that we picked based upon convenience of location (we were heading to Hearst Castle the day after), rather than any interest in visiting the town.

Firstly for the town - we were fortunate that our plans fell on arriving in SLO on a Thursday. This is market night, so up and down the high street were plenty of people, plenty of beer, and plenty of food. A really nice feel to the town, and our biggest suprise location of our trip.

To the hotel.......... it appears very old, but not in a dated way. It was clean, had wireless, our room (The Lovers) had a huge bath, and the breakfast was really good. We did not feel that it needed decorating at all. Really nice touches with the detail of the decorating.

We needed some things printing for trips we had coming up that we had booked whilst travelling, and even though the manager was busy with kitchen work, they assisted us and got our information printed.

The only reason for not getting a 5 from us was the parking. Unfortunately there was no on-site parking, although there was room out the front to unload/load the luggage. The parking was in the multi storey car park round the corner. As we arrived just as the market was starting it meant we had to park at the top, which was a bit of a pain.

However due to the great location, and everything else it had going for it, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fats25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The good news: the location is great. Bad news: it's seen better days. Breakfast is what you could get at Denny's, it desperately needs a coat of paint, we never saw the owners and I wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ch1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Really expensive ( $218 ) Sub Denny's breakfast, small beds, dirty carpets, not real clean, tiny little shower, charming but not real useful and a little loud. Walking distance to the center of town but I would'nt stay here again. Just paying for old is not worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pacificstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

A fine old inn is marred by being located off the main drag of a college town. On a weekend night it will sound like you are trying to sleep while a game of beer pong is happening in your room. It's a shame because otherwise this is a very nice place. I just could not wait to get home to get some sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrefersPOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
733 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
SLO Brew Lofts
SLO Brew Lofts
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
888 reviews
1.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Street Inn

Address: 1212 Garden St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3914
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $156 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo on the Central California Coast, The Garden Street Inn is just steps from all the sights, sounds, shopping and history of vintage San Luis Obispo. This nostalgic college town surrounded by the natural beauty of the rolling hills and coastal valleys is a short drive from Avila and Morro Bay, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and artistic Cambria. Golf, tennis, biking and hiking opportunities abound. The myriad local tourist attractions including world renowned vineyards and wineries, California Missions, Museums and Beaches, make SLO a wonderful choice for a vacation getaway.Classic decor reflects Victorian charm in the 9 guest rooms and 4 suites of this San Luis Obispo Boutique Hotel - all with private baths, appointed with antiques, some with jacuzzi tubs and historical, cultural and personal memorabilia. The staff at the inn prepares a delicious breakfast each morning which is served in the McCaffrey Morning Room surrounded by original stained-glass windows.With spacious outside decks, a well-stocked Goldtree Library and well appointed accommodations, our San Luis Obispo staff in residence is proud to host your romantic interlude or a relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Garden Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Street Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing