We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We had a quick overnight stay here in July and it was just great. The room was very comfortable, even for 4 of us (including my two near-teenage sons). The hotel is quite new, so everything is in great shape. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and the shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water. The front desk was very cordial, and quite accommodating. The only thing we didn't like was that breakfast was not included in our room, and the on-site restaurant facilities are pretty sparse. As in there weren't any. They did have a nifty little snack closet that you could buy a few snacks from by the front desk... good for a quick chocolate fix! Overall a very reasonable rate for a nice, comfortable hotel. We will definitely be back when we are SLO again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FolsomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 440 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2008

Like other contributors, we stayed in San Luis Obispo because it is a good halfway stop between San Francisco and Los Angeles. We had a good experience at this hotel. The staff was very friendly, the room (two Queen beds) was very good, and the pool ideal for the children (with good service from the bar in the hotel). If you don't want to eat in the hotel then there are a number of restaurants about a mile down the road. There is also a Borders and Best Buy nearby for stocking up on books, CDs and DVDs for your journey. Since the hotel is just off the US101 resuming your journey in the morning is very easy. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Globetrotter006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

Stayed here for one night as a stopover between SF and Santa Barbara with our two young children (4 and 5). We loved it. We had a garden room (110) which had direct access to the pool area which was great with the children. Room was very spacious and clean. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent and good value. Wish we had stayed longer. Recommended for any families.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sienaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Just returned from a vacation out west. We spent one night at this hotel on our travel down from San Fran. to L.A.. We were very impressed . The room was very spacious and very clean. My husband even made a comment saying that the hotel looked like it was recently built. The staff was friendly, but not as friendly as the other Courtyards we had stayed at during our 15 day trip. Overall, it was a great place to stay, and San Luis Obispo is a wonderful little town. Would have liked to spend another night .

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LCB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed here with my daughter and her boyfriend. We had two rooms, one of which looked out over the parking lot, the other over the pool.

Reception was very helpful and quick. We were able to check in early, which we very much appreciated. The rooms were spotless and very well appointed, with really comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms. TV and internet were easily accessible.

We didn't spend any time in the lobby or restaurant, but we appreciated the easy parking. The location is quiet... not downtown, but anyone who comes to SLO is going to have a car, so it's a fine location. Within walking distance of Margie's diner, which has great breakfast.

The one little flaw in the whole experience was the swimming pool. It was the middle of July and the pool was not very clean. The water was murky (just a little) and there was algae growing around the edges and corners. It was enough that we got in... and then got out almost immediately. No one else was swimming that afternoon, and that might be why.

Despite the poo, we had everything we wanted, the beds were comfortable and it was a near-perfect hotel stay for a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank YucatanLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmslo, General Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2008

Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel. I want to explain why our pool was not so clean during your stay. While you were with us you may remember we were experiencing quite a bit of ash from the fires that were to the north and south of us. The volume of ash continuously entering the pool created the not so clean conditions. Thankfully the fires have been controlled and the quality of air has returned. Our pool is back to being clean and filled with guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Everything about my week-long stay here has been great. Comfy room and bed, quiet (well-insulated), good climate-control, all helped me get the rest I needed. I also appreciated the coffee/tea available in the lobby 'round-the-clock and the freshly-made cookies that greeted me each afternoon upon my return. And all the staff were so kind, friendly, and helpful. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

My friend and I were going for a girl's extended weekend to SLO and found a good price on the Courtyard. We had a lot of fun activities planned for the area (wine tasting, hiking, mineral springs) so we didn't care that much what the room was all about.

But the Courtyard was a bit better than expected. It had nice touches that gave it more a regular Marriott feel than a Courtyard, like the flat screen TV, granite counter in the bathroom, recessed lighting. We were pleasantly suprised. It also had a balcony as well which was nice on a cool morning to sit out on and enjoy the air as we waited for each other to get dressed. But we did have to drag the desk chair out there as they don't have any outdoor chairs provided (a minor negative.) The shower was also nice - but the only other negative would be that it didn't have enough shelves or alcoves to put our things INSIDE the shower. Not sure what kind of a room we had - we were on the second floor and it only had a shower, not a tub/shower combo. But it didn't seem like an ADA room. If a tub is important, be sure to ask when booking.

There was ample parking. We also enjoyed the closer access to our rooms via multiple doors.

Enjoyed the spa and jacuzzi as well. It seemed like a place where you could have a fun group gathering - I saw a group of people meet there and share a bottle of wine (you have to be outside the pool for any type of wine or glass usage though - but the staff seemed to help them set up what they needed.) Other families were sitting outside at the tables, chatting, having a good time. The wireless access also meant people relaxing after a day of work could sit out at the pool but check their e-mails as well.

Regarding the internet access - they do give you a slip of paper when you register that had access code. If you require internet, make sure to ask about it because it wasn't a normal 'free' internet process. The password slip of paper is something you don't want to lose. I did and it was a pain to call the desk to get the password again.

The location was good too - although I know it would have been nice to stay inside the walkable area of SLO. But for where we were going, we needed a car most places anyways. It was only a few exits away from downtown SLO and we were able to find parking even on the busy Thursday Farmer's Market night.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ajinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
733 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
632 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $140 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Courtyard
San Luis Obispo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing