We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel outside of city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northridge,CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel outside of city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are ok with staying outside of SLO and not in the center this is a pretty decent choice. It's located right off the 101. My wife an I went all over the central coast for a long weekend so the location was fine. Looked like most Courtyard by Marriotts. Front desk was very nice and always willing to help. The free Wifi was really spotty on my cell, laptop, and wife's ipad. Not really a big deal since we were on vacation and just wanted to check the weather and places to visit. Would stay here again next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back so you are farther away from the 101 FWY
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottinLA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear ScottinLA550,
Thank you for sharing your stay experiences, and for choosing our hotel! We know you are a frequent traveler, and appreciate you taking the time to leave us a comment. I am glad that our super-friendly Front Desk staff was able to accommodate you during your stay! I also want to assure you that we have just updated our internet provider, so during your next visit you will notice easier internet access on your wireless devices. Thanks for staying with us, and we look forward to having you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    156
    68
    12
    12
See reviews for
150
96
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

A pretty typical Courtyard, with an updated lobby & cafe. It's a bit outside of town, and very convenient to Hwy 101. If you're looking for something close to the city center, this may not be your best choice. All in all, no complaints--a decent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveFromBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear SteveFromBoulder,
We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your travels to San Luis Obispo, and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. You are right, we are about a five minute drive from downtown, but we do offer Courtyard amenities and a variety of business close by that keep our guests coming back time and time again! Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Pros:
Lobby was nice with fireplace and free water/coffee
Free parking
Clean room
Breakfast buffet a good value
Food was good
Staff nice and helpful
Microwave and fridge in room
Paul Mitchell hair products
Close to airport/train station
Room nicely decorated and good comforters
Free wifi

Cons:
Heater was really loud
Elevators were in a weird location
Limited hours in their restaurant, small menu
Not a full service hotel for meetings (limited staff)
Just off of freeway, not near the city, nothing much in walking distance
Right next to Motel 6

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear SunnyDTraveler,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a response in regards to your last stay with us. We appreciate the helpful comments, and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed our amenities including the restaurant, wifi, lobby, and other goodies that keep our guests coming back on a regular basis, and we hope you are one of them! Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petaluma ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have stayed at Courtyards all over the country and this one is really one of the best.Large lobby with fireplaces and interesting information about the area and comfortable reading area.

Service

Service Select one 1 2 3 4 5

Excellent



Value

Value Select one 1 2 3 4 5

Excellent



Sleep Quality

Sleep Quality Select one 1 2 3 4 5

Excellent



Cleanliness

Cleanliness Select one 1 2 3 4 5

Poor



Location

Location Select one 1 2 3 4 5

Excellent



Rooms

Rooms Select one 1 2 3 4 5

Excellent











Spa

Spa Select one 1 2 3 4 5

Excellent

Room Tip: Very Nice Place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrisPetalumaCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear harrisPetalumaCa,
We are so please to get a five-star review from a travel expert as yourself, thank you! I am glad that you were able to use and explore our lobby area, as we try to make it as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Also, welcome to TripAdvisor, and thanks for commenting on your stay with us first! See you again, and thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times for work. The staff is very nice. The hotel is very clean and quiet. There is a good amount of food and shopping near by. Unfortunately, during my recent stay my car was broken into. Fortunately, nothing of importance was stolen. My passenger window was completely smashed. Not a good call to get in the morning from the staff. That being said the staff was very helpful. They cleaned up all the glass in my car and covered my window the best the could for my 4+ hour drive home.
I am sure this does not happen very often at this hotel it is in a very nice area. I am sure I just had some bad luck. I would recommend parking the the front of the hotel. I will stay at this hotel again. I will just make sure nothing of value is left in my car and I will park in the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckiandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear BeckiandJames,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your last stay, thanks you!!! We are so sorry that your car war broken into; I remember that incident as that has not happened before. I am pleased to hear that our staff was able to assist you with this inconvenient incident, and I am I glad that you will be returning to our hotel! Thank you for continued business, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed at Courtyards all over the country and this one is really one of the best. We arrived after a long road day and from the moment we walked in the door it was totally relaxing. Nice, helpful staff and the room was great. We usually stay in a two room suite and this one was near the elevator. We arrived on a wine tasting day so that was a nice extra perk. Used the pool frequently. My only negative comment is that there was no bistro like in many other Courtyards, so we ate dinner out. Breakfast was good however in the current eatery. Great location, kind of secluded. The desk folks pointed us to some nice hikes nearby and we had a great time overall.

Room Tip: Reserve ahead as much as possible as it is sold out frequently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Clark A,
We are so honored to get a five-star review from a frequent traveler such as yourself! I am pleased to hear that the Front Desk was able to accommodate you with helpful information about the local area; there are definitely a lot of good hiking trails close by! We have wine tastings on a monthly basis, and I am glad that you were there on one of those days, who can turn down great local wine?! Thanks for choosing our hotel for your relaxing stay, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montara, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This Courtyard was way above expectations. Large lobby with fireplaces and interesting information about the area and comfortable reading area. We had a pretty and well furnished room, with the usual Marriott bed that is so-o-o-o hard to want to leave, ample electrical outlets, free wi-fi, and really enthusiastic service.

We were on our way from San Francisco to a resort in Southern California - after we saw the room, we said, "Why do we want to go further? This is perfect." The view was only of the parking lot - but so what.

The other great thing is that we were there on a Thursday night - when San Luis Obispo gets serious about Farmer's Market. The main street is closed for about 6 blocks worth of produce, food ready to eat, political booths, informational booths, massage opportunities, and a different small band of musicians on nearly every cross street. Don't miss Thursdays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggiejake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Maggiejake,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property! Most people continue to make the drive from SF to LA, but you made a wise choice staying with us; especially on a Thursday night!! Farmer's Market is one of my favorite activities in town, and I am glad that you were able to go. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Property: Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Marriott
San Luis Obispo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing