We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed numerous times at the hotel for family vacations. Usually get the suite, so we have a king bed in a separate room, and my daughter and a friend use the pull-out sofa bed in the main room. Has nice bathroom, microwave, frig, coffee maker, long counter for prepping any lunches or breakfasts if you want to eat in. The pool area is lovely, plenty of seating and some shade. It is up against a rural hillside with fields and horses grazing next the hotel. Not far from restaurants and downtown SLO. Go on a Thursday for the awesome Farmer's Market!

Room Tip: Suite on bottom floor is close to pool entrance, other suite is next to elevator (too noisy for us)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Otter1:
Your kind remarks of our property are heartwarming and greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and what great advice regarding visiting the Farmer's Market on Thursdays. It means a lot to us here at the Courtyard by Marriott in San Luis Obispo that you were satisfied with your stay. I hope your future family vacation is around the corner so you may visit us during the holidays and see our decorations. Thank you for making us a part of your family vacation and we hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard San Luis Obispo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 435 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

great location- easy on and off freeway ---easy route to wine country, san simeon, beaches. Hotel staff was helpful ----does NOT include free breakfast....does have a restaurant and lounge. nice ambience in lobby including the fireplace going at night. hotel lounge was small but nice and welcome --nice addition, where some smaller hotels wouldn't have and don't include them. good value for the dollars.

Room Tip: don't know
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiTaylor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear DiTaylor2013:
We greatly appreciate your wonderful review of our hotel! The fireplace does add a nice touch to our Courtyard Lounge and it means so much to our staff to know that our services were noticed and appreciated. I will be passing along your positive comments to our staff. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely comment on your stay with us and we hope you return for another visit very soon!

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hotel may not be the latest renovated Courtyard but at least they have an in house restaurant offering a proper menu.
We were delighted by our stay here
Great staff at reception, bar and restaurant
Food was good for diner and breakfast was also good.
Location cannot comment much as we were driving from SFO to LAX in a few days
Room was good maybe a bit dark (ground floor) but nothing to complain about.

We stayed at a few hotels in CA and this one is among the best we experienced !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maldivianairtaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Maldivianairtaxi:
Wow! What a wonderful comment and thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us as that is very important to us. I am so pleased that you found our service satisfying and I will make sure to pass along your positive comments to our staff. I hope for your next visit you will have some time to enjoy the town of San Luis Obispo as well. Our staff is very familiar with the area and can give you some great recommendations. We will also be renovating this property very soon. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Picked this hotel because we had Marriott points to cover one of the nights and were tired of staying in cheap hotel while visiting our son at Cal Poly.
Were delighted to see that this place was worth the money. Our rate for the night we had to pay was a little over $235 for the two of us. The room was large, clean, well appointed and offered a nice pool view.
The room was spotless and the air-conditioning pleasant during the summer heat. Rooms were quiet and we did not hear any noise, even thought the hotel was entirely filled during our stay. Bathrooms were updated with marble countertops but only one sink. Shower was nice and strong. Products for use were Paul Mitchell, they offered a good hair dryer and there were thick plush towels.
Would not plan to eat at their restaurant or hang at their bar, there are many more fun choices in town.
We got an excellent rest and felt it was worth the 5 minute drive out of downtown to stay here. Front desk was pleasant and very efficient. No waits, prompt service and friendly cleaning crew. The free parking is nice too, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lili B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear LiliB95125:
What a fabulous review of our hotel. Thank you so much for your comments and taking the time to let us know how pleasant your stay was with us! It means so much to us that you enjoyed our property and all we have to offer our guests. Our staff will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed their services. It's so important that our guests have a satisfying stay and comments like yours put a big smile on all our faces. We can't wait to have you come visit us again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a really nice property that has great views of the surrounding area. There is a lot of open space and you can spot a lot of the local wildlife from the parking lot. It is a relaxing place to be after a day working.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scooterc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Scootercl:
You are so right! We have quite an abundant variety of wildlife in the area surrounding the hotel including horses, deer, owls, and hawks. I like to think of this location as very relaxing too and am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay after a hard day’s work. Our hillside and pasture views are a great remedy to an otherwise stressful day. If you have further business in this area, we would love to have you stay with us again! Thank you again for such wonderful comments and taking the time to review our hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed a couple of times here on a Friday night to go into downtown and enjoy the nightlife in SLO. The front desk is very helpful and the rooms are fairly quiet. They are large and clean. They have a full bar in the lobby and serve breakfast (not included with room). The breakfast didn't look wonderful and with the Apple Farm right up the way, didn't try ti.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimDevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear KimDevers:
I am so glad that you chose our hotel to stay with while you visited San Luis Obispo and enjoyed your visits with us. We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and the service of our staff. It is wonderful to have our travelers recognize our efforts! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay and we hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way driving down the coast, so just stayed one night. The accommodations were more than sufficient: clean comfortable rooms, free wi-fi, warm heated pool, great staff helped to check us in.

My only complaint about this location was the breakfast. For $11.00 for breakfast, I wish it was tastier. The coffee was cold and bitter (even after I asked for a new cup full), the eggs tasted like sawdust. I wish I had driven into town and had breakfast instead.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KtLadyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear KtLadyBug:
Thank you for your mentions of our helpful staff and clean rooms. I am sorry your breakfast was not as enjoyable. Our heated pool and free wifi makes our guests' stays all that more enjoyable and I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. I am so glad to hear our staff was helpful at check-in and will relay the message on to them as I am sure they will appreciate hearing your positive comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I hope you return to our property again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
727 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
625 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $150 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Marriott
San Luis Obispo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing