We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sturgeon Bay
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent Property!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I recently stayed at this property for six nights and loved it! It's a nice hotel with well-appointed rooms, a large, gorgeous outdoor pool area, a nice restaurant and bar, and super friendly staff. The hotel was exceptionally clean. You have excellent walking trails right outside the hotel in the hills. The restaurant food was surprisingly good--much better than some Courtyards I've stayed at, so I was impressed. The pool has a large cabana and lounge chairs. There is a small, less impressive whirlpool. My only small complaint is that breakfast was not comped for Gold Elite members (not sure if it was for Platinum members?), as it is at most Courtyards, so be warned. Be sure to check out the most excellent wine list at the bar! They feature all their local wines, and they were outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanclaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Vanclaners,

It is so good to hear how much you enjoyed you extended stay with us and that we met and exceeded your expectations. We are lucky to be surrounded by such beautiful scenery and have walking paths accessible to our guests. When you return to San Luis Obispo, we would love to serve you again. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you soon!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    166
    72
    13
    13
See reviews for
162
103
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here on the night of the 24th December. Unfortunately, our first room was above, or very close to, the ventilation system for the restaurant, and the low frequency humming/grinding noise was going to make sleeping an impossibility for my other half. After a quick discussion, she went and spoke to the nice man at Reception who apologised and immediately rehoused us to the other side of the building, where it was very quiet.
The room was clean and comfortable, no complaints there, certainly not for the short period which we would be staying for.
On christmas morning, the staff were insanely cheerful. By that, I mean that I was expecting miserable faces from people who were having to work on that particular day, but no! Very friendly, very helpful, and the breakfast was pretty damn good. Plenty selection, plenty advice, and if they had their way, we would have had to be rolled out the hotel.
A genuinely pleasant experience, and a great place to break up our drive down the Pacific Highway.

Room Tip: Opposite end of the building to the restaurant may help avoid noise from the ventilating system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormachtig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Stormachtig,

What wonderful comments about our service staff! Thank you so much for sharing your pleasant experience regarding your stay at our property. I am glad to hear you had a nice Holiday and it gives me great pride to know our staff made your stay that much more enjoyable. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments along to my front desk staff and well as the serving restaurant staff. If you are ever in the area again, we would love for you to stay with us. See you soon!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Besides the awkward and somewhat unsmiling and unhelpful service , this courtyard lives up to marriott standards. It's very well kept, and clean even though it's decor is dated, hasn't had a renovation in a long time, perhaps, but the bed and bedding were excellent. The bathroom clean. The pool area was very clean, the whole hotel was clean and even charming.
Our goal was to soak at the sycamore hot springs and sleep on a comfortable bed. Accomplished!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sm_art_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear sm_art_1970,

I am glad you found your time with us relaxing. Although only 6 years old, our hotel is scheduled for a renovation very soon. I am sorry our service at times was not satisfactory. Our priority is welcoming and assisting all our guests so it is disappointing to hear you did not feel you received that service. If you are ever in the area again, we would love to have the opportunity for a second chance to serve you. Thank you for sharing your comments as it is the best way for us to see room for improvements.

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here during Thanksgiving week on our way to the Bay Area. We took Amtrak from Los Angeles to San Luis Obispo and decided to stay in SLO rather than San Simeon for our side trip to Hearst Castle. The Courtyard is about 3 or 4 miles from the train station, next to a beautiful open space preserve called Irish Hills, and one freeway exit away from the Madonna Inn. There is ample free parking; the staff is very welcoming and gracious; and unlike many other Courtyards which have converted their on-site restaurants to "The Bistro" model, this Courtyard has retained its Courtyard Café, (at least for now), which we greatly prefer. We enjoyed a great dinner there on our first evening in town. Many other guests were enjoying the fireplace in the adjacent lobby bar. We had an accessible room with two queen beds, which was very spacious, with plenty of counter and closet space, a refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was also very spacious. It was a little too chilly to use while we were there, but the hotel also has a beautiful outdoor pool area. We paid a military rate of $84.00 per night and $10.08 in taxes and fees per night - extremely reasonable.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the pool should be nice. The accessible rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJCLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear SJCLawyer,

What wonderful comments! Thank you so much for acknowledging the excellent service our staff provides to all our guests. It is our top priority to accommodate and welcome everyone who walks in our doors and I am pleased you felt satisfied with our service and your stay. Please make sure to come visit us again if ever you return to San Luis Obispo.

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed 1 night using my reward points during a roadtrip to San Simeon. The hotel was clean and well maintained. It's a convenient location close to restaurants/shops and highway 101. Our room had two queen beds, mini frig, microwave. We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. There was some noise from the pool until about 9pm but then it quieted down (no problem as far as I was concerned). The view of the hills/mountains was nice. The heater/AC is on the loud side, so we finally just turned it off for the night. Unfortunately, the bed was super-bouncy, every time my husband or I moved/turned over the bed would shake and wake the other person up. Probably the WORST hotel bed I've ever slept in.

Room Tip: I would request room NOT facing highway 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear craftywriter,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have quite a few amenities we offer our guests and you are absolutely right that our hillside view is peaceful and serene. I am sorry you experienced some difficulties with the bed. We just recently upgraded all of our mattresses so it is possible you had a stay with one of the few left to exchange. If you are ever in the area again, please come by for a visit and you will notice the difference in the quality of our new mattresses.

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Located a couple of miles from the middle of San Luis Obispo and in the neighborhood of a few other low priced hotels the Marriott Courtyard was pretty much what I expected for the money - which is a good thing.

From my perspective they met expectations and did not make any unfulfilled claims. The hotel is comfortable, convenient. clean and reasonable value for money.

If I was to visit the area again on holiday I might try to find a place closer to the center of town, possibly with a bit more character. This time we were just passing through and getting a bit hotel weary so just wanted somewhere easy to stay - this met our needs.

Room Tip: It seems like a quiet area and there are access doors convenient for most areas of the car-park so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3rdimension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear 3rdimension,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear we met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are ever in the area again we would love for you to stay with us!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juaners
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were driving back home from spending time in Monterrey and Carmel area and decided to stop over in San Luis Obispo. Our decision to stay here was influenced by a gift certicate we had been given.
Overall, I was pleased. Our room with king size bed had a decent size desk, a sofa and a big bathroom. The room as well as the property is clean.
Things to keep in mind, it is outside the city center, and you will need a car to get around. It is adjacent to the freeway entrance, so it's convenient to get in and out quickly.
Overall a good stop over to break the long scenic drive.

Room Tip: Across the hotel there's a diner with really good food. You can walk over from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Juaners,

You are right that we are the perfect destination stop during a long scenic drive along the pacific coast and what a beautiful area this is! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our property meeting your expectations. Please visit us again when traveling this way!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
712 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
597 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,381 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Property: Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Marriott
San Luis Obispo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing