We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving with the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving with the Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The rooms were excellent very clean and nice the staff was very helpful and nice. I was kind of disappointed that you had to pay for a breakfast but overall our stay was great and would absolutely stay there again Thank You for the great weekend everyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Deare HollyL,
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your Thanksgiving Weekend! We are excited that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and kind comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    162
    71
    13
    13
See reviews for
158
101
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, very clean and welcoming. This was my first stay here. It seemed business friendly. It was close to Target, Costco and several restaurants. Right off the highway but still a short drive to Pismo beach. If you want to be closer to the beaches, look for another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicksChick08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear RicksChick08,
Thank you for the five-star rating, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay! You're right, there is no beach in the immediate area, but the closest beaches are within a 10/15 minute drive. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for the first time, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel was recently built, and the reception area and rooms are all modern, open, and fresh. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Free wifi is great, fireplace in the lobby was nice on a chilly morning. However, we could hear the guests in the next room laughing, and the folks walking upstairs sounded like a heard of elephants or an earthquake. We're surprised that this new hotel wasn't built with better sound-proofing. Lots of parking. Delicious BBQ place nearby called the Ribline.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor to avoid noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socali123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Socali123, thank you very much for the comments regarding your last stay at our property. Your feedback is very important to us, and we appreciate you taking the time to make these comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the staff, lobby, and surrounding area, and I apologize that your room location was noisy during your stay; I have followed up with my Maintenance Supervisor in regards to this issue. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and if you have any questions or comments, please feel free to contact me directly at (805) 602-9003.

Regards,

Amanda Cretcher - FOM
Courtyard by Marriott - San Luis Obispo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here on a vacation touring the coast. The waitress in the restaurant was really helpful and friendly. The food was great. We were too tired to go out and I am glad we stayed in. The room was comfortable and clean. We had no issues with the hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: I always prefer a top floor in a corner for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yomamalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very good first impressions of the actual hotel upon arrival. There were free cookies and Hot Drinks and Internet Access available in a sort of foyer area that lead onto the dining area.

Rooms were good, clean and spacious with the bathroom also equally clean. The laundry services were excellent, especially as the dryer was broken so you could use it for free :P

The pool area was good, nice sized pool, a cute jacuzzi and plenty of sun beds

We went out each night for dinner but the breakfast food was good enough. Plenty of choice including all the usual Bacon, Egg, Toast and Cereals etc

Make sure to get a room high up though

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammie-Jo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This time, I had my younger brother drive his car up the coast on Sat. October 6th, 2012 to visit San Luis Obispo and Nipomo (Can You Say 'Jocko's Steakhouse'?) at the same time visiting my dear friend 'The Polar Bear' who was also visiting SLO with his Church group while he stayed at another property with the number '6' next door. Polar's room was like being in Port Au'Prince, Haiti while the room my brother and I had at the Courtyard by Marriott was Paris, France (Room 227, with two double beds). Arrived early Saturday afternoon, loved it. Checked out late on Sunday afternoon, loved it. Did not use the pool or spa. Will most likely return. Five Claws Up!!! JG 'Bear'

Room Tip: Request High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goriajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Goriajk, thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your last stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we have passed these comments on to our staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Amanda Cretcher - FOM
Courtyard by Marriott - San Luis Obispo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had it not been for extremely rough towels, I would have rated this excellent. Location to 101 and downtown is great, food was great, check-in easy, nice staff...but scratched my kin on the towels, rough as sandpaper

Room Tip: Due to towels, rated room average
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Property: Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Courtyard
San Luis Obispo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing