We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for any occassion”
Review of Novo

Novo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Broad st.
Description: Set against a rich eclectic backdrop, Novo's international flavors are the leading ingredients in an exotic dining experience. Located downtown San Luis Obispo in a historic turn of the century building with spectacular creekside dining. Multi award winning restaurant for food, service and ambiance. Extensive global and local wine and beer selection. Novo easily accommodates large parties either on one of the patios in in their lower level "cellar room". A favorite with both locals and tourists, Novo is a truly a San Luis Obispo experience.
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for any occassion”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went for a bachelorette party dinner and they set us up outside. The outdoor environment was beautiful but cold and they got us lap blankets. The food was delicious and the service was great. I would highly recommend it for all occassions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickeygurl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    289
    71
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Novo is a little gem of a restaurant that seems to have two sides to it. One side is the quiet, outdoor patio overlooking the stream, the other is a cozy inside pub-like atmosphere. We dined outside to enjoy the beautiful fall evening. Their menu is varied and we were pulled to their Indian cuisine - a welcome change to the average diet. We split their Malaysian Curry and Spring Rolls and added their Chutney Plate. Their home-made peach chutney was terrific and the curry just spicy enough without taking off the top of your head. I imagine the place rocks when the sun goes down and they seem well equipped for the crowd. I don't know if they take reservations, but I'd call just in case. They have a modest wine list and an expansive cocktail list. Definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dvrnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in SLO”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We went to Novo for our wedding anniversary and it was lovely. We made reservations ahead of time, informed them of our special occasion, and they seated us at a table overlooking the creek. The food never disappoints. Their calamari is the best I've ever had. It is light and fresh, not greasy or chewy like so many fish fry places. I would highly recommend for a nice night out or an impressive first date!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outdoor dining, great food!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We made same-day reservations for dinner and sat out on the lovely patio. If I were to do it again, I would specifically request to sit closer to the water. Our table was fine, but I would have preferred to be further from the restaurant and closer to the creek. Wherever you sit though, the setting is lovely. The food was delicious. We both enjoyed our meals and will definitely return next time we are in San Luis Obispo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely setting by a stream”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I had lunch at novo and sat outdoors overlooking the natural spring that runs through downtown. We had the bisque as an appetizer that was divine. The calamari plate also was so delicious. Novo also has a very good wine list and we had a delicious Pinot noir from the region.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DZPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novo also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing